We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break in lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this short stay through the Telegraph Subscriber recommendations and we enjoyed a very pleasant and comfortable short stay here at a very good price. The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and efficient and we thought the quality of the accomodation, the Restaurant and leisure facilities were all excellent. We would certainly be happy to return and would recommend the Hotel to our friends. It is also very close to Stratford where we enjoyed sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely recommendation, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful town of Stratford on Avon whilst you were here. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

BMH could be lovely hotel but at present it is not. To my mind the hotel is let down by poor staff management. The staff seem to think that the hotel and the facilities should be run according to their wishes and their timetable with customer service not being on the agenda. The 'Waldorf Salad' episode of Faulty Towers could have been filmed this weekend at BMH.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Once again, please accept my apologies that your stay at Billesley Manor did not meet with your expectations. Many reviewers comment on our team members and how friendly, welcoming and professional they are and I am sorry you did not find them that way. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Took advantage of a Groupon deal to spend a few hours chilling in the Spa. Fairly basic poolside facilities & surprised by the lack of a hot-tub, usually standard nowadays. Luxury this was not. Decent size pool which we had to ourselves for quite a while, nice. Where the hotel excelled was the quality of its treatments: back massage & facial were superb. Massage room was very nice but if you were there on a busy day, it could be quite noisy as access in & out of the changing rooms is right outside the door, so lively chatting would be very audible. Treated ourselves to lunch in the bar of the main hotel. Great olde worlde atmosphere & quality food. Hotel is stunning to look at & set in some beautiful countryside but still easily accessible from M40 & M42.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Zymotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you managed to get a great deal and enjoyed our other facilities whilst on your spa day. I agree it is a fabulous location and so easy to reach. I hope you will return soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have just returned from spending a couple of days at Billesley Manor. We can not fault the Hotel, Location, Staff and food all excellent. We will definitely be returning. Cant recommend this Hotel enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Georgina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your recommendation, I am pleased that you enjoyed your Billesley Manor experience. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We took advantage of a great room rate for a short break and were not disappointed.
Billesley Manor Hotel is a stunning looking building, filled with character and charm and wonderful relaxing presence.
The staff were accommodating, friendly and helpful at all times and ensured we were well looked after.
Our room was comfortable and clean and looked out onto the topiary garden - which is worth a closer look because of what you'll see if you do.. - and came with everything you could ask for, all neatly hidden away.

The food is wonderful. Our first evening meal dining in the Great Hall was a feast. The menu had a fabulous range of choices, and after much deliberation and changing of minds once ordered, the courses we had chosen did not disappoint. We left the restaurant very full and happy.
Breakfast is also in the Great Hall with a self service buffet selection of hot and cold foods. The hot food is flavoursome produce and regularly refilled so you never had to wait for something to add to your plate. There is a plentiful selection of cereals, fruit juices, toast and jams etc if you don't want a cooked breakfast.
The bar is a great place to unwind before and after dinner, and offers a menu of it's own which although not huge is a good enough selection for bar faire and very enjoyable.
We were fortunate to have afternoon tea as par of our stay and it was magnificent! That alone was worth staying for.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience, we will definitely be coming back for another stay in the not to distant future and have already recommended the hotel to family & friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ClickChick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your great review of Billesley Manor, I appreciate you taking the time to post your experiences. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were there for 3 days midweek and stayed in Room 4, which is also called the Shakespeare Room, complete with hidden passageway to a priest's hole above the fireplace. The room was enormous, with a large settee, a chaise longue, four poster bed, dressing table and various cupboards. The bathroom was even bigger! The staff were all very polite and friendly. We found the buffet breakfast to be perfectly OK during our stay and the evening meals were of a very high quality. We found the house to be quiet at night. The location is very peaceful and the small church in the grounds worth a visit (Reception hold the key). Getting into Stratford is easy as the hotel is only a few miles from the park and ride, which I would recommend, rather than driving into the the town centre car parks. Don't know if we will return soon, as the group have several other nice hotels and we might try them first!

Room Tip: Would recommend Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onemoreglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

What a great review, I couldnt have put it better myself! Room 4 is in the original part of the Manor and is our bridal suite. I hope you left a note in the priest hole cupboard, there are many from over the years which is lovely, if not perhaps you could do that next time. Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We spent two nights at The Billesley Manor, using it as a base for Stratford. This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful surroundings. There was four of us including children of 11 and 13 and it was close to perfect. It is a lovely hotel with great staff who could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable.

The leisure facilities were ideal for us with a good sized pool, sauna and steam room. The gym is quite small but well equipped. If I were to have one criticism, it would be that the Dinner menu was a little too sophisticated for children the age of ours, but the food was terrific. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will certainly use Puma Hotels again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

It is great to read that you enjoyed your family stay, I do hope the chefs accomodated your childrens needs and tastes. Check out our website for great deals across the Puma Hotels Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,030 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,390 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,141 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £56 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing