We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Stanmore London
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We picked up an excellent deal on the internet and had a free upgrade following a complaint at another Puma hotel.
Very impressive building with lots of history, we had a friendly welcome and found our superior room overlooking the topiary garden. Fabulous view and a spacious and comfortable room nicely furnished.
Our deal included 3 course dinner and wine. The service was faultless and the food good and very well presented, but we felt the choice was a little limited and the portions ungenerous-but for the money...
I would like to think there were other options if dining a la carte.
The bed was comfortable if not the best we have slept in but no complaints.
Breakfast was good and varied, the fish options pleased my wife.
Slight problem at checkout in that we were charged for the complimentary upgrade, but this was removed without a problem when I pointed it out.
Overall the décor is a bit tatty, worn carpets and so on, but it must be a problem to cope with upkeep of such a large old building.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I have shared your comments with the team. Thank you for your kind comments in regard to your restaurant experience and the service delivery. I hope you will stay again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    645
    356
    214
    123
See reviews for
249
1,230
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed one night at the Billesley Manor Hotel and could not find fault with any aspect of our visit. The receptionist was polite and efficient, our room was large and clean (particularly the bathroom) and the evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant were delicious and served by friendly, knowledgeable staff. Add to this delightful grounds, free WiFi and a swimming pool – what more could you want?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richrun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your most positive review following your one night stay at Billesley Manor. I am so pleased that we provided all you would expect and that you had such an enjoyable stay, please come again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I booked a secret escape deal for my husbands birthday and shortly after the reviews began to worry me!
I am so glad that i took them with a pinch of salt as negative reviews could not have been more wrong!
We were ever so politely greeted at the reception, being heavily pregnant i as given the slightly longer yet safer route to our room with regards to stairs, very thoughtful!!
We stayed in room 8, a large four poster room with views of the gardens. Trying to relate to previous comments about the hotel and rooms being work.....i think people are over looking the fact that this is character and charm!? The room was filled with characterful furniture and fittings, wonky floor boards and door to modern, light and spotlessly clean bathroom!
We had a 3 course dinner in the restaurant and the food was lovely, service was fine, maybe the waiting staff could have been a little more....happy and chatty but we were there to enjoy each others company, not that of the waiting staff! Nothing seemed like to much bother and service was extremely efficient!
Breakfast was good, enough variety served as a buffet, could have hot or cold!
Again staff went the extra mile (again due to me being heavily pregnant) and arranged for us to have our afternoon tea an hour earlier than it is usually served as I was hungry haha
Pool facilities were clean, staff friendly! My husband enjoyed the sauna and steam room while i had a relaxing swim, water provided pool side, nice touch!
Over all, stay was faultless!
Thank you to everyone for making our pre baby get away perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your post and add a new picture, following your stay at Billesley Manor, I am so pleased you had such a lovely stay and I will certainly share your review with the team.

We all hope everything goes well with your new arrival, congratulations.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great old hotel, fantastic staff with superb customer service. great table de hote food in the evening and the spa was a great experience too, thank you. We will be returning and mainly because the staff were so good, they made our stay memorable with their 'positive' attitude towards customer service. And the grounds were beautiful. only one downside, was the noisy extractor fan in room 73 which was on a timer. if this could start a little later in the morning. other than that, highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thanks for your recent review in regard to your stay at Billesley Manor and especially your most positive comments about the team and the levels of service which you experienced during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked this hotel using a 2 night package which gave approx 50% discount. The hotel met all our expectations with great service and a very clean room. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the menu had a good selection of items. All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
As we had booked through a package I wasn't expecting the best room but I was pleasantly surprised when I seen the bed was massive and very comfy.

There were a few very minor things which could be improved on however nothing which impacted our stay in any way. We had a very relaxed and enjoyable time at Billesley Manor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHunter656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your post following your 2 night break at Billesley Manor. I am pleased to read that you had such a relaxed and enjoyable time. I very much hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were two couples staying Friday and Saturday nights on the Secret Escapes offer. Overall good value for money. The House is a stunning piece of period architecture and promised much on entry via the impressive drive. The welcome at reception was friendly, with Oliver being very helpful, explaining the layout of the Hotel very well.
Our room (34), a premium double in the main house, was large with windows overlooking the 100yr old topiary garden. That was a good view. Plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries in the modern bathroom and a very comfy bed. The room itself was super clean.
The main building including reception, bedroom and corridors are, in my opinion, on the cusp of requiring a refurbishment. I'm sure that the management team are aware of this. But none of this detracted from the excellent team who run the hotel and our enjoyment of the weekend. Sometimes its not about total perfection of the building but about the people who are there to look after you. So, others to be mentioned are, in the Restaurant, Freddie, the two Lorenzo's, Caroline and Laurenane. In reception an special mention for the ever smiling Ellie. These staff members made our stay special.

ps. I have forgotten to mention Phil the chef--that man can cook!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porscheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at Billesley Manor. I am pleased that you all had such a great time and were able to fully enjoy our setting and the fabulous Topiary gardens. Thank you for mentioning members of the team in regard to how well they looked after you. We all hope you will come back very soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Lovely location, impeccable service, food exceptional and the staff were as you would expect very professional, assured and friendly. Definitely a place we would consider going to again if we got another offer like this one from Amazon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your review of your Stay at Billesley Manor. I am pleased that you had such a great time and found your visit to be good value for money. We hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,920 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,480 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,412 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing