We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service on overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staying for one night with my elderly mother, had asked in advance for rooms close together. Whilst OKed by email did not happen, receptionist helpful trying to sort it out but they appeared not to assign rooms until you get there.
Breakfast started at 7.30, we went down at 8 and there were no staff around, another guest booking out directed us to restaurant with the words ' hotel is really unhelpful' - can only agree. Eventually found member of staff in bar who begrudgingly came and took order for drinks. Then had to find another to see when cooked food would appear - told very soon. It did appear but at least 45 mins after stated start of breakfast time. Then tried to find someone for more hot water, staff when tracked down were unsmiling and appeared to resent being asked anything
Rooms were good, Service was dreadful

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I was disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the standard or service you received during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers, who will be retraining our team accordingly.
I do hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

It took us a couple of goes to find the carpark out the back, and it was very busy and got the last spot. We were up on the 2nd floor and there was a small elevator, which did take a bit of time to get all our bags up into the rooms. Rooms were fine, and fairly large, there was some fold out beds for a couple of the kids. The service was friendly and overall was a good experience. We went out for dinner but had breakfast in the dining room downstairs, which was a good option. Downstairs with the exposed beams makes it a lovely hotel. Good location, and we could walk easily down to the river and the main part of town, with heaps of restaurants and shops nearby. although the streets of the town are narrow. Within walking distance of the Shakespeare museum. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJohnsonSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Olde Worlde hotel in central location in Stratford. Convenient 24 hour car parking in nearby NCCP just 5 minutes walk & discounted to £5 with hotel voucher. Comfortable room and welcome coffee tray. Peaceful, bar the creaky floorboards just about everywhere! Breakfast £10/person paid day before but worth it for variety and pleasant environment. Free WiFi. Excellent evening meal at Loxley's just round the corner. Would return. Recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay and very conveniently situated only downside if you Have a street facing Room is the sound of roadsweepers and deliveries to the nearby shops a restaurantes nearby in the morning

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I can report that the well earned reputation for poor standards of service and accommodation which Britain was renown still operates at this hotel

Our booking asked for a reserved parking place. The hotel says this information had not been passed on to them. Fortunately we were early enough for a space to be available.

We asked for a quiet room and confirmed this at the reception. We were assured that the room was quiet.
We were woken at 5-30 by the lorries delivering to the local shops and at 6-30 we gave up trying to sleep.

The bathroom in the hotel smelt musty which my wife though smelt of urine.
It was impossible to regulate the hot water system for the bath.

The carpet on the stairs is threadbare in places.

Basis Faulty would be proud

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Stratford-upon-Avon. It was our first visit and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The town is a jewel of a place, situated in the Warwickshire countryside and steeped in rich history. The visits to the five buildings associated with Shakespeare is thoroughly recommended (Tip: buy the 5 building pass,at around half price it's much cheaper).
We stayed at the Shakespeare Hotel, which is a beautiful building and one of the oldest in the town, built in Tudor times and situated near to everything. We originally booked a Privilege room but had been 'upgraded' on our arrival to a 'Four Poster Room'. Unfortunately, we weren't very happy there, so asked to revert back to a Privilege Room, which was done very efficiently by some very helpful staff. A much better room in my opinion.
After that our three day stay was excellent and we managed to get to the shops, river, pubs and restaurants by foot. The only time I used the car was to visit Anne Hathaway's Cottage and The Mary Arden Farm.
We ate breakfast at the Hotel, which is an 'eat all you can' hot and cold buffet. This will keep most people full until dinner!
Two excellent restaurants are recommended for dinner, 'Sorrento's' which serves Italian food and 'El Greco' which is Greek.
We really needed a couple more days to further explore this marvellous town, so we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms, in my opinion, are better value than the Four Poster rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58DaveE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

First of all I will start with the positives. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town in a lovely and sympathetically restored old building with plenty of character. There are many attractions locally and it would be ideal for an overnight stay for the theatre.
Check was efficient and reception staff very pleasant, always a good start and our room was fine. The bar service was good and the lunch we had with family was extremely good and served promptly.
Unfortunately there are some negatives which need to be addressed promptly by the management. Having stayed at another Mercure hotel we know good management can get it right. The table d'hote menu was badly cooked, repititive and in some cases unacceptable with soup often not served hot enough. Whilst the dinner was disappointing it is the breakfast service which is truly letting this.hotel down and has to be the worst we have encountered for a long time. Inadequate staff who really don't seem to care about customer satisfaction. Tea and coffee are usually the first things people want and they expect their order to be taken not have a long wait even to see an overpressed waitress. The hot buffet had tepid food which was soon cold. Without toasters there was a long wait for warm toast, sometimes burned or cold toast that had been sitting around on a plate. Tables weren't cleared and customers had to search around for place settings and borrow cups from other tables etc. If the management take this on board my rating would be considerably higher and I would consider a return.

Room Tip: Surprisingly quiet for a town centre location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dettorifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing