We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A stunning location with Stratford Upon Avon and the Cotswolds within easy reach. The hotel was almost like something from a Dickens novel, lots of wood panelling and cosy log fires. The restaurant was lovely and the food was excellent. We had a premium room which was spacious and the most enormous bed I have ever seen. Would have happily given a rating of '5' but for a couple of very minor issues. But sometimes the little things do matter and can ultimately be what makes a great stay even greater. On settling in to our room, we realised the TV was not working properly, the picture on all the channels was scrambled. We politely notified reception and they said they would send someone up. The person that came fiddled with the arial and sorted the problem in seconds. There was a definite air of authority and we felt like we had wasted his time. How difficult would it have been for him to say "all fixed, call us if it happens again" or "is everything else ok with your room", or even "have a nice stay with us". All the staff from then on seemed very polite and helpful. However, when we checked out, we stood waiting for approx. 10 mins (not a problem) while the two receptionists dealt with other customers. While we waited, another person checked out and paid their rather large bar tariff. They were asked if everything was Ok with their stay. When she got to us, we had no huge bar tariff to pay (we paid as we went along) and again we felt almost like second class citizens. We weren't expecting her to say "sorry for the wait" (though it would have been nice) but we were were expecting her to ask if we'd had a nice stay (which we had) but she didn't. We had read there was a little 11th century church somewhere near and we asked her where it was as we wanted to go and have a look before we drove off. She gave us directions. When we got there it was locked. There was a note on the door saying "If locked, key at the hotel reception desk". She could have told us that. We didn't bother going back, we just drove off. Overall, a lovely stay, but sometimes the little things mean a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chazland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,441 - 1,447 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Spent a very pleasant stay here. we arrived earlky but staff rallied around so that we could get into our room early. Room was good but not exceptional but the views made up for this. Food was good and the bare area was very relaxing. Young staff had clearly been well trained and were a delight.

Room Tip: if you struggle with stairs ask for a room near reception. If you want to get away from it all and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenerBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night mid week here with the dinner b&b deal. We really enjoyed it. The hotel room we had was great. The bed was so big and comfy. The meal in the evening was amazing. We could have had 3 courses but we had 2 we prefer starter and mains. The staff in the bar and restaurant were really helpful and attentive. They could have done with an extra pair of hands but i believe that someone called in sick. We opted for breakfast in our room what a treat. We then headed to the pool. Facilities were great there too. The hotel was approx 5miles from Stratford max 10mins in the car. We would happily come here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marmitelover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

"If you want a quiet nights sleep, don't book a room here as you could be put in a room directly above the dance floor as we did! Room 34!!! No sound insulation and when trying to get moved to another room no rooms available to move to. This has got to be the worse nights sleep in a hotel I have ever had, probably would have been better staying in youth hostel! Ok people have parties, but surely lovely hotels should have consideration for residents who aren't part of the party directly underneath our room or the highly spirited residents who chose to make so much noise throughout the night returning to their rooms/banging on doors!!
I complained to the reception staff at the time and they were unable to move us to another room as the hotel was fully booked. Other then that, great food, clean rooms, lovely restaurant staff waiters just a shame the whole night was ruined by this oversight of the bookings person at this hotel!! Oh an the next day a wedding at the hotel so no doubt another disco under these rooms, I just hope it the family of the bride and groom!"

I have since sent a formal complaint to Puma hotels regarding the above stay only to not hear anything back for 12 days and still waiting even though they advised they would get back to me within 5 days!!!

Lots of people have reviewed this hotel well, my bad experience here and lack of on going customer service has meant I can only give a bad review.

Room Tip: Not above the function room if there is a party going on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaynieo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

What a shame that you felt it easier to communicate that you had not recieved my email via trip advisor rather than to contact me directly. I have sent a direct email to both of your email addresses - if you do not recieve these please contact me directly at the Hotel and I can send out a hard copy to your postal address.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed two nights recently at Billesley Manor for our Niece's wedding. The wedding took place in the hotel and the staff were very attentive and went out of their way to ensure that everything ran smoothly and that my Niece and her husband had a beautiful wedding day. Most of the wedding party stayed one or two nights in the Hotel. The rooms were immaculately clean ( we stayed in room 23 opposite the Spa) with all expected facilities provided. The wedding breakfast and evening buffet food were excellent and we took advantage of room service for my parents' breakfast which was provided with a good choice of menu and efficient service. The wedding party were provided with a separate room for breakfast and there was a good choice of menu and good quality food.The Hotel staff throughout were all very polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel is full of character and old world charm and interesting history and it has beautiful gardens where some of the wedding photos were taken. We are looking forward to staying again for a weekend break at the Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Two nights chill out with spouse and generally a good experience. We had a "package" that included a dinner and afternoon tea so was a good deal.
Hotel is part of the Puma chain and first time we have stayed with them. We would like to try other also.
We had a "superior" room very close to the pool/spa #18 - quite a long walk from reception but OK although several short stairs to negotiate - I think there is disabled access too and staff were seen to be helpful when required.
Hotel is well used by business groups, but it would seem these have their own arrangements for meals etc and the group there did not impact on our enjoyment.
Staff are helpful and mainly consist of Europeans with a good work ethic and desire to please. We like that. Maybe some training areas could be tightened up although some of the staff were obviously well on top of things.
Free wifi at reasonable speed and a "premium" service available for a fee. I found the basic one OK. There are also a couple of free to use pc terminals around although they only have basic software installed. The information directory does state "Business Services" available but I was unable to ascertain what these were apart from the wifi. There is no business center so if you want MS Office make sure you have your own.
The spa and pool area is very nice and has external membership also. Lightly used during our stay.
We had the set dinner menu on the Saturday and it was very good - a wide choice of 3 courses with wine. Quite impressive.
Breakfast has choice of cooked items and seems to vary each day. Buffet/served. Some items not available. Great service. Awful coffee!
Check out is 1100 although our package afforded a 1300 facility which was good although we did not need it on this occasion.
Room was large - ground floor- not much of a view, but OK. All in good condition, clean and large bath/shower. Decent TV and service.
Mobile phone reception in hotel very patchy if that is important to you - we had none in our room.
Drinks are certainly "4 star" hotel prices so people may draw their own conclusions here. I may mention that being charged extra for the tonic in a G&T may be of note!
Hotel has large grounds very well tended with a super topiary garden, it would certainly be a lovely summer environment.
Free parking with coded exit. Large and there is also a valet facility if required.
Checkout was a bit more of a trial than necessary as account had been wrongly totaled, but there we are. A minor point but one that should never happen and causes unnecessary hassle. Funny how it is always too much!
Probably visit again but only with a package.

Room Tip: Room numbering is quite random and does not relate to any floor etc. "Country House".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a beautiful building with lovely rooms, facilities and grounds, the food is excellent and the staff very helpful. I would definitely return and recommend to family and friends, but suggest if you want a quiet stay, and especially if there is a function on, ask for a room away from the bar area as due to the age of the building it has no sound insulation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2point4Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,902 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,503 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £60 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing