We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very disappointing welcome!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We booked Sunday lunch as it was my Mothers birthday, as it was a beautiful day on the Saturday we decided to pay a visit for afternoon tea as a treat. It was quite busy and we stood at the bar area for sometime being passed the whole time by the 2 staff who were serving, at no point did either of them just say ' please take a seat and we'll be with you shortly to take your order' so we finally asked them if thats what we should do! There was no availiable seating in the bar area so we asked if we could sit in the room at the back of the bar which was empty....they said that was fine but we did then sit there being forgotten whilst people who had come in after us were being served in the bar area where seating had just become availiable, so we had to go and ask for them to take our order. The young man who served us was very polite and helpful, £15 each though really isn't very good value for the selection of cakes we were served (a very thin slice of lemon tart, scone, chocolate brownie & an almond sponge type cake) when we arrived there were lots of afternoon teas being served and the cakes looked lovely so when this selection was served we were disappointed, it was almost as if they'd run short so we got the reserve cakes! We also had 4 finger sandwiches which were nice but again a little boring and run of the mill (egg, cucumber, salmon & ham) the amount was good just quite uninspiring and definitely not somewhere we'd recommend to anyone. When we arrived on the Sunday for lunch we found our way back to the bar area and sat down, thats when we noticed the arms of all the chairs we were sat on were extremly grubby, which we were all quite shocked about for a 4 star hotel! We were greeted very badly by an middle aged man who simply said....'err your name?!'. We were all a little taken aback and so he said again 'your name...do you have a booking?!' we told him and hoped he would warm up a bit, he didn't! He then walked off & came back with some menus....huffing & puffing as he handed them to us as some of the menu folders were empty of the actual menu..This was making us all feel very uncomfortable and we only hoped that he wouldn't be serving us and that the food would be worth putting us through this experience! Two very polite French girls took our orders and showed us to our table, they also served our meals to us so that was lovely. Drink orders very slow to arrive but the meal itself was lovely although we felt £25 ahead was a little overpriced (probably down to the very unwelcome start) but we were happy to pay for the food we'd had. We were a family group of 7 and other than a table of 2 we were the only people in the restaurant, we now know why?! This is not a place we would revisit for any occasion and that's mainly down to the poor upkeep of the furnishings and the lack of welcome on both visits!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Barlowsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

I am very sorry that the level of customer service was not to our usual levels on this occasion and that your experience of our afternoon tea did not meet your expectations.

I was pleased to note that the Sunday celebration lunch itself was lovely and thank you for your feedback. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly should you wish to discuss this visit with me directly.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    633
    343
    210
    117
See reviews for
240
1,195
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I purchased the spa day with groupon as a special treat for my god-daughter's 18th birthday present. She went with her friend in December 2013.
Sadly it wasn't as special as we were led to believe......the promised prosecco, part of the deal, wasn't provided......the treatments appeared rushed........not all of the facilities were up and running.
So a disappointment really.......
I know it was a groupon offer, but it should be still have been worth the money, the effort, the gift.......

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I am sorry that the visit in December to our Spa did not meet expectations on this occasion and that we were not made aware of this at the time. It is most certainly our aim to provide a great experience.
Thank you for your post and if I may help in the future please contact me directly.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed on the night of Friday 21st February 2014. The hotel stands in beautiful grounds and is a very impressive building. The Reception was busy but we were dealt with quickly and efficiently and allocated room 33 which was through a maze of corrdiors on the first floor overlooking the gardens. The room itself was stunning and the bed was one of the best we had slept in. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and we were very happy with the standard of accommodation we were glad we had upgraded and were staying in the main building. We found the hotel itself busy but had no issues with noise at all.

Breakfast in the morning was faultless. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again

Room Tip: Or room 33 was beautiful and overlooked the stunning grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaynor gumdrops... l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you had a lovely break at Billesley Manor. It is always good to read that all aspects of your stay lead to a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

I am delighted that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, soon I hope.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have just spent 2 wonderful days at Billesley Manor. My friend and I had a 2 day break and found the hotel to be much more than we we expecting. On a arrival we were very impressed, the hotel looks emposing with bueatiful gardens. We were greated by a very pleasent receptionist who was very efficient and helpful. We were helped to our room by another member of Staff (Oliver) who carried our bags. The Room was very nice and very clean, unfortunatley it was too hot and we could not turn the radiator off. We reported this to the reception. The Duty Manager came to investigate. Without any problem what so ever we were
transfered to another room with an upgrade and again Oliver came to assist with our bags. This room was perfect it overlooked the gardens. We used the Spa which was a very pleasent experience, The food in resturant on each evening was of a high standard as was the breakfast. We would reccomend this Hotel to all our friends and family without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room No. 24 overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent wonderful 2 day break. It is always good when one of the team gets a mention and I will ensure that Oliver reads your review.

I am pleased that we were able to resolve the issue experienced at the time and a cooler room was located for you by the Duty Manager. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity.

It was great to read that you will recommend Billesley Manor to your friends and family. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel the night before our stay. My Husband and I wanted to treat ourselves to a nice hotel with a pool. We paid a lot more than some of the hotels we were looking at around the Stratford area.

We arrived at the hotel after a 4 hour drive. The building itself is quite impressive. At the reception desk the receptionist ignored us whilst she was on the phone dealing with a guest who wanted to move from The Barn accommodation to the main hotel, we now know why. We too were put in The Barn, a walk across a driveway. Our room was quite basic and pokey, no better than a Premier Inn or such like. We chose this hotel because we wanted to swim, but because we were so far from the pool across the drive etc, it put us off. So we decided to have a drink in the bar. Here the lady behind the bar was abrupt and miserable. We sat down and asked a waiter for the dinner menu, he asked us if we were on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. We told him that we weren't, he replied by saying that they were fully booked for dinner and couldn't fit us in. Considering that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere, we were a little disappointed. We decided to look for another restaurant and get a taxi. However we found The Stag public house and Restaurant 0.6 miles away. We decided to walk in the pitch dark, it was a bit difficult and scary. When we got there the place was nice and friendly and the food was good. We wished we were staying there rather than at the Manor. When we went to pay our bill, we mentioned to the manager of the Stag, Simon,what had happened and we told him we were about to walk back to the Manor. He wouldn't hear of that and insisted on driving us back, he didn't want us walking on the busy road at night. Simon restored our faith in humanity that night, what a difference in attitude to that of the staff at the Manor, we could have stayed at the Stag for a third of what we paid and we would have had just as nice a time if not better because it was just had a better atmosphere.

Breakfast at the Manor was average, but at least the breakfast staff were more pleasant than the night staff.

All in all a bit disappointing for the money we paid, not as nice a treat as we wanted! We wouldn't return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay on this occasion, especially in regard to your room which was located in the Barn conversion and the service received in the bar. Our restaurant does get very busy, especially at weekends, and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not have a table for you.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I feel very badly let down by the whole experience. The staff were not trained to the standard expected of a venue which would be classed as "luxury". The building modifications were cheaply done. Sad

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank mrnlchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
I appreciate your recent post in regard to your stay in February. I would actively encourage you to contact me, either by email or phone at Billesley Manor where we can address your points in detail. I look forward to the opportunity.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had an excellent stay at this country house hotel. It is a magnificent old building. The staff were friendly, the food was excellent, the premium room was good. Lots of space, good en-suite and a comfortable bed, shame about the heavy mildew on the windows!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review in regard to your stay. I am pleased you had an excellent dinning experience and that you enjoyed your premium room. I have passed your comments in regard to the windows to our Head of Maintenance and Housekeeping, but we are addressing this.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,056 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,217 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,389 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing