We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,but lacking staff and customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked a two night break away at this hotel we upgraded to a junior suite however the first room was of poor quality , crumpled linen,rip in back of the chair. However the duty manager moved us to room 114 this was more like a suite I would have expected.The room looked out onto the main road which could be noisey, however that's the price you pay for a town centre location.The hotel had a real medieval feel steeped in history and trinkets. Rooms were named after different Shakespeare plays and characters.The decor of beams and original fireplaces added to its charm.
The first night we went out to eat,on the second dayfollowing a busy day of sightseeing we decided to have a bar meal.We waited over 30mins for a member of staff and couldn't find anyone on reception.We gave up and went back to our room. Very disappointing !!!!
The breakfast had a good selection however it wasn't very warm.I ordered poached eggs which were cooked to order and didn't take to long to arrive.
Overall having stayed in a couple of Mercure hotels around the UK I was disappointed as this fell short of the normal staff customer service and quality of rooms. However if you want to experience a hotel with Shakespearian character than this is the place.

Room Tip: Parking is limited with a charge of £10 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room Tip: try to get room with front view car park not very exciting to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We wanted somewhere central in Stratford for running the Shakespeare marathon and we couldn't have got a better location; we were literally at the start line as we stepped out of the hotel. It's very central and a stay here puts you in walking distance of the town centre, the river Avon and the RST.

Although our main reason for choosing this hotel was location, it ticks the box in lots of other ways too; the decor is in keeping with the character and thankfully Mecure have not changed (or probably not been allowed to change; I wouldn't be surprised if it's a listed building) the higgledy-piggedly nature of the stairs and corridors. All the bedrooms are named after Shakespeare's characters which adds to the atmosphere and have managed a mix of character and modern comforts.

The breakfast looked amazing although we were only on toast and coffee with running - quite disappointing to leave the full English, pastries etc at the buffet untouched!

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for One night only on the 25th May. Booked two rooms for my wife and family which was pre-paid and cost £62.50 per night per room but did not include breakfast. Could not park on-site as the small car park was full. Wasdirected to an NCP around the corner which cost £13 for 24 hours.

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Stratford Upon Avon. The hotel is very old and quirky with a number of staircases. We were in the fron of the hotel in room 103. A creaky staircase led to rooms above ours on the 2nd floor. We could hhear people coming and going in the morning but had no trouble getting to sleep. The room was of a reasonable size, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and reasonable size bathroom.

Could not comment on the food as we did not eat here.

At the price I paid I was happy with the accommodation, however parking arrangements could be better. ie. discout in the NCP.

For a cheap and cheerful breakfast I would reccmmend the Wethespoons just around the corner.

Would stay again at this price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_&_Allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great hotel that on our second visit, got a free bottle of wine with our meal for our anniversary.
Everything had an historic feel about it? Even the bedhead seemed centuries old. The room was very spacious and included a brilliant flat screen TV to cosy down to in an evening.
Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room was excellent, bed comfortable and a large modern bathroom, the car park was a godsend, although we had to pay an additional £10 to use it. You can't reserve a car park space, we were lucky but when we left the car park was full and people were waiting for spaces. In the evening we tried to get a drink at the bar but it wasn't staffed and there was no sign of life.
We had breakfast at a nearby tearoom as it was cheaper to do so. Overall a nice hotel in the centre of Stratford and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjll0yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel really takes you back to days of old, I'm 32 but love the classical feel of Stratford. Having spent around 30 nights in the Shalespeare over the past year due to work I have stayed in a number of the rooms / suites and it really feels homely and warm. The service at Breakfast is fantastic and the selection available is massive. Evening meals are close to mitchelin standards and have fantastic pre-show deals so you can try the starters and desserts and not break the bank. I would call this 4.5 rather than 4, the only downside (Not even a downside really) is the floorboards as they are quite noisy at night and im a light sleeper at times. The city itself is on the doorstep and amazing restaurants around every corner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,895 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing