We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Excellent location,
Excellent Hotel,
Excellent room,
Excellent food,
Excellent service,
Great value for money,
4 Star on the door but 5 star inside.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lh6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    643
    356
    213
    122
See reviews for
248
1,225
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

You drive up to an incredible house and there the dream ends. Very poor service equalled only by the shabby spa facilities.

We went expecting a relaxing weekend and came away very disappointed and a little stressed. The few staff that we met were helpful, but even the receptionist admitted that they are left to cope without enough staff.

The worst part of the whole trip though, by far, was the spa. Rushed treatments, expensive and very poor facilities. The treatment rooms were dirty, the pool was very cold and the steam room has missing tiles. Just poor and cheap.

It is such a shame because the main house and the grounds are lovely.

My view - spend your money elsewhere.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed at the Barcelo Billesley Manor for two nights in March 2011. The room was very spacious with a dressing-room area.

Beware of dinner – we were asked on checking in if we’d like a table for dinner. Having travelled several hours we didn’t want to get back in the car and go out again so agreed to a table for dinner. We sat by a lovely log fire with a G&T while looking through the menu - no prices on it (gives a clue perhaps!) When we asked the price it was £37.50 per person for three courses. Normally we would only eat two courses but this was three courses, no other option, so we went for it. The food was OK, quite average but nothing to write home about, so to speak. The service was good although almost every member of staff is Polish – nothing against this, don’t get me wrong, they were wonderful and all spoke excellent English and were extremely attentive, and smart and professional.

So, dinner, to sum up was £37.50 each plus a bottle of wine, the cheapest at £18 odd made a bill of best part of £100!!!! There is a pub less than half a mile away that would undoubtedly have cost a lot less and indeed a Wetherspoons in Stratford where we ate the second night for less than £15 for the two of us including a pint of Guiness and a glass of merlot and was excellent.

Our room was in the outbuildings, previously a barn I imagine. The night’s sleep was good in a lovely comfy bed, a “Hypnos” bed, well known for quality and comfort apparently. Ours was a “zip&link” so two 3ft beds zipped together with a very thick, cosy mattress protector on top, superb!

A major disappointment was a large old-fashioned TV that only had the basic five terrestial channels, archaic really! Wi-fi was available but not free. The plumbing was extremely noisy when we turned on our cold tap – in fact it was possible to play a tune on it but I’m sure our neighbours didn’t appreciate it! To be serious, we had no noise whatsoever through the walls or ceiling, it was remarkably quiet (apart from the plumbing!).

Now we move on to breakfast – this is buffet style with cold plates and lukewarm food, mushrooms of the tinned or frozen variety, eggs well congealed, bacon – what bacon? “Oh sorry, we ran out of bacon so chef has gone to the local shop to buy some, it will be ready in a few minutes”!!! It wasn’t though … toast was served along with lukewarm tea and coffee as soon as we were seated. In balance there was plenty of cereal, croissants (excellent!) and fresh fruit on offer so you would never leave hungry.

We used the spa - pool, sauna and steam room only – all no problem, very pleasant. Perhaps the best feature of this entire stay was the Adonis-like male member of staff who draped himself about around the pool while off-duty, reading the paper and taking a dip –mmmm – certainly made my stay worth it!!!

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes of course, especially when it’s on a special offer (as it was for us) such as two nights for the price of one – even better, look out for the offer that includes dinner on the first night!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We came to this wonderful hotel around 2 years ago now. (I catching up in all my travelling lol)

We had a luxurious barn, huge and very very nice !

My husband had a drivers dream day just 30 minutes away so this hotel location was perfect for us.

The hotel itself is old but very beautiful and romantic. The staff were lovely too as nothing was too much bother. At dinner, well probably one of the best meals of our lives, trully yum !

If you are going here for a romantic break, you will love it, we did.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amanda-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days due to a business meeting at the hotel so I wasn't paying the bill for the room or food. Found the hotel to be a bit out of the way if you wanted to venture into Stratford and roughly 10quid for a taxi one way.
The room was reasonable but a bit too old fashioned for me with flowery bedlinen and curtains. It was a reasonable size with the usual facilities you'd expect, trouser press, tea/coffe facilites and a desk.
The hotel itself is a very impressive stately home with a spa, small pool with a sauna, steam room and gym. I did like the feel of the building and it does take some time to get used to where things are. I thought the service was excellent, from the reception staff to the breakfast/restaurant staff to the bar staff. All provided a very high level of customer service. The food was of a high standard and was well presented. Although I didn't organise the meeting I thought the facilities were pretty good.
The hotel did have wifi but there was a charge which was slightly disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antho909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Staff charming, polite & welcoming. buffet style breakfast, fresh hot and lot of choice. Plenty of choice for the evening menu. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant.
Hotel also catering for a wedding while we were there but this had no impact on the quality of our stay.

Room Tip: remember to book table time for evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophielisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Having been let down by another venue we managed to arrange our wedding at Billesley within one month.

Naomi, the Event Coordinator was really helpful and introduced us to someone who sorted the flowers and the cake at short notice.

The day went really well, everyone we came into contact with was really helpful and everything happened exactly as we asked.

The weather was a special bonus too!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,915 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,081 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,480 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,410 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing