We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$122
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$193
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$731
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$134
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,952)
Filter reviews
1,952 results
Traveller rating
566
778
376
153
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
778
376
153
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkprivilege roomjunior suiteold buildingcreaky floorboardsper nightmiddle of towncharming hotelfour poster bedlots of charactercentral locationexcellent locationpublic areaslarge bathroomlovely roombuffet stylecomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,753 - 1,758 of 1,952 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The great thing about this hotel is that its location is great, it's authentically old and feels it. That also means squeaky floorboards, the occasional small room and slightly higher room rates. But there's nothing to complain about otherwise, and when I went to the reception to ask about changing my room from a double to a twin, it was done so very quickly with no questions asked, and the room I got felt bigger and nicer too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teaearlgreyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on the Tripadvisor website.

It is always helpful to get feedback and we always share guests' comments with our Management Team. I am pleased that our Receptionist was able to assist with request of a room move.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We cannot praise the Shakespeare Hotel highly enough.

It has a great team of staff who are all extremely pleasant and helpful. The food is superb with a truly impressive choice at breakfast. We found everything to be spotlessly clean, and our room had every facilty you could wish for.

The age of the building gives it genuine character and a real warmth. It was bliss to relax in the comfortable lounge and watch through the quaint windows as the world went by. We would imagine this to be even more inviting on colder days with a fire burning brightly in the hearth. And although classy, the Shakespeare Hotel certainly isn't stuffy.

If asked to identify any negatives, then the car parking charge may initially appear a bit pricey, and we too encountered the rattling of the breakfast trolley. However, the car park does provide secure, convenient parking right in the centre of the town, and what hotel doesn't come with such background noise as the day starts?

These are only very minor niggles (if you can even call them that) and would definitely not put us off recommending the Shakespeare Hotel to anyone. The whole experience made our very special weekend just perfect, and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne17084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your kind comments. We analyse all our guest feedback and it is nice to receive such positive words about the staff.

I hope to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Very elegant looking hotel with grand reception and bar (prepeare to register your credit card for authorisation if you wish to have a drink at the bar) in an excellent location. Handy little car park for £10.

However, very dissappointed for a supposedly 4 star hotel. Arrived to a mott of black pubic hair in the bathroom, not nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirsidneyruffdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time for this review on tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I have forwarded your comment to our Head Housekeeper.

I am very surprised about your findings of hair in the bathroom and I would like to assure you that this is not a true reflection of our normal high standards of cleanliness in bedrooms and public area's.

Please contact me via e-mail when you are planning to stay with us and I will personally look after your reservation.

Yours sincerely,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Central location, just around the corner from Sheep Street, with many lovely bistros and restaurants. The room was huge, very clean and extremely comfortable. Great value for money and would definitely go back.

Downside is parking is £10/night behind the hotel. Although there is cheaper parking available close-by.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLu_168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel. .

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I have passed them on to the team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.


Yours sincerely,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Lovely room, good service. Positioned in the heart of stratford - ideal for the theatre and the town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind feedback on the Tripadvisor website. Your comments about the room and service are very much appreciated and I have forwarded these to the rest of the team.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Mercure Skakespeare Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerly,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews