We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location & character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

This is a very characterful hotel in a superb location. It is located half way between the RSC theatre and the main shopping area around Henley Street. The hotel itself was very good - we booked two suites but were given a double room in lieu of the second suite which we later found out was unavailable. We were disappointed not to receive what we'd booked but the staff were apologetic and the replacement room was of a very good standard. There was some confusion about the situation as we were not told at check in about the change but we were content with the outcome. The suite was very spacious, clean and with a very comfortable bed. The windows overlooked a green and we were delighted watching the birds outside from the window. Though the front of the hotel is on a street, the rear faces on to a beautiful green - part of which belongs to the Nash House Shakespeare Trust property. A lovely prospect. The room was furnished to a high standard though be aware that there is no free WiFi (you can pay for it but it's pricey). The only unfortunate feature of the room but completely expected in such a building is that the floors are very creaky so not only can you hear the people in the room above walking around but you are also making noise whenever you walk across the floor. The included breakfast was wonderful and included an extensive cold buffet and all the usual cooked items as well. The staff were very welcoming and efficient in organising fresh toast and tea and we never felt rushed to leave. After breakfast, our check out was very efficient and the hotel were able to hold our luggage in a secure place for us while we went out for sightseeing. This was truly a godsend as we otherwise would have had to lug our bags around with us all day. We also were able to wait in the very comfortable lounge while we waited for our transport to arrive. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again when visiting Stratford Upon Avon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review and your kind comments about the hotel. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel and Stratford-upon-Avon.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    673
    339
    136
    69
See reviews for
211
997
57
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Shakespeare and had a really pleasant stay. (March 29-31). The weather was very cold but the hotel staff were warm and friendly. We stayed in room 107 which was quaint and quirky old and the bed was comfortable.
The hotel is in a perfect position in the town centre but still very quiet. We did not use the bar or take dinner but breakfast was very good and in a relaxing setting. Our service was excellent but we were in the breakfast room when our fellow guests in a previous review experienced a delay and we were served before them.
Whilst this was unfortunate for them, the service over our three mornings was as good as any we have had in our many travels.
The beauty of Stratford is that the majority of its attractions are all within walking distance. We would like to see some of its tourist streets pedestrianised to give better enjoyment, but overall a very nice "Spring ? Break" and well done The Shakespeare

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank under2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review and your kind comments about the hotel. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel and Stratford-upon-Avon.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Lovely olde world hotel in a very central location. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were well appointed and the bathrooms were excellent -clean, warm and with good amenities.
The thing which let the hotel down was the very slow service. On our return from a performance of King Lear we fancied a relaxing drink to help us to recover from the bloodbath!! It was 10.45 and the bar was closed so we had to order drinks from reception. There was no-one there so we waited for a staff member to appear. He said he'd send someone to take our order. After waiting for 15 minutes we rang the bell at reception and gave our order. We eventually got a drink at 11.20- 35 minutes after our arrival in an empty lounge.
A similar thing happened at breakfast.
We got coffee and toast immediately and ordered a full English breakfast for 3. Luckily we were not in a hurry because it took nearly half an our to arrive. Meanwhile,people who arrived after us were served before we were. Eventually, we asked the waiter if we'd been forgotten and our food appeared shortly afterwards. It's such a shame because if the service had been better this hotel would have been perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumpov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

We do take pride in our service standards and we will take your comments on board to improve the guest experience going forward.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

My husband I spent one night at The Shakespeare. The exterior and location of the hotel are superb and cannot be faulted. Everything you would want to see is within easy walking distance.
Don't bother with the hotel car park as it is usually full and is a nightmare to negotiate if you are entering when someone is trying to leave! Save yourself the hassle and head straight for Rother St. car park. Not far away and will only cost you £5 instead of £10 (make sure you get your car park voucher from reception when you check out).
The bedroom we were allocated was okay if a bit small. My main complant was the bathroom as it needed a dramatic makeover - basic is an understatement! We were using a reward voucher from one of the hotels partner airlines. This is probably the reason why were given this room. If I ever came again, I would pay for a suite.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was okay but the scarmbled eggs were insipid and the tea was worse then you get on an aircraft!
All in all, the location and charm of this hotel make up for its downsides.
It is just round the corner from The Vintner, which is a fabulous place to eat at anytime of the day. Make sure you make a reservation in advance just to make sure you get a table, especially at the weekend. Another great restaurnat is Le Bistrot Pierre which is just over the river infront of the Swans Nest hotel. Great for lunch (£9.25 for 2 courses or £11.25 for 3 courses.) After a relaxing lunch you can hire a motor boat for a cruise along The Avon from the boathouse opposite. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCourthouseGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

We do take pride in our service standards and we will take your comments on board to improve the guest experience going forward.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dagenham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We had a fantastic weekend at this hotel. The hotel was very quaint and historic but the best feature was the open fires in the three lounges. The service in the dining room and the whole hotel was excellent. The food was very good and large portions. I cannot fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to place a writea positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and all that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

I hope to welcome back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Fabulous old timber framed buiding, 2 lovely log fires in lounges. Rooms are pleasant, corridors have squeaky floorboards, but it is hundreds of years old. Breakfast was expensive but we had egg and bacon muffins from a light snack menu in the lounge, which was very reasonable. Service was good. Good location in centre of town. Internet computer booth in lobby ( not free). Staff friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and great comments about our staff. I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Forest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

This is the second time I have stayed at The Shakespeare and the second time I have really enjoyed it. The Shakespeare has old world charm in abundance and provides a service that is comparable to a upmarket cruse line like Cunard. The Shakespeare is pretty central and it's only a few minutes walking distance to the RSC theatre.

I arrived at about 12:30pm (plenty of room in the car park),. Check in was swift and the room was ready. My room was situated at the rear of the hotel, average size and looked over Nash House gardens (nice).

I have read a lot of reviews about this hotel and i found them to be unfounded. If you want a car parking space, then arrive early, If you don't want to wait around for your breakfast, then don't go at the busy times 9:15 to 10:00. Be polite to the staff and not obnoxious and you'll get results. Quiet simple really. I would not hesitate in booking this hotel again, In fact I can say that this hotel rates as my best.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fin_Devious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and all that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing