We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$225
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$126
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$197
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$167
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$735
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$134
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$220
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
436
39
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
39
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter ruthb bfantastic hostssingle roomprivate parkingbreakfast was deliciousfull english breakfastlovely guesthousefew minutes walkroom was spotlesstrain stationshower gelthe location is perfecthome from homelittle extrasa wonderful staywe've stayed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I can't even begin to express how much I loved this B&B. The owners are the nicest people - they gave great dining recommendations, driving directions and where to for the beautiful Cotswolds. Parking was easy. It is in a very safe area and very close to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. I was traveling alone, and walked there and back at night. There is a short cut across a nice park - they will tell you all about it.

The room was typical for Europe, small, but it had everything I needed. The bed was comfortable. You do share a bathroom with the other single room, but there is a separate toilet as well, so it was no issue. I am pretty squimish about sharing bathrooms, but this was no problem.

The breakfast was very good - I even tried blood pudding (gross, but fun to try). You can order anything you would like (you do it the night before), and everything tasted very good.

I would really recommend using this lovely home as a base where you can visit the Cotswolds, go to Warwick Castle, see a play at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: The single rooms share a bathroom with one other person, but it was never an issue for me. The room was small and typical for Europe. But it had plenty of room for my clothing/bags/etc.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What an incredible place to stay in Stratford Upon Avon. This must be one of the cleanest, most efficiently run and friendly places we have ever stayed.

Our room, and indeed the entire house, was spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable and inviting. We got a brilliant night's sleep in the totally quiet top room of the house and breakfast was a truly 'full English', cooked to order with whatever we wanted and really setting us up for the day.

The owners, Ruth and Peter, were most welcoming with Peter providing extensive and valuable information about Stratford and environs, its restaurants and attractions.

Secure off-street parking meant that we had no worries about our car and the Royal Shakespeare Company theatre was just a gentle stroll across the park.

Ruth and Peter made top-notch hospitality look so simple but I guess there is constant activity behind the scenes to maintain the standards of excellence that they have achieved. We will no doubt be back to stay again - assuming that we can obtain a booking!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Ambleside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thanks for such a positive review and for your appreciation of the hard work that goes into maintaining high standards. We love Stratford and enjoy meeting and helping our guests so that they get the best out of their visit. We look forward to seeing you at Ambleside again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here while on our honeymoon in the UK and we had a lovely time. In particular Peter and Ruth's hospitality was very helpful during our stay. We interacted mostly with Peter(probably more by accident than anything) and he was very helpful getting us oriented to the town and giving us some recommendations on how to fill our time while we waiting for our performance of Hamlet at the RSC

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsummer21, Owner at Ambleside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We always aim to ensure our guests really enjoy their stay at Ambleside and are delighted when they return. Stratford upon Avon is a lovely town in which to spend a few days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here earlier this week while visiting the RSC. It deserves all the superlative ratings and reviews. From the moment we arrived both Peter and Ruth were warm, welcoming and kind. Peter had organised a lock up garage as the car park was full. Ruth showed us to the room and explained the facilities and breakfast arrangements.

The room was beautifully decorated. The bathroom did indeed sparkle and the linen and fabrics were of good quality. The room was delightfully warm, at the top of the house and also at the back which meant a great night's sleep. In saying that, the house is extremely well insulated and one could barely perceive traffic noise at the front of the house.

Peter and Ruth obviously enjoy what they do and have very high standards indeed. They could certainly teach a few of the larger hotel chains a thing or two about quality control!

Breakfast the next morning was superb. There was plenty of it,cooked to perfection and the coffee was very good indeed. Peter could not have been kinder or more helpful. It was a delight to chat to him. He gave us tips for future visits and also recommended an amazing guest house in Minehead. I immediately looked it up on TA when we returned home. It also has excellent review across the board and is a place we will definitely visit.Thank you, Peter, for the recommendation. What was it called ? Hmm...that will have to wait until we review it!

Will definitely use Ambleside again every time we need a base in Stratford.

'If a man be gracious and courteous to strangers, it shows he is a citizen of the world, and that his heart is no island cut off from other lands, but a continent that joins them'

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsummer21, Owner at Ambleside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

It is always lovely to get a good Tripadvisor review but we were particularly pleased with the recognition of our high standards. Stratford b&bs face a lot of competition from the chain hotels but we are convinced we offer better value. Our all inclusive price covers breakfast, parking and wifi - often added extras elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here with my friend last weekend, truly lovely place to stay. Breakfast excellent & perfect, charming, hosts. Will definitely return & would recommend to anyone visiting Stratford on Avon...such a nice surprise when chosen off Internet.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room suitable for disabled requirements
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDAGNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews