We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in central location with fantastic owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambleside Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in central location with fantastic owners”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this beautiful and quiet B&B. The owners Peter and Ruth were so accomodating and made sure that I had everything I needed throughout my stay and the accomodation itself was really clean but also very homely. An added bonus it is only a few minutes from the heart of Stratford-Upon-Avon (and all the sights that go with it). Breakfast was also wonderful with a really big selection.

Room Tip: I chose the smallest single room they offer and was at first a bit worried it would be too small but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneRanger57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
175
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I live in Finland, and this was my first visit to Stratford though I have even lived in Britain for six years and visited there countless times. During these stays of mine I have been in dozens of BBs, and by far this was the very best! Peter and Ruth are indeed the perfect hosts, and the best I've ever met anywhere, there was always clean and comfortable and the breakfast was top-notch! The guest house has a really good location, the RSC is not too far away, nor is anything you could possibly imagine needing. And though this beeing my first visit to Stratford, with the guidance of the hosts I had a very clear image of the city and which are the places to go. And, though I had forgotten my umbrella home, there was no worries of getting wet, for Peter offered an umbrella for my protection. I'm so sorry I couldn't stay there longer than those four delightful days, now I know where to go to on my next trip to the town of Shakespeare. Thank you so much! <3

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IirisFromFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was my first trip to the UK and what an introduction! Peter and Ruth are perfect hosts. The location to town is perfect and the house is immaculately clean. The breakfast was the best I had the entire trip to the UK. Peter has a wealth of knowledge about the area and recommended a great place to eat as well as several other "must see " locations in other parts of the country. We did visit a couple of the places he suggested and they were well worth it. I would stay there again without any hesitation and would recommend the Ambleside to everyone who is taking a trip to the UK!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoMomsTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Even though I have seen Stratford several times, I would go back time after time just to stay at the Ambleside! Peter and Ruth are truly the best hosts I have encountered in the UK... and their guesthouse is impeccably clean and cozy and comfortable. The full English breakfast is also the best - he even trims the fat from the bacon! The home is very well-located, only a 5-minute walk from the town center. I cannot recommend this guest house enough! A perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We wish we could have stayed longer than the one night. Everything was perfect! We were able to park our rental car at the B&B and walk to the theater, pubs, shopping, Holy Trinity church and more. Peter gave great recommendations and directions and was so kind and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and so filling. We had the top room triple for my mother, daughter and I and it was perfect. We hope the Ambleside will be around the next time we visit the UK!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooshkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It's a very nice house in a very well situated area, very near to the town centre, not car needed to get to the main attractions. Personally, I think that the owners of the Guesthouse couldn't attend us in a better way, I loved my time there, they looked after us until the last detail. I've never been in a place where the owners were so friendly and helpful. I'm going to come back for sure in the summer.

Ana

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauriansol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we just spent a long week end in Stratford upon Avon, fortunately we had chosen the Ambleside to stay in, which made it perfect.
Ruth and Peter were very nice and provided helpful hints for first time visitors. Be it recommendations for places to visit or for places to go for dinner, Peter gave us great tips, and his english breakfast is outstanding.
The room was spotlessly clean and there is a car park just behind the hotel.
If we come back to Stratford we will definetely stay with Ruth and Peter again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Guest House

Property: Ambleside Guest House
Address: 41 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Guest House offers very comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon, the birthplace of William Shakespeare. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambleside Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing