We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Moldy ambiance”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel built in the 17th Century offers plenty of ambiance and charm that comes with the smell of mold and decay. We stayed in the "modern" part of the hotel with elevator and newer baths, however there was no hot water in the sink, furniture was breaking apart, room had stale and moldy smell. Dinner was very average, main dish was very dry and uneatable chicken; service was poor, no one offered drinks, wine, beer, servers were dropping plates and leaving without a word, breakfast was not great, you had to ask for either tea or coffee at the entrance to the breakfast area before you start service, otherwise no one will come and serve you hot beverages. Very unpleasant experience with staff of the hotel. The stores in the city are opening late and closing early, there is not much to do in this city once you go through the Shakespeare birthplace. Most of the houses and hotel seems to be in the same state of decay as this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dameofspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
The hotel does indeed date back to 1637 as do many of the historic buildngs in the town of Stratford-upon-Avon. We feel that the hotel offers all the modern facilities of a purpose built building while maintaining the characteristics and charm of the 17th century. There are many attractions besides Shakespeare's Birthplace in the town and the surrounding area, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, boat trips along the River Avon and Warwick Castle to name a few.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    697
    349
    142
    69
See reviews for
224
1,028
61
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly , a great position in the town. I cant fault it. But it was only one night. Based on that I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Central location, perfect for all the Shakespeare visits. Not used the hotel facilities, because once your out your out all day, so much to see and do. Short walk is a welcome plus to all attractions.
Room a good size, clean and tidy. Free wifi, which is fabulous. Shower nice and powerful. Staff friendly, great convenient parking at the back of hotel. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vike190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went over night for our anniversary , we were in the Garrick annexe, which we found to be fine, nice big room, very clean and tidy, Anna on reception was very helpful and most polite, we had a deal with Secret Escapes, which included breakfast and we found that this was a lot. Heaped than the rack rate. Evening meal was a bit expensive, but was very nice. Breakfast was buffet style which was very good, plenty to chose from, but service was not very good, order coffee and toast, we had to ask ask again and by this time, we had finished our food, this happened again with the service when we had afternoon tea, we had booked, but could find no one to sea us, coffee came, long wait for cakes and sandwiches and to pay later was impossible, 4 other people waiting to be served as we had to pay in the bar and no one available, long wait, this certainly lets the hotel down. Excellent position right in the centre so Stratford

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186460Taffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay our hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard or service you received during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers, who will be retraining our staff accordingly.
I do hope that you give us another chance to better serve you and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Shakespeare very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing