We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & caring staff, lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming & caring staff, lovely setting”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband held his company post-Christmas party here in January and the hotel looked after us all brilliantly. Everyone was very helpful, patient and pleasant and the room we stayed in was lovely and spacious. I reported a tiny niggle about the position of the mirror and plugs in our room and I was very impressed with how seriously the management responded, looking into my comment and reacting to it. That's the sign of a caring hotel. Lovely location and we thoroughly enjoyed being able to use the tennis court and pool. Nice breakfast too. Would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    633
    343
    210
    117
See reviews for
240
1,196
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

What a lovely surprise this hotel was after reading some previous poor reviews.We were greeted with and friendliness by the receptionist who completed our check-in quickly and efficiently before directing us to our room.All the staff that we met were lovely but especially David who took time to show us where there were more accessible stairs as i am less mobile.
The room was wonderful , very large ,clean and with lovely fixtures and fittings.The view from our room was directly onto the topiary garden and even in the middle of winter was a wonderful sight.We chose to eat our evening meal in Stratford which is just 5 minutes drive away.. The breakfast next morning was lovely , hot and plentiful.The tiny church next to the Hotel was a delight and worth a visit. In all our stay was fantastic

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building overlooking the gardens have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Having never stayed at this hotel before i was excited at my arrival as it looks pretty impressive. As we approached the hotel it looked amazing, we were staying here as it was my husband and I's 10th wedding anniversary, and we wanted to stay somewhere special. The staff on reception were very friendly and we were soon taken to our room which was 33 on the first floor. The hotel is steeped with history and there were some amazing original features inside. I did notice however that on the way to our room, parts of the hotel looked a bit tired, our room however was beautiful, very tastefully re-decorated with a wonderful view.

As we dined out on our first night, we only drank in the bar which was small & cosy, but the following morning we went for breakfast. The food looked lovely, however as it was buffet style, there were no covers on the food to keep it hot, so as you helped yourselves and sat down your food was luke warm/cold. Having said that the food was lovely.

All in all i would recommend this hotel to stay in Stratford, its only a couple of miles outside and is in easy reach of all local amenities & taxi's are very easy to get hold of.

Room Tip: Room 33 excellent views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I recently enjoyed five nights at Billesley Manor Hotel near Stratford upon Avon.

The manor itself has more than 1000 years of history, and the inside is beautifully decorated. My room was big and comfortable, and had a large bathroom with a bathtub.

The outside of the hotel is very well kept and beautiful, and has a large labyrinth-like garden.

The hotel has a spa facility complete with gym, tennis courts and an indoor swimming pool, which I unfortunately didn't have time to make use of, as I was there on business.

The restaurant has a high standard, and also offers a wide variety of roomservice. The same goes for the breakfast arrangement with typical English á la carte dishes and a large buffet with cereal, bread, fruit, sliced meats and such.

Barcelo Billesley Manor Hotel was all in all a great place to stay, and I plan on returning with my family.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wordenskjold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

All too often these days spa days are advertised as a major pampering treat. I'm beginning to suspect that places that need to attract people via groupon, travel zoo etc do so as they're not attracting people on their own merits. This spa day was a birthday treat. We didn't stay at the hotel, which looked lovely from the outside anyway, but used the spa which was well below par. It was very small, cold and tired. The treatment room was cold which didn't make for the most relaxed experience and the changing rooms were also very cold, cluttered and the bins full to capacity with rubbish. The lockers were insecure and it generally felt like getting changed in toilets. The pool is small and there's no jacuzzi. We didn't stay even until lunchtime. Lunch prices were expensive and we didn't have confidence that it would be worth it.

When we handed back our robes as we left, we weren't told that you need a code to get out of the grounds!! Be warned there are also lengthy delays getting to the hotel due to roadworks on the A46 and if you miss the turn off to the hotel, which isn't obvious, you'll have to join the traffic queues again the other way to get back.

I'm told Wildmoor spa further down the road is much better but I'll try something very different next year!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Crossy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We went to the hotel for the third time to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was as good as the first time. The staff are very friendly in all areas of the hotel and the location is ideal. My wife forgot to bring shows with her and we wanted to eat at the restaurant for the first time so I went to the reception on the off chance that a guest may have left a pair of shoes that my wife could use and Hazel on reception obliged and my wife was very happy!!We will definately return to the Billesley Manor!

Room Tip: The premium rooms that are facing the front gardens are our favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyandgiselle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We arrived on new years eve, we were not booked for the party night, we stayed in room 1. We had alovely meal in the restaurant and a few drinks in the bar.
The duty manager on new years eve, was fantastic, very welcoming and happy to chat with us even though she was very busy with the party night.
The breakfast during the stay was good, self service on the busy days, but freshly prepared on the 3rd.
Souls recommend this Barcelona hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,865 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,054 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,388 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing