We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
1 review
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at this beautiful hotel. We received a much better room than anticipated with a bottle of bubbly & congratulations card on arrival. we enjoyed a lovely massage, although I think treatments were very overpriced. The pool was nice and quiet with plenty of loungers. Dinner at the hotel was beautifully presented and tasty, although service was slow once we'd had our starter and main. Whilst waiting for the dessert we ran out of wine & water on our table and couldn't get any waiter to serve us. The grounds are gorgeous, we enjoyed a few quiet strolls while the sun lasted! The hotel is perfectly situated for all the local attractions - Stratford, Warwick castle, Mary Arden's farm etc.
I can't understand some people's complaints about the hotel, we found all the staff polite & helpful, the building beautiful and our room spotless & very comfortable - creaky floorboards & old furniture is to be expected in such an old building, in fact, it's half the charm. It was difficult to get phone reception, but we weren't there to play with our phones.
We had a lovely break & will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulster26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, I am pleased that you had a 'lovely weekend'. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    626
    341
    210
    117
See reviews for
237
1,186
16
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Visited over the Easter holidays with the kids and another family. We had signed up on the puma deal, which meant getting a discounted dinner rate, late check out etc.

The grounds were pretty good, and the hotel has that old British feel to it. Getting about to our room sometimes felt a little spooky going through the creaky cold corridors, but fun!

Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic - and they were very accommodating to the kids. The meal is £40/head set menu - which is steep, but we had signed up for the deal which heavily discounted this. The steak was amazing and so were all the other courses. This was a proper gourmet meal. The restaurant staff were fabulous, but those in the morning didnt feel as polished and one lady was a little grumpy to put together a table for 8 of us. But the breakfast is good.

We used the pool - and because it was the Kids' holidays we were allowed to use the pool from 9-11 in addition to the 2-5 regular kids time. It's a great size pool, and there's a small steam room and sauna. No jacuzzi unfortunately.

The hotel is secluded but stratford is only 10-15 minutes away which is good. And we did a trip to Birmingham and cadbury's world (book beforehand) for some chocolate binging.

We were in one of the two family rooms which was massive. A large lounge, split level to a bedroom and bathroom. The fittings in the bathroom were a little old, but everything was spotless. Because the room was so big, and the windows original, the rooms were cold, but that was fixed with a fan when we returned to the room the following evening making it very cosy for the night.

We loved the place. The staff were helpful and friendly - and the stuff about the staff being slow is pretty much rubbish in our view.

We'll probably return in Summer so we can enjoy the grounds outside more - as this seems to be the UK's longest ever winter.

Room Tip: Room 15 was massive! Sign up for the pumahotels deal for great discounts - and a very cheap dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry we couldnt turn on some good weather for you - I do hope to welcome you back in the summer when you can enjoy pimms on the terrace. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked the girls night in package, but didn't really appreciate what great value it was until we got here - the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and our room was lovely. We both enjoyed our treatments in the spa, and relaxing next to the pool (it was a little loud during the kids splash time, but staff told us when the best quiet times were). Dinner was included in our package, and though I would have preferred a wider selection as a vegetarian, it was really delicious. Slept very well, and was very impressed with the selection for breakfast the next morning. We were also welcome to use the spa facilities after check out which was an added bonus.
I'm already planning my next trip!

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms are in an adjoining barn, so short walk to main house and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 263JoE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have recently returned from a 3 night anniversary break at Billesley Manor. First the good: the grounds are lovely, breakfast was great and I had a very enjoyable spa treatment and use of the facilities. We were travelling with our small dog and specifically chose Billesley Manor as dogs are permitted and whilst I suspect the rooms in the main house may have more character, the stable rooms (where dogs are allowed) are perfectly pleasant and spacious. Prior to an unpleasant experience on our last night, I had planned to leave a 4* review.

We have only become dog-owners recently and completely understand and respect that not everyone would choose to be around a dog, particularly while they are eating. Because of this we try to be considerate and always plan our trips in advance to ensure there won't be an issue. The published Puma group policy is that dogs are not permitted in communal areas, but we have learned through experience that the published policy is often relaxed by local management. For that reason, we selected Billesley Manor and, before booking, contacted the hotel directly to ask specifically where our dog would be allowed (it's no fun for the dog or guests in neighbouring rooms to leave her alone for extended periods): we were told she wouldn't be allowed in the restaurant (as we expected) but that she would be allowed in the bar, on a lead, where we could order a meal.

We planned to eat out the first 2 nights but have a bar meal on the last night to enable us to enjoy a drink together (there isn't much within walking distance from the hotel). When we checked in on the first day, my husband asked the same question and was given the same information. I then asked a third time 1 hour before we planned to eat and the same situation was again confirmed; however within seconds of our arrival in the bar, we were approached at speed by the restaurant manager (William) who told us we couldn't be there with our dog. Confused, as you'd imagine, we (politely) questioned this, given the conflicting advice we'd had 3 times over but he cut us off not allowing us to speak and actually ushered us out of the busy bar. We were both extremely embarrassed at being ejected in such an undignified way, in full view and earshot of fellow guests, as if we had just assumed we could bring our dog into the main hotel without first checking: as we left we could hear others guests discussing the situation, which further upset me.

The episode had a strong negative impact on the overall experience of our stay. We mentioned it at check out and whilst the £15 charge for our dog was waived, we felt that the focus of the duty manager was very much on ensuring that the staff who gave us incorrect information were 'dealt with' rather than how upsetting it had been for us or any attempt to remedy the situation. I do again stress that I have no issue with the hotel's policy not to allow dogs in their communal area: my complaint is with the inconsistent information we were given and ultimately how poorly the situation was handled. I would certainly not recommend this hotel to dog owners wishing to enjoy a break with their pets. (By contrast I would highly recommend the Crabmill and Fish at Wixford to dog owners who enjoy quality food)

Furthermore, also at check out, we had to query an incorrect charge for a spa treatment, £26 more than the brochure price. All in all not the service I expect from a 4* hotel (at a cost of £460 for 3 nights)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Please accept my apologies that you could not take your dog into the public areas, whilst I appreciate the situation was not handled as well I can confirm that due to the consideration of all of our residents we do not relax the Puma Dog Policy. Further training will be carried out with the team. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here on a girls night in package, what a fab place.... Staff friendly, rooms were lovely, had a great sleep!! meal was fab too, treatments were so relaxing!! would definately reccomend it, package deal great value.. Grounds were lovely especially in the snow!! will definately go back!! Thank you!!

Room Tip: All our rooms were lovely with great views, if you want a massive bathroom go for room 3!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevWWarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, I hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Beautiful manor house and gardens. Cosy rooms to dine. Excellent breakfast. Lovely pool and sauna. Considerate staff for letting us use the library for private dining at no extra cost. Comfortable bed and pillows.But please don't turn off the heating in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadettemndz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review, I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Loved the stay, have stayed here a few times now however the whole experience was undermined by a member of morning breakfast staff who aggressively shouted at another member of staff (who appeared to be new) telling him to "hurry up" whilst making other antagonising remarks to him very loudly in the great hall and tapping his shoulder and aggressively shoving him along. Did not think this was professional by any means, appreciate it was busy but just because he is foreign does not mean he is deaf. I didnt like it. This is such a terrible shame because the hotel itself is lovely and they were very accomdating upon arrival and the location is great with beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies for any conflict you think you witnessed between the team members. This comment has been passed on to the Head Chef as behaviour such as this will not be tolerated. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,037 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,181 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing