We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Room Tip: The quality of the bedding was poor - a double duvet put in a king sized duvet cover meant for a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Fay R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

989 - 995 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for a Saturday night. The standard room was small but well appointed with a good view over a garden and church. Bathroom was clean but paint peeling a bit.

Only real downside is that the walls are very thin as you might expect in an old building. When the drunk idiots next door rolled in at 3am they made a real racket. However, went when phoned down to complain the night manager came up and gave them a stern ticking off which did the trick.

Bar was expensive as you might expect for a hotel - £4.80 for a fizzy water and a soda & lime. If you want a quick drink go elsewhere, Stratford is full of nice looking bars and pubs.

Didn't eat breakfast so can't comment on food.

Overall a nice place for a brief stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We decided to stay overnight after being at a play at RSC - can't fault it. It is a lovely olde-worlde building which they have managed to bring up to date and use very well. Lots of sitting areas. There was a function on, but we wouldn't have known it. Breakfast was huge, everything you could possibly want. Room, good size,

Having said all that ... my only complaint was that I left a dress in the wardrobe and had huge problems getting in touch with the hotel to ask them to hang onto it. I phoned about 7-8 times and eventually had to email to get any response. Really poor - I remember the day when you were expected to answer the phone before the 4th ring! They had the dress and I am collecting it today - thank goodness I don't live too far away!

Room Tip: Our room was great, (102) but only had a shower - an extremely nice shower, but some people do like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and together with her brother and partner took her 92 year old mothe for our annual for her. In previous years , we had taken her abroad but the stress of foreign travel had caught up with her at last.
WE sought a suitable English alternative and the Shakespeare ticked all the boxes for us all.
The hotel is traditional in style but with all modern facilities, food is excellent and the rooms commodious.It has its own car-park and is central to the town, the theatre , shops and restaurants and is on the level.
I would recommend this hotel to any age group and we all had a good time

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent a fun murder weekend here. Good bedroom.Especially nice bathroom. Small but comfy bed in tudor style! Beware low doors however! Husband hit his head! Slept well.Quiet. Good hotel food in general. Nice evening meal and breakfast. Centrally located .20 mins walk from station. Would return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is very well located, has lots of charm and I had the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel.

For what is a very old building, the rooms have been cleverly transformed, so that you feel you have a modern room, yet with a timbered ceiling and old windows. We were in room 112, which I believe was a junior suite and the room was quiet, the curtains kept out light and the bed was extremely comfortable.

So why not 5/5? Well the television facing the bed didn't work, (there was a second opposite a sofa which did) and the thermostat on the shower failed to adjust the temperature of the water, which thankfully didn't result in anyone being scalded.

The breakfast is a buffet style arrangement, with a selection of fruit juices (concentrate rather than squeezed juices from what I could tell) which weren't labled, and as with all these arrangements, if you arrive just as they fill up the trays you get the best of what is on offer.

Bacon and the mushrooms were good, sausages ok, but the rest was drying out. Toast was getting cold and felt like it had been left on the side awaiting a customer. I appreciate that there is a cost to taking an order at the table and delivering something to each diner, but when you pay £179 for a night for two people, it would be nice to have finished the stay on a high.

My recommendation would be to book room only and try any one of a number of nice looking cafes around the town, which will provide you with a fresh cooked experience for well under £10.

When booking out I mentioned the faults in the room for which I received a standard sorry, but if you really do customer care, then once you've checked the room and realised the customer was right, why not send a letter of apology and offer a discount on a further stay? For what should be a quality hotel which you should leave feeling like you've had a truly special experience, this particular stay didn't deliver.

Room Tip: Room 112 very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinRogkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stratford a very lovely place the hotel Mercure lovely a few things niggled me .....booked double room had two single beds put together <<<<<not comfortable...breakfast lovely but always warm never hot....bar never opened late which would of been nice as there wasn't much in and around town......there were two dirty breakfast trays on stairway for our whole stay ......and the main number one niggle was on the hotel site it says no need to pre book the car park..this is wrong as we found out when we got there and was pointed out to an NBC car park quite away from the hotel.....but there is a closer one as we found not so far away but they didn't tell us about it, little niggles i knw but it was hubby's birthday and we hardly ever get away to relax I was a little let down.

Room Tip: Make sure if you book a double room ...you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeej62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We do not reserve car parking spaces due to the size of our car park. In the event that it is full we have an arrangement with the NCP on Rother Street who offer our guests a discounted rate. Other car parks in the area do not offer a similar arrangement.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,901 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £64 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing