We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful olde worlde experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This was our second stay here and we thoroughly enjoyed (almost) everything about this hotel. It scores top marks (and more) for location, atmosphere and character. Service and facilities are also great, as is the food served in the excellent Othello brasserie.

The building, ambience and overall experience are really not things that can be readily purchased - special, special, special!

The only downsides are: (1) having to pay for the car park; (2) the possiblity of being placed in the outer (Garrick) wing - i.e. not in the main hotel building - without being informed of this at the time of booking (the Garrick wing is lovely but it does come as something of a surprise if you do not know of this until you check in); and (3) the early closing time of the bar and the seeming lack of enthusiasm of staff to serve guests after the bar has officially shut.

In the scheme of things, however, these points are very minor. This is a wonderful hotel and one that I hope to return to many, many times in the future. If you're after a true 'Stratford' experience, with easy access to theatres and inns, there really is nowhere better, in my opinion, than this beautiful historic building in the very centre of the town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blytonesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your great feedback. Your comments are very helpful in improving our service levels and increasing our attention to detail. We are using these comments at our daily morning meetings and departmental meetings.

Please contact me on your next visit to the hotel and I look forward to meet you personally.
Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,668 - 1,674 of 1,867 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel and absolutely loved it. Would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone. We, like a previous reviewer booked it through lastminute.com as a top secret hotel and to be honest were probably expecting the sort of room they got – but we didn’t get that. Our room (222) was lovely, spacious, nicely decorated, view of trees & countryside and it was quiet as we were towards the end of the corridor so not really anyone walking past on the creaky floorboards (which we thought were part of the charm anyway)
On arrival the receptionist who was professional, efficient and friendly immediately greeted us. During our stay we came across 4 members of staff and all were great.
We loved the bathroom, which was also spacious and also had countryside views.
Location of the hotel couldn’t be better, it really is in the centre and the hotel website actually doesn’t do it justice – it’s better in real life! This is honestly one of the nicest hotel experiences we have had and we didn’t want to leave.
This would be a lovely hotel for Christmas as the roaring real log fires were gorgeous and Stratford would be magical.
I don’t often write such effusive reviews but this hotel deserves it - This is a genuine review, we think this hotel was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somerset7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for your time writing this review and this great feedback. Our staff are very passionate about their work and they are very happy with such positive comments.

Please contact me via e-mail when you are planning to stay with us and I will personally look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Good hotel in the centre of Stratford upon Avon. Breakfast is quite good of buffet style although served by the staff. Rooms are comfortable and if you book a suite they are very spacious.
Helpful staff andf clean rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff and style of breakfast. We experience that most of our guests appreciate the buffet breakfast whereby a member of staff assists with serving the cooked dishes.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Stratford-upon-Avon.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The great thing about this hotel is that its location is great, it's authentically old and feels it. That also means squeaky floorboards, the occasional small room and slightly higher room rates. But there's nothing to complain about otherwise, and when I went to the reception to ask about changing my room from a double to a twin, it was done so very quickly with no questions asked, and the room I got felt bigger and nicer too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teaearlgreyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on the Tripadvisor website.

It is always helpful to get feedback and we always share guests' comments with our Management Team. I am pleased that our Receptionist was able to assist with request of a room move.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We cannot praise the Shakespeare Hotel highly enough.

It has a great team of staff who are all extremely pleasant and helpful. The food is superb with a truly impressive choice at breakfast. We found everything to be spotlessly clean, and our room had every facilty you could wish for.

The age of the building gives it genuine character and a real warmth. It was bliss to relax in the comfortable lounge and watch through the quaint windows as the world went by. We would imagine this to be even more inviting on colder days with a fire burning brightly in the hearth. And although classy, the Shakespeare Hotel certainly isn't stuffy.

If asked to identify any negatives, then the car parking charge may initially appear a bit pricey, and we too encountered the rattling of the breakfast trolley. However, the car park does provide secure, convenient parking right in the centre of the town, and what hotel doesn't come with such background noise as the day starts?

These are only very minor niggles (if you can even call them that) and would definitely not put us off recommending the Shakespeare Hotel to anyone. The whole experience made our very special weekend just perfect, and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne17084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your kind comments. We analyse all our guest feedback and it is nice to receive such positive words about the staff.

I hope to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Very elegant looking hotel with grand reception and bar (prepeare to register your credit card for authorisation if you wish to have a drink at the bar) in an excellent location. Handy little car park for £10.

However, very dissappointed for a supposedly 4 star hotel. Arrived to a mott of black pubic hair in the bathroom, not nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirsidneyruffdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time for this review on tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I have forwarded your comment to our Head Housekeeper.

I am very surprised about your findings of hair in the bathroom and I would like to assure you that this is not a true reflection of our normal high standards of cleanliness in bedrooms and public area's.

Please contact me via e-mail when you are planning to stay with us and I will personally look after your reservation.

Yours sincerely,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Central location, just around the corner from Sheep Street, with many lovely bistros and restaurants. The room was huge, very clean and extremely comfortable. Great value for money and would definitely go back.

Downside is parking is £10/night behind the hotel. Although there is cheaper parking available close-by.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLu_168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel. .

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I have passed them on to the team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.


Yours sincerely,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,943 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,843 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,070 reviews
3.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £58 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford Upon Avon
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing