We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as I'd hoped for” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billesley Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as I'd hoped for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lovely grounds and very pretty from the outside however, rooms are not 4 star I would say the standard rooms are 2/3 star at best and the wifi did not work in our room (68). If the location and price is good then book it but don't pay full price. Check out the internet as puma hotels always have offers ours was with dinner with wine and breakfast with a 1pm checkout.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. My apologies you found your room not to be to your expected standard. We have an array of room types and I would be delighted to show you a selection of these as they enjoy different features should we be lucky enough to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    595
    321
    202
    109
See reviews for
222
1,137
15
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last year for one night and were thoroughly impressed so for our anniversary this year we booked again but for the Wine, Dine and Sparkle deal. This deal is amazing value for money and was the perfect choice for us. We upgraded to the premium room for a little extra but saw a definite improvement in the room in comparison to our last stay. The room was huge, clean, very modern and considering it was on one of the main corridors of the hotel, quiet. We arrived early and decided to go for afternoon tea in the bar. It's £15 per person but well worth it, the sandwiches and cakes are delicious and it's all very filling.

During our stay we also made use of the leisure facilities. The changing rooms are pretty standard and could use a little more regular cleaning but still pretty clean. The pool was a little busier than our last visit even though we went outside of the kids 'splash hours' and I would advise you call the spa before you go to the pool if you want a quiet swim. Sadly the sauna was out of action but the steam room was comfortable and the loungers by the pool very comfy.

The highlight of our stay was probably the evening. Included in our package was a 3 course meal and a bottle of wine, which the hotel were happy for us to bring into the restaurant from our room, in the Stuart Restaurant. The restaurant thoroughly deserves it's two rosettes. The food was absolutely gorgeous and the staff in the restaurant were fantastic. We were not rushed at all with our meal and even though we were the last people in the restaurant the staff were happy to chat and accommodate us whilst we finished our bubbly.

The hotel really is beautiful, it was a shame that it was raining so hard that we didn't really appreciate the grounds and scenery. This hotel is fabulous and we will hopefully be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent trip to Billesley Manor. I was delighted to read this was your second visit and equally delighted you had a fabulous time.

Your kind words about our food and service will be passed onto the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Could be a fantastic hotel. However they have lost the plot on customer service. Our room was not ready and we waited an hour. Yes we were offered an apology and a coffee, but they charged to our room

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry you had a delay in getting into your bedroom and rest assured I shall be addressing the confusion over charging for your coffee whilst waiting. I trust this initial frustration did not impact the rest of your stay.

Once again my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

New Years Eve package, we made a request to make sure we dined on the same table, that is my Husband, my Sister and Brother in law, instead they put us at a tale for four in another restaurant room miles from the festivities and left us there all on our own, we could not join in or mingle in the New Years Eve atmosphere, we paid for a package that we did not get, it was Terrible Experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dixie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay over New Year. I was truly sorry to hear about the confusion over your dining arrangements especially as one of your party were shown the restaurant in the afternoon to verify where you would be dining that evening. Please accept my sincere apologies that this was not what was expected and rest assured I shall be researching why this was the case.

I trust you enjoyed to celebrations post dinner.

Once again my sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We and our friends chose this hotel because of its location. We chose well. An impressive building, set in beautiful grounds with excellent rooms and facilities, first class food and the most helpful and friendly staff we have ever encountered within the UK. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We shall certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent trip to Billesley Manor. I was delighted to read you had a wonderful anniversary and New Year celebration. Your kind words are truly appreciated and will be passed on.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I booked for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and New Year. What a fabulous hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and professional and the grounds and manor hotel itself were excellent. Our room, room 8, was superb, spacious with a 4 poster bed and big bathroom.

The meal on the first night was outstanding, all 3 courses were if a very high standard, the restaurant manager brought us a complimentary glass of champagne as she new it was our anniversary a very nice personal touch.

We used the pool in New Year's Eve during the day which was nice and quiet. We had the New Years package and the gala dinner was again excellent. The food and service was great and we had a great evening. The dj played a good mix of music and created a great party atmosphere. Breakfast was good with a wide variety.

Overall we had a highly enjoyable break and we enjoyed every second, we will definitely be returning and would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent trip to Billesley Manor. I was delighted to read you had a wonderful anniversary and New Year celebration. Your kind words are truly appreciated and will be passed on.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I heard about this hotel through a very good deal on Travel Zoo. Initial impressions when making the reservation were very good. There unfortunately weren't any rooms available for the Travel Zoo deal for the night we needed, but the reservations agent was able to offer us a very similar deal for just a little more money. The deal included dinner, bed and breakfast and a late checkout... I was not aware however until I saw the bill that I had paid £30 for the late checkout as I was only quoted an all-inclusive rate - had I known it as £30, I would not have bothered! Even with the deal the stay was not cheap, so I had high expectations...

In general, our stay was pleasant. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Stratford and surrounding towns. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building which has been well maintained, and the grounds also are well worth a stroll through. We didn't make use of the pool or health facilities so cannot comment on those. The bar area and restaurant have a beautiful atmosphere, and we enjoyed a wonderful meal in the restaurant - the quality of the food and wine was outstanding, the pacing was perfect, and the service was very good. Really could not fault our dinner, we were very impressed by this. Our bed was also really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.

However, there were a few little things. When we arrived our room was made up as a twin even though we had booked a double. Staff were prompt in fixing this and offered us a complimentary drink in the bar while we waited for it to be changed over, however no one came to tell us when this was done and after 40 minutes we had to go back to reception ourselves to find out if we could go to our room. Service was generally not quite to the standard I expect of a four star hotel - it was adequate, but not exceptional. I particularly found the breakfast staff a little hit and miss, though they were clearly very busy. The bar, while lovely, seemed too small for a hotel of this size and in the evening I saw a few people walk in and then out again when they could not get a seat. Our room (room 11) was clean and spacious but the decor was a little shabby and basic, not really in keeping with the style of the hotel.

Altogether we were left feeling a little lukewarm about our stay. This hotel has loads of potential but unfortunately did not live up to my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. Your kind words about our bar, restaurant team and food quality are truly appreciated and rest assured your other highlighted points will be addressed.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing