We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but made to feel like an inconvenience and not a guest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'd booked a "Privilige" twin room online as a treat for my mother and I. On arrival at the hotel the receptionist informed me that there were no Privilige twin rooms available and that they would not have guaranteed availability of such rooms on booking (why have these rooms shown on the website in the first place?). There then followed a 10 minute conversation whilst the front office manager rambled on about what rooms were and were not available and would I like to see this room and that room when all she needed to say was "You can have a superior twin room and I will take the difference off you bill" (we were shown a privilege room and to be honest the 'standard' room was of a better standard anyway!). The room we were allocated was in the Garrick Wing across the car park from the main hotel building and our room faced over Sheep Street which was very busy with delivery lorries and bin lorries from about 5am so don't accept this room if you want a lie in!
We were booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. Dinner on the first night was lovely, on the second day I asked reception if I could book a table in the restaurant for that evening. I was told "No you cannot the restaurant is full. We have a wedding and a tour of 50 people." I explained that I was on a DBB package the receptionist then said that she would have to check with her manager, on her return miraculously we could have a table at whatever time we wanted! We booked for 7pm. On arrival at the restaurant it became apparent that the tour was just heading in for dinner and that the staff were still serving in restaurant. I spoke to one of the managers and said that we would be happy to have a drink in the bar before dinner if it would help them get the wedding and the tour served before we went in for dinner. The manager was very grateful for this and very kindly provided a complimentary drink for both of us. The dinner was lovely again although we did feel quite awkward sitting in a separate restaurant to the tour on our own.
On the third night we were going to the theatre (and based on the previous night's observations) decided that we would be better eating early, so I asked reception if we could eat at 6pm (the restaurant opens at 5.30) a table was booked. On arrival to the restaurant at 6 o'clock everything appeared to be closed, there were no lights on and the waiting staff could be seen sorting out the luggage for yet another tour bus. At about 6.10 one of the waiters acknowledged our presence and sat us down at a table. Again the food was lovely.
The restaurant staff and management were extremely helpful and attentive throughout our stay in spite of their obvious high workload. My main issue with this hotel was the attitude of the front desk staff. They seemed to be of the opinion that, if you were not part of a coach tour or involved with a wedding, you were an inconvenience. This is not the attitude when we were no doubt paying a higher rate for our rooms than the tour party, we should have received at least an equal level of service.
It is a shame as the hotel is in a fantastic location (everything is within walking distance), the rooms are lovely, the restaurant service and food are fantastic but I would hesitate to stay here again or to recommend this hotel to friends and family due to the attitude of the front desk staff.

Room Tip: 404 in the Garrick Wing was a lovely room but the street outside was very noisey from early morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trixiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay our hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard or service you received during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers, who will be retraining our staff accordingly.
I do hope that you give us another chance to better serve you and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Shakespeare very soon.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Booked 6 Junior Suites for special,birthday, staff leading up,to,and including celebration amazing. Reception staff especially Roberta could not do any more to make the night special. Food in restaurant was wonderful and amazing value. Could not fault the rooms or any part of my stay. Have stayed several times, and will can't wait to return, as soon as possible. Thanks again.

Room Tip: All suites are wonderful, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Ophelia, the sweetest of suites made a birthday visit to macbeth magical! Old, leaky, creaky and just that little bit spooky, this is the hotel of your athentic travelling dreams... Amazingly located for the delights of stratford, theatre walking distance, and great value off season... Stay for cream tea too!

Room Tip: Ophelia suite is well worth the extra investment - expect many little quaint foibles.. this is serio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is not only beautiful to look at from the outside, but gorgeous inside too, very authentic with a great atmosphere!
The staff were very friendly and welcoming, loved the breakfast in bed :)
The hotel is situated right in the centre of all the attractions, everything was in walking distance.
Loved it and will definately be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dronfieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank helen_stewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the Shakespeare for one night (Friday) as a special treat. The location of the hotel can not to faulted, from the outside the building is stunning and this follows through into the main reception. Our greeting was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Garrick suit in room 405. The room is on the first floor and is bright and airy with large windows. The room over looks a busy side street which was noisy till late at night and very very noisy in the morning, bin men and many other deliver vehicles had us awake by 5am. We stayed on the hottest day of the year so far so had the windows open which helped a little but this room would really be improved with aircon or at least a fan. Unfortunately the bed is 2 single beds pushed together to look like a king size. As soon as you lie on it the mattress simple parts in the middle, a real shame as this room isn't set up as a twin. The room it's self is large and spacious with enough amenities to suffice our stay. The shower is very powerful :) and overall everything is clean and tidy. We asked for the pillows to be changed on the bed as my partner is allergic to feathers although they came and changed the pillows they were replaced with another feather pillow. We didn't realise this till late in the evening which could have brought on a trip to hospital instead of a nice nights sleep. While writing this review we ordered room service breakfast as a treat. Unfortunately upon arrival the review was changed from a 3 to a 2. We were told there was no black pudding even though we had ordered it, apparently they didn't have any (we are in a town centre how hard could it be to acquire breakfast items at 10 am on a Saturday?) as to the actual breakfast, it was pretty much cold, tasty but non the less disappointing. The toast was stone cold and not particularly nice. Over all the hotel looks very nice but certainly could do with some improvements. I don't think we would rush back here due to these little downsides, such a shame, who knows maybe we'll try another time and see if any of the comments have been taken on board.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Premocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay our hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard or service you received during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers, who will be retraining our staff accordingly.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,842 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,068 reviews
3.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £58 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing