We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Porlock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were disappointed not to be in the main part of the hotel, as we had been on several other stays at the hotel. The room 411 upon arrival was so hot that we opened the windows and put on the two fans (having two fans in the room should have told me that this has happened before). The temperature stayed high all night and I can honestly say it has been the worst night’s sleep I’ve had in any hotel (including the far east). In the morning several people were booking out and I asked if we could be moved/upgraded to another room, I was told that the hotel was full and no other rooms were available. Surprising as I stood behind several people booking out and I’m sure their rooms would be empty.
The WiFi did not work in the room or in several other areas in the hotel (confirmed by other guests as well), which was a little disappointing as I like to keep in contact with my office/clients 24/7. The windows were very badly corroded and 4 or 5 of the panes of glass were cracked.
The carpet at the top of the stairs was/is very dangerous as it was damaged with loops of thread which on one occasion caught my wife’s shoe (luckily I was in front of her) but this could have had a awful outcome.
The smell/noise from the adjacent restaurant was not making our stay enjoyable. The bath mat in our room had seen better days and was grubby.
The Sunday morning when we went to breakfast it was raining very heavily and no umbrellas were available for our use to get to the main building or our return to the room (considering that you have to travel outside to get to the room they should be made available).
Not impressed!!!

Room Tip: Room 411 - No Aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doverhaywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    673
    339
    136
    69
See reviews for
210
997
57
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location is perfect for everything in town, minutes walk from restaurants, bars, shops and historical bits. Rooms was one of the older ones which was lovely but small and a bit hot, air con was great though. Shower is very powerful. All bed linen ultra clean and bed good size and comfy. We stayed in room 107. Only thing was the breakfast, all a bit of slap dash and un organised. Room was re filled quickly. Tea and toast took a good while and we had to chase it up and the sausages where so herby! So strong for breakfast time! Fruit didn't look that fresh. My bad for a tenner though, but could be improved, as they weren't even that busy. Overall good stay , would stay again and recommend. Parking is £10 a night which is ok, but parking is poorly signposted and hard to find. Front desk staff, especially the young man was v good. Can be bit noisy at night and early because of the age of the hotel. Iron, iron board, kettle and tea and slow hairdryer in room. Air con is good.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, no road noise, ask for a room at the back, but it isn't that bad. Book brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel were the worst I have seen in a long time.We order afternoon sandwiches with a side order of chips.The sandwiches come about 40 mins later with no chips.After a night out we went to the bar and the same waiter looked at us as if we should not have been there and after serving us a drink said the bar was closing.Breakfast not much better,ordered coffee and after about 10mins got tea!I can expect young staff to not be English but what I cannot stand is poor service and service without a smile.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay our hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard or service you received during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant managers, who will be retraining our staff accordingly.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjarred, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I booked tickets for me and my husband to RSC and then found this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay: perfect location, very cosy and romantic, helpful staff and private parking also. I can really recommend this hotel if you are going to Stratford!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in august 2014. Given some other trip advisor comments about the rooms, we had some specific requests, e.g. Cool and quiet. The room we were given exactly matched those requests which we appreciated. The bed was really comfortable with a good quality mattress and there was a coffee maker and free soft drinks in the room also, a nice touch. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and was lovely, apart from a slightly small basin which splashed a bit! The pillows could be better quality. There were bathrobes and slippers provided.
The hotel has a secure carpark, a bonus right in the centre of stratford, although it does cost ten pounds a night but that is fair enough given the location.
The location is absolutely perfect if you are visiting local attractIons, as it is near the hop on bus, near the river and the theatre, and shops and restaurants are a stones throw away.
We did not eat here as there was a lot of choice on the doorstep. However a new marco Pierre white restaurant was due to open in a week, in part of the hotel building, but not owned by mercure, and looked interesting.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, particularly Daphne on the reception desk, who was so nice we want to return. Thankyou Daphne!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire lass
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent a 1 night visiting the beautiful stratford, then warwick. Perfect location right in the centre, steps away from wetherspoons for breakfast - cant comment on the hotel brek as we slept in, 09.30am finish bit early for us. Clean, well presented room in the back wing, bit noisy at 5am emptying bottles etc but we'd defo return. Perfect location, exc weather made for a great mini break. Car park on site £10 but the hotel has a deal with NCP 2 mins walk away for 24 hours £4.50, if you just want to park up for 24 hours and enjoy the city go with the NCP deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeABreak_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room was pleasant and quiet despite being at the front overlooking main road,beds comfortable.when we got back from the theatre we asked if there was water in our room,there wasn't so as it was late we had to pay out £5.00 for 2 small bottles this is just meaness we then had to try and get our key from reception but the girl had dissapeared behind a curtain and we had to get the barman to get her out this also happened to the next person.breakfast was reasonable but unless you want to wait don't order from the cooked to order everything get cold.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella635679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Mark Nesbitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing