We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Country House and Environs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely Country House and Environs”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Two nights chill out with spouse and generally a good experience. We had a "package" that included a dinner and afternoon tea so was a good deal.
Hotel is part of the Puma chain and first time we have stayed with them. We would like to try other also.
We had a "superior" room very close to the pool/spa #18 - quite a long walk from reception but OK although several short stairs to negotiate - I think there is disabled access too and staff were seen to be helpful when required.
Hotel is well used by business groups, but it would seem these have their own arrangements for meals etc and the group there did not impact on our enjoyment.
Staff are helpful and mainly consist of Europeans with a good work ethic and desire to please. We like that. Maybe some training areas could be tightened up although some of the staff were obviously well on top of things.
Free wifi at reasonable speed and a "premium" service available for a fee. I found the basic one OK. There are also a couple of free to use pc terminals around although they only have basic software installed. The information directory does state "Business Services" available but I was unable to ascertain what these were apart from the wifi. There is no business center so if you want MS Office make sure you have your own.
The spa and pool area is very nice and has external membership also. Lightly used during our stay.
We had the set dinner menu on the Saturday and it was very good - a wide choice of 3 courses with wine. Quite impressive.
Breakfast has choice of cooked items and seems to vary each day. Buffet/served. Some items not available. Great service. Awful coffee!
Check out is 1100 although our package afforded a 1300 facility which was good although we did not need it on this occasion.
Room was large - ground floor- not much of a view, but OK. All in good condition, clean and large bath/shower. Decent TV and service.
Mobile phone reception in hotel very patchy if that is important to you - we had none in our room.
Drinks are certainly "4 star" hotel prices so people may draw their own conclusions here. I may mention that being charged extra for the tonic in a G&T may be of note!
Hotel has large grounds very well tended with a super topiary garden, it would certainly be a lovely summer environment.
Free parking with coded exit. Large and there is also a valet facility if required.
Checkout was a bit more of a trial than necessary as account had been wrongly totaled, but there we are. A minor point but one that should never happen and causes unnecessary hassle. Funny how it is always too much!
Probably visit again but only with a package.

Room Tip: Room numbering is quite random and does not relate to any floor etc. "Country House".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seawisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    608
    327
    206
    111
See reviews for
226
1,155
15
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a beautiful building with lovely rooms, facilities and grounds, the food is excellent and the staff very helpful. I would definitely return and recommend to family and friends, but suggest if you want a quiet stay, and especially if there is a function on, ask for a room away from the bar area as due to the age of the building it has no sound insulation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2point4Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the second visit to Billesley Manor and will not be the last. There is such a lot of competition in Stratford but I like a hotel with character and history which is what Stratford is all about. You have the best of both worlds at Billesley. It is quiet and out of the way but not a long drive into the town centre. The staff are friendly and professional. We paid on this visit for a premium room and requested a quiet room and was pleasantly surprised when upgraded to a better suite. This would prompt me to return again for this type of service. Drinks yes are a little on the steep side. Food was of very good quality but I don't think I would chose to dine here if it wasn't in with the price of our stay. I wasn't impressed eating with someone in a fleece onesey so the standards of dress needs to be strongly enforced to guests to keep within the standards of this hotel. Enjoyable stay, a hotel with beautiful qualities and surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just had a two night stay at billesley manor as part of Merlin events Christmas cracker car run,hotel was lovely and our room in the barn conversion was stunning with old beams and lots of space not your normal hotel room,service from reception staff bar staff and restaurant staff was excellent ,just one small moan the quality of dinner on Friday and Saturday night could have been better cold soup,and not very appetising main course desert was good ,a good weekend stay breakfast was fine prob busy time of year.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

A mistake was made with our booking, which led to a lot of pain for my wife, but there was a resolution made with the bill, which is why I don't end the review here. Has to the one of the most comfortable hotel beds have slept in, in a very long time. Room was excellent, other than the ensuit door which could have benefited from a proper (normal?) handle and lock mechanism. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only complaint about the food would be the roast Turkey Christmas dinner was not meat carved from a bird, but circles sliced from some preformed rolled joint. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, cold slices, pastries, mixed fruit or full English. Would stay again if in the area

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Omen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I booked a deluxe bedroom at Billesley Manor as a birthday treat for my partner. We were allocated the bridal suite (room 4), which was perfect. The bedroom was enormous, with stained oak wooded panels that gave it an antique feel, with a four poster bed, ample seating and one of the biggest bathrooms I've ever seen.

The pool, steam room and sauna were adequate, not the best I've used but the good aspects of the hotel made up for the downsides.

Our meal in the two rosettes awarded restaurant were delicious. Each course was perfectly presented offering a mixture of wonderful tastes and textures. The evening was great, but the very limited selection of champagne was disappointing.

The morning topped off a very enjoyable stay with breakfast in bed and a late checkout.

Room Tip: As wonderful as room 4 is, the footsteps coming from upstairs will disturb light sleepers and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kershia Kewi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a beautiful old manor house which was decorated for Christmas. There are are quite a lot of stairs and steps so you need to be reasonably agile. We had a good sized room with a bathroom,and a comfy king size bed. There is a pool and spa. Drinks are expensive - £7.70 for a large Chardonnay but the food was tasty and very enjoyable. We would stay here again. It is a beautiful setting for anyone planning a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2oldagetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,797 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,400 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
818 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,987 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing