We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Luxury Hotel Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Luxury Hotel Good Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for a mini break for a couple of nights at this hotel and got a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for 219 for two nights (dinner on first night). This was really good value for money considering the standard of the restaurant - the food was amazing. We had treatments in the spa which were really good. The only point I would make is that the spa is not as luxurious or grand as the rest of the hotel - its a bit like a leisure centre pool and spa area which is a little disappointing but the treatments themselves were good. We had a Leisurebreaks member card which is only around £20 for the year and well worth it. If you stay at any Puma Hotel you get certain discounts and extras. We had a room upgrade, 20% of spa treatments and free newspaper. This hotel is well worth a visit and well placed for visiting Stratford.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaEmmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, you have done a great job of selling our Leisure Breaks club too! I do hope you will use one of the up and coming special deals to visit us again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    611
    327
    206
    112
See reviews for
227
1,158
15
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed with a friend for a weekend spa break. The online reservation I made obviously hadn't registered as a spa break and I had to request the additional items included on that deal, but this was dealt with very quickly. I had called in advance to reserve slots for our included mini treatments and this is essential as there were no available slots for any extra treatments once we were there.

Our twin room was in one of the newer buildings and was clean, spacious and modern. The shower was hard to regulate - randomly becoming boiling or freezing for no apparent reason, but the bathroom was nice. Large walk-in wardrobe was a very good idea, but a bit odd to have the kettle and tea tray in there too.

The main building, bar, restaurant and other public rooms were lovely. We enjoyed the breakfasts, but they were very over stretched on Sunday morning when most guests wanted to eat at the same time. We had two dinners at the hotel and the food was a very good standard, although as someone else has commented they didn't have our first choice of wine on either night.

The service on reception, in the bar and the restaurant was friendly and good.

The spa is a bit disappointing, although the treatments we had were excellent and the therapists very professional. There's no Jacuzzi, just a swimming pool with a sauna and steam room off it. The waiting area for treatments doubles up as a café for lunches and feels more like a municipal swimming pool lobby than a relaxing spa. We felt they could have made better use of the space and included a more relaxing area for before/after treatments.

What we saw of the grounds looked lovely and we noticed there were bikes available to borrow.

I wanted to give it a 'good' rating, but the only choice is 'average' (which feels mean) or 'very good' (which feels generous).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the booking error, I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I have instructed a full investigation into the problem with your shower and will ensure that this is rectified as soon as possible. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed weekend of 27th April. Impressive building with the history ripped out of it unfortunately. Small bar that was under-staffed, could have waited all day in the drawing room waiting to be served and had to go to find someone. Bedroom was very tired, small details such as bath panel not fixed properly to the bath and door latches which looked liked they had just been chissled out of the frame the day before, mainenance very poor. Evening meal was ok but breakfast was a nightmare, waiting for food to be replenished, large pieces of shell in the scrambled egg and a toaster that took forever to toast!
The spa was a pleasant experience and the staff were attentive and polite, main hotel could do with learning from the spa employees.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOLLIESurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Please accept my apologies that Billesley Manor was not as you had expected, your points will be considered and improvements made were necessary. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me directly at the Hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on return from our holiday in North Devon, the location suited us as it is close to lovely Stratford and about half way home. We enjoyed a short stay several years ago and were not disappointed this time. Our room was large and modern, the breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly, all in all a trouble free stay and a nice end to our holiday.

Room Tip: We had our dog with us and they allocate dog owners to the converted barns rooms adjacent to the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Although there was nothing really terrible about this place it needs to lookat a few things....the redecorations are tired, the breakfast buffett wasnt great with a dodgy toaster machine with mouldy brown bread and self service with lots of hanging around waiting for them to replensish stocks. The waiting staff were lovely but both the restaurant manager and receptionist need some customer service training ! The rooms are a good size but the shower was dribbling water. The Spa girls were lovely but its hard to relax as the rooms are right by the entrance to the pool and the doors are constantly slamming also the spa rooms needed a clean...i could write my name in the dust on the glass shelves.
I dont normally write negative reviews but if they are not aware of the problems then they cant address them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
I am sorry if you found the hotel tired in places, we do have an ongoing redecoration plan. Your comments have been passed to the team and our continuous review of Guest Service will address the issues you have relayed. Please accept my apologies that the service was not to our usual high standards. I believe you have contact me directly regarding this. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

taken here as a surprise birthday treat for a 2 night stay - fab large room, with four poster bed. Huge bathroom too. Had a lovely hot stones massage too. There was a mix-up with another of my party's spa bookings, which was a shame (for them!). Good breakfast, good choice and individually cooked to order, hot breakfast. Very enjoyable evening meal too, although didn't have my first choice of wine (rioja) but the merlot was acceptable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 or 4, although any of the bedrooms in the old part of the Manor looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattsmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Great review, thank you. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, apologies for the Rioja running out and for any mix up with Spa treatments. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Have stayed at this hotel some years ago, a number of times. Returned March 2013 for special occasion - hoping the hotel hadn't changed too much. We were treated exceedingly well! Staff excellent and our stay was made 'special' Our room I suspect, was one of their very top rooms in the old manor Room 4 - spacious, luxurious and a place you didn't want to leave. Our past stays in Rooms 1 and 16 were good but this was even better! The restaurant so atmospheric; good food; attentive but not over-powering staff. Great rural location and near enough to Stratford for the best of all worlds. Didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1snipecassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed yet another visit to Billesley Manor. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing