We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break, recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billesley Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
South East
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely break, recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

Stayed in this hotel having just had two days at The Lygon Arms in Broadway so were thinking it wouldn't be as nice but we were wrong - it was as nice in many areas. Hotel was quite quiet for staying guests although seemed to be used by a lot of business people which made it nice and busy during the days.
Thorougly recommend the pool and although I didn't have any treatments the spa seemed quite busy and the staff friendly and welcoming. Quietness of the hotel meant we could park right by the door for the two days we were there - which with the weather we had was a bonus!!
If you can have room 31 grab it. Room had just been refurbished so the bathroom, with jacuzzi bath (behin ornate curtains) and seperate shower cubicle was a luxury as was the massive bed, flat screen tv and expansive wardrobes. We had fantastic furniture, a fridge, safe and bags of space, light, mirrors and the all important plug sockets near the mirrors which any woman will tell you is a show stopper in some places!! Also there was a second dim light which was in the bathroom so if you either wanted to use the loo in the middle of the night or have a jacuzzi bath without the harsh lights and extraction fan coming on you could. Oh and robes and slippers!
Breakfast was a buffet with a hot section and a waitress to help you with it, continental make your own toast machine which was causing a bit of confusion but there was always someone on hand to help. Good selection of fruit, cereal, ham, cheese and rolls for those who didn't want cooked (or as well as!)
We didn't eat in the restaurant. I felt £22.50 for tagiatelle (veggie, no ham even) and £32.00 for a steak was a bit much and to be honest it seemed those people on the inclusive meal breaks would have had to fork out a suppplement of some sort - there were more dishes requiring a supplement than not - between £3 and £10. So we went to The Stag one night and the food there was good (also spotted some others there from the hotel) if a little slow on the service. Next night we went back to Stratford having spent the day there being tourists and ate in The Dirty Duck down by the RSC Theatre (currently being restored). Fab menu and lovely atmosphere, good to play 'who is that?' with all the celebs pictures on the wall. We used the park and ride during the day. £1.30 return per adult and buses every 10 minutes. Parking, well finding it through all the double parked cars was enough of a nightmare in the evening so during the day it could only have been worse - thoroughly recommend P and R - Stratford only 4 miles from the hotel, about 20 minutes by car.
Good topiary (which if you have room 31 you look out over!), a tennis court and good pool (no kids after 5pm which if you don't have them is great, obv less so if you do) means there is enough to keep you distracted at the hotel. Fab scones. Good local pub with reasonable bar menu and more expensive restaurant menu was The Boar Inn about 1.5 miles from hotel - is signposted down lane dead opposite lane to hotel. Really recommend this hotel, staff were very nice and friendly and the romm fantastic.

  • Liked — Room 31
  • Disliked — Expensive menu - to the point we didn't eat there
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekendTraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    595
    321
    202
    110
See reviews for
222
1,138
15
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2008

My stay was part of a small business group meeting over two days. The meeting room had a view over superb gardens, that allowed for a very pleasant atmosphere.

The staff throughout the stay we both attentive and polite. The food was of a good standard, the bar had lovely views and a sun trap on the terrace.

My room was a well appointed although could have been cleaner, the remote for the TV did not work which was the case for other guests in our party (a very minor issue).

Overall a good quality hotel in a good position to visit a number of local attractions.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Tiny windows, without a view poor ventilation
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

We have just returned from a really enjoyable weekend at the Barcelo Billesley Manor Hotel on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and we were extremely fortunate with the weather. The staff were always pleasant and helpful.

Having read some of the reviews, we had some concerns but found these to be unfounded. The drinks are expensive but it must be borne in mind that the spirits served are larger than those normally served in public houses, typical of a good quality hotel. The food served in the restaurant is also rather expensive but there are plenty of other places to eat if you look. Reception will call a taxi if requested and Tom the driver will tell you the best places to visit. The cooked breakfast served is excellent.

The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations, which should be completed by June 2008. These did not impact upon us in any way

Because this is a quality hotel, we anticipated it would have a dress code so were suitably prepared for the 'no denims' policy.

We most certainly recommend the hotel and can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CymroLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2008

We had booked the hotel on a bed, breakfast and dinner package for 2 nights.

We were delighted on the approach to the hotel, guests sat with drinks relaxing at tables looking out over the lawn and fountain. The peaceful surroundings with the bleating of sheep were just what we had envisaged for our anniversary getaway.

This was brought to a sorry halt on checking in to be advised after 2 minutes that the restaurant has a no denim policy. What!?! Nowhere on the online booking does it state this policy, nor even when you click on ‘Our Dining’ narrative section on the website. It is a little late to announce this fact upon checking in when we have already packed for the weekend! My Husband did not have alternative trousers to smart jeans with him. We are couple in our early thirties and regularly dress for decent venues in a smart casual manner. Never has this meant absolutely no denim – after all not all denim is ripped and faded jeans!

To be fair to the hotel the Restaurant manager was called and stated that smart dark jeans would be acceptable as we had no alternative, and he was polite and conciliatory. The same Manager was on duty when we went to dinner and we had no problem. We had a nice meal with good service.

However, on the second night we were welcomed to dinner by a different duty manager whose opening statement was – “I’m afraid we have a no denim policy in the restaurant”. Of course the hotel are entitled to have whatever policies that they want, but when they are not communicated at the point of purchase then it is deceiving and unfair. It spoilt the first part of our evening, and made us feel unwelcome – however later in the evening – unease turned to amusement as 3 other men each in individual couples also turned up in denim and were lead through the dining room – 2 wearing jeans, with shirt and jacket!

Other issues included waiting over an hour and a half for an iron to brought to our room which resulted in us having to postpone our dinner reservation to give us time to iron! The service on the Saturday evening was sporadic, dinner plates left too long before clearing and having to top our own wine glasses which you would expect at any 4 start “fine dining” experience.

We have posted several entries on Trip Advisor as we certainly find them useful when booking online and we don’t consider ourselves to be picky over small inadequacies but found ourselves ‘moaning’ to each other about the issues too frequently.

In summary, the hotel is a fantastic venue and has fabulous surroundings. The accommodation was fresh (stayed in the barn area) and more than comfortable (possibly not 4 star standard but still nice). It has the potential to be an outstanding hotel but for the lack of attention to detail and outdated policies.

Would we recommend it to anyone? Maybe yes but with plenty of forewarning of the potential issues to tackle in order to enjoy.

  • Liked — Location / Venue
  • Disliked — Outdated Rules
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blonde In Northampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

I have always loved Stratford, So for my birthday my lovely fella booked us two nights here, so we could wander round the town and just have a lovely relaxing weekend.
We arrived at the Billesley manor and the outside looked VIP teritory, set in beautiful, large gardens in the country area of stratford with large stone walls and entrance gates. The hotel is very big and the thatching is stunning. Outside the hotel lays ownership to; an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, football pitching and other outdoor sport areas. Car parking is ample and we had no problem getting parked when going out and returning to the hotel each day or night. The reception to the hotel is three minutes or so walk from the car park, their is the service of a porter collecting your luggage from your car and taking it in for you, but surely nobody could be that lazy haha. We got to reception and had a ten minute wait because the rooms werent ready but that wasnt so big a problem to us. Our room was near the sauna, gym and indoor pool which was bliss because most of the time we occupied the pool side loungers and sauna room due to rushing down there at seven in the morning to lay occupancy to them! haha. The rooms are beautiful, immaculate, tidy, well equipped (hairdryer-a decent one ladies!, shaver, welcome basket with wine and fruit, bathroom essentials, his and her robes and slippers, magazines, tv, wi-fi connection, sockets fitting normal UK plug fittings, extra pillows/blankets, refridgerator with drinks/snacks, room service, indoor massgae and treatments avaliable) the only let down was the rooms ervice because it stopped at seven in the evening and their was a £8 tray surcharge (this means you have to pay for someone to bring your food to your room for you) but the service was quick, friendly and polite and the food was yummy, if a little posh. We ended up not being able to decided what breakfast to have and order 3 continental and 2 full english haha. The service from all the staff was outstanding, in particular the staff on the pool/gym's reception desk who went the extra mile to help us. This hotel is worth every penny and I belive would be hard to find somehwere to beat my experience and this standard of hotel in the UK.

Anybody willing to prove me wrong?!

Allesiexe

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank BlondeAllesiexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

I found an amazing deal thro the Barcelo booking system for me and my Mum. 3 nights DBB for £327.99! That's both of us! From the moment of booking, to the welcome emails a week before travelling, to arriving and getting a free upgrade, right thro to the end of the holiday, the whole thing was outstanding. The food is absolutely fabulous. The staff, in every department, were excellent and could not do enough for us. We had to really nit-pick for critisism. The only things we could come up with are that the beer was not cold enough, the plastic bathmat needed re-newing and that the gym was a little compact.
If u r a gym-bunny, there is good equipment in there - plenty of CV stuff and some free weights and static equipment - enough to keep me quiet for a few hours. The pool is only 15meters so not great for a lane swim. However, it was never very busy in either area. Mum had Spa treatments and found the staff to be knowledgeable, skilled and very professional. She's not easily pleased so they must have been good!
I couldn't reccommend the place highly enough.....even if it was just a visit for supper. The food really was exquisite.......

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

Booked an overnight stay at Billesley Manor for Easter and decided to upgrade to a Premium room after viewing the photo's and descriptions on the internet. Upon arrival the room we were given did not resemble the one i thought i had booked, upon speaking to reception we discovered that in fact the Premium rooms as pictured on website are being refurbished and are not availbable, we were not advised of this at the time of booking so after being told no other rooms were available we checked back out and drive the hour and a half home so our easter night away was ruined. The matter was highlighed with the GM of the hotel who just apologised and said would we like to rebook when the rooms are finished.

Why would we risk ruining another weekend when they clearly are decieving people with their interenet pictures, the standard rooms are no more than travelodge rooms for 3 times the price.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service of Reception Manager
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WestMidsBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing