We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Good location close to Stratford-upon-Avon and well maintained grounds. However, the bed was lumpy and extremely uncomfortable with poor quality pillows. In addition, the restaurant was extremely expensive (even by hotel standards) with poor service and average quality food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank flying11red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Billesley Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have just returned from Billseley Manor having had a lovely, relaxing stay. Stunning hotel in a lovely location. Food excellent and staff welcoming.
Surrounding area beautiful with lots to see and do.

Only negative was that the bathroom could have done with updating but didn't spoil the overall experience. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Billesley Manor Hotel. I was delighted to read you had a wonderful experience when with us and thank you for your kind words about our team and food quality, they are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had an excellent short break at Billesley Manor Hotel to celebrate my friends 40th birthday. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and left Sunday after breakfast. The staff were excellent, the room was very good, both evening meals were excellent as was breakfast on both days. The spa facilities were fab and the treatments were amazing. So much so, my friends even fell asleep during a facial.
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and beautiful grounds it is perfect place to celebrate my estfriends 40 th birthday. We didn't want to leave. Would definitely stay We had an excellent short break at Billesley Manor Hotel - arrived on a Thursday evening and left Saturday after breakfast. The staff were excellent, the room was very good, both evening meals were excellent as was breakfast on Friday morning. Breakfast on Saturday was buffet style and unfortunately there were long waits to have supplies replenished.
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, the staff are so accommodating and even advised us where to go for a drink in Stratford. The grounds are beautiful and you feel a million miles away from home , when in fact you are a short journey by car to Stratford. We are already planning out return visit. Thank to all the staff for making out visit a great one.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Billesley Manor Hotel. I was delighted to read our team played a small part in making your friends 40th birthday celebrations that little bit more special and your kind words about the food quality at dinner is truly appreciated and will of course be passed onto Chef and his brigade.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had an excellent short break at Billesley Manor Hotel - arrived on a Thursday evening and left Saturday after breakfast. The staff were excellent, the room was very good, both evening meals were excellent as was breakfast on Friday morning. Breakfast on Saturday was buffet style and unfortunately there were long waits to have supplies replenished.
The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and beautiful grounds it is perfectly placed to do all the tourist stuff in Stratford and Warwick. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ljg1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Billesley Manor Hotel. I was delighted to read you found our team to be excellent and your kind words about the food quality at dinner is truly appreciated and will of course be passed onto Chef and his brigade.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hotel is a lovely old converted stately home with grounds to match. Bedroom area a little tired but the bathroom was new and spotless. Staff, and in particular the waiting staff, were very friendly and helpful. Spa facilities a good bonus for inclement days. Restaurant excellent as was the food. Breakfast was chaotic as there were a lot of wedding guests that had stayed over. Only problem we encountered was from a live band playing at a wedding reception. We were in the main house on the top floor but it was still very loud. We rang reception a few minutes after midnight and they said the band should have stopped at midnight and they would have a word. A few minutes later all was quite. Excellent break with Stratford and a number of lovely little villages close-by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogero14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Billesley Manor Hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed our food and service in the restaurant and your kind words are truly appreciated and will of course be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My Husband and I were married at Billesley Manor in August 2002. Back then we had an amazing wedding. We were not disappointed when we came back! The purpose of our visit was for a belated Christmas works get together with our colleagues (2 other couples). Firstly, when booking the break, Marla on Reception was amazing! She really made me feel like my call was important and explained everything I needed to know about making my reservation. She even upgraded us to a deluxe room which was beautiful overlooking the topiary garden. Well done Marla! The bar was run very efficiently and the food in the restaurant was very good. I would say that the staff in the restaurant maybe need a little more training but, this did not detract from what was a lovely stay. We would love to come back again soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Billesley Manor. I was delighted to read you had a wonderful trip down memory lane and thank you for your kind words, which will of course be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I went with the wife as a late Christmas present. Staff were excellent. Room was very good, not the best we have stayed in. Restaurant was very good but menu was limited. The only let down was the breakfast on the weekend. On the Friday it was very good but the buffet selection on Saturday and Sunday was limited and went very quick as the number of guests was significantly higher that on the Friday.. My wife had finished hers before I had managed to get sausage and egg for which I waited 15 minutes. We asked for a haddock with poached eggs on Saturday and Sunday but were it is was not available at the weekend.
Hotel is well located for Stratford either driving or Taxi (£10.00)
The Spa and pool were both excellent, however on the Saturday the pool was full of ladies happy to stand around chatting, making swimming challenging.
We both said we would go again but probably a mid week break next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billesleymanor_gm, Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Billesley Manor Hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed our spa and leisure facilities and your kind words about our team are truly appreciated and will be passed on. May I offer my sincere apologies for the frustrations encountered at breakfast and my assurances they will be addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,970 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,508 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,805 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £72 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing