We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and ambience perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location and ambience perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

One night stop over for midweek leisure break combined with a play at the RSC.
This hotel is perfect if you want to be part of the "olde worlde" - timber framed - Shakespeare experience. Although part of the Mercure chain you don't get overwhelmed by the branding.
Service throughout was good (as you would expect of 4*). All staff were friendly and attentive without being overboard. Lots of cosy lounges plus the restaurant are in the timber framed part of the hotel and really look and feel the part. We ate in the hotel and then sat in one of the lounges for coffee. Perfect.
Only criticism was the starter of our meal which was fishcakes and really quite awful. But the rest of the meal was excellent so may be we were just unluck. Like many hotel restaurants it lacked a little in the way of atmosphere as it was only mediumly busy. But this would probably be no different in many restaurants at this time of year (April)
Our room was in the new block at the rear of the hotel but the overall design of the room and the common parts is quite clever so you don't in the least bit feel you are in some second rate annex. Although fairly small the room was nicely decorated in reasonably modern style with good sized bathroom.
Car park is very convenient and we found a space without a problem. The £10 per day charge seems very fair to me.
Overall our stay was quite good value for what you got. Would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    673
    338
    136
    69
See reviews for
210
995
57
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a minor problem with our room and the manager was beyond helpful and generous in compensating us - way above what we expected. Very unusual and very much appreciated!
Always worth sharing feedback with staff because otherwise how can hotels provide the service clients want?

Room Tip: Some rooms are in an annexe at the rear of the hotel without much character so worth checking where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMaryxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked 2 rooms months in advance, staying in April 2014. We asked for the rooms to be quiet and near each other and were assured the hotel would be able to do this. Infact the rooms were at opposite sides of the hotel and one was directly above a wedding disco, which went on, with the talking afterwards, until 3am.
At breakfast the next morning there were no waiters in sight. the cooked breakfast was 30mins late, plates were not cleared, we asked for hot water for the tea which didn't come until we asked again. When someone did appear they were not friendly. I've never had such poor service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I was disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the standard or service you received during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers, who will be retraining our team accordingly.
I do hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner surprised me for a night away over the weekend, and he chose the Mercure Stratford. We had problems from the beginning. Nowhere on our booking form (through booking.com) did it say about parking at the hotel being on a first come, first serve basis. We were able to park at the NCP car park which is roughly a 10 minute walk away. Our room had been 'upgraded' the receptionist said, which we were both very excited and thankful for at the time. The hotel's main areas have nice décor, very suiting for Stratford. The room however was absolutely awful. You hear every single step, and creek down the hallway. Our room was in a corner of the hotel, literally on top of someone else's room. I thought that someone was trying to get into our room everytime they put their key into the lock!

We went downstairs for breakfast the following morning, and had quite possibly the worst table in the restaurant (right in the middle of the walkway). The waitress literally slammed down our tea and coffee and walked away without saying a word. The breakfast buffet is under hot plates, and was only lukewarm.

I don't believe in any way that this hotel is worth the price they charge. My suggestion would be to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Dear Reviewer,

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had American friends over for the weekend and they wanted afternoon tea so as we were in Stratford we went to The Shakespeare.

It was just fabulous in every way. Very comfortable surrounds, excellent service and the food was just of the highest standard. Our friends were delighted and so were we.

If you delicious food in comfortable surroundings and wonderful service this really is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerVanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your afternoon tea at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Its located in the heart of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Very friendly and helpful reception and hotel staffs. Its a very old building but quite well care. Impressed with the hotel and room bathroom,
its a new modern and good one. Its a good place to experience typical old British hotel. Good breakfast too. Its a good place to enjoy Stratford-Upon-Avon and its surrounding

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing