We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights excellent value and we stayed in a wonderful room. Food excellent and staff could not do enough to help you. Would recommend this hotel to everybody. Our room was room 5!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank stevie1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your recent most positive review following your stay at Billesley Manor. I am pleased that you felt your stay in room 5 represented good value for money, do come again soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We just enjoyed a wonderful stay here, the perfect country house retreat in a stunning setting with a topiary garden.
Steeped in history, the beautiful accomodation has lots of character, tastefully decorated bedrooms and wood panelled dining rooms. Excellent service and fabulous food.
We thoroughly enjoyed the spa which has a good size swimming pool, sauna & steam room plus a wealth of treatments on offer.
It was a weekend of total relaxation & a place that we highly recommended. Close to stratford on avon to do the tourist thing but delightful to return to the manor for tranquility after the tourist crowds. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRMichelle5799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I am pleased that you were able to experience excellent service and fabulous food during your relaxing weekend. I do hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The surroundings, food and service of your staff are superb. We were greeted by a yound man at reception (I am sorry we didn't get his name), nothing was too much trouble for him, always pleasant, professional and efficient.

The service in the restaurant that evening was wonderful and faultless, as was the breakfast staff, expecially the italian waiter with the 'muffin in the toaster story' he was wonderful.

The surroundings are just what we had hoped it would be and we will return again in the future.

Thank you so much for our lovely stay.x.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahaslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your great review following your stay at Billesley Manor, I am so glad you had such a great time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely location, impeccable service, food exceptional and the staff were as you would expect very professional, assured and friendly. Definitely a place we would consider going to again if we got another offer like this one from Amazon

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review following your stay and for adding some new photos. I am pleased that you felt Billesley Manor offered great value for money, in respect to service and quality.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our first visit to a Puma hotel and our second short break booked through Secret Escapes, neither of which we shall be repeating. On our first Secret Escape to a 4* hotel we thought we had just been unlucky and did not bother to write a review. However having just returned from a three night break at Billesley Manor we have come to the conclusion that if you have booked through Secret Escapes you get a poor room of the grade you have booked and the hotel staff treat you in an offhand manner.
After an efficient check in, we were shown to our premium room along a maze of corridors and up two flights of stairs. The room's window was small and high up and unless I stood on tiptoes I could not see the topiary garden below. The small window, dark beige walls and purple furnishings, together with the poor lighting gave an overall feeling of gloom. Both the bedroom and bathroom were clean, although the standard of loo roll, which was very thin and only measured 3.5 x 4 inches and the quality of the pillows left much to be desired in a 4* hotel.
The dinners in the restaurant were acceptable, but the menu choice did not include any poultry and only changed slightly each evening, so by our third evening we struggled to choose without resorting to the A la carte and incurring extra charges. The laugh of each evening was the 'Amuse Bouche' a shot glass of soup, the same two evenings running and one night was obviously the left overs from the night before. They certainly didn't tickle our mouths and we wonder how the restaurant has achieved 2 rosettes from the AA.
The breakfast buffet had a good choice, apart from only one type of eggs (fried) and would have been more enjoyable if the food and plates had been hot. I complained to a member of staff about this and all he said was sorry. The next morning there was no change. It would also have been nice to have had better quality paper napkins or fabric ones.
When we checked out, our money was taken for extra without a smile or 'We hope you have enjoyed your stay' The hotel is probably fine for conferences, but I wouldn't recommend it for a short break.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the second floor, unless you are packing your hiking boots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay as this is certainly not our aim. I am sorry not to have had the opportunity to meet with you to discuss your stay in more detail.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to do so.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We picked up an excellent deal on the internet and had a free upgrade following a complaint at another Puma hotel.
Very impressive building with lots of history, we had a friendly welcome and found our superior room overlooking the topiary garden. Fabulous view and a spacious and comfortable room nicely furnished.
Our deal included 3 course dinner and wine. The service was faultless and the food good and very well presented, but we felt the choice was a little limited and the portions ungenerous-but for the money...
I would like to think there were other options if dining a la carte.
The bed was comfortable if not the best we have slept in but no complaints.
Breakfast was good and varied, the fish options pleased my wife.
Slight problem at checkout in that we were charged for the complimentary upgrade, but this was removed without a problem when I pointed it out.
Overall the décor is a bit tatty, worn carpets and so on, but it must be a problem to cope with upkeep of such a large old building.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review, I have shared your comments with the team. Thank you for your kind comments in regard to your restaurant experience and the service delivery. I hope you will stay again soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed one night at the Billesley Manor Hotel and could not find fault with any aspect of our visit. The receptionist was polite and efficient, our room was large and clean (particularly the bathroom) and the evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant were delicious and served by friendly, knowledgeable staff. Add to this delightful grounds, free WiFi and a swimming pool – what more could you want?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richrun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your most positive review following your one night stay at Billesley Manor. I am so pleased that we provided all you would expect and that you had such an enjoyable stay, please come again soon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,902 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,503 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £60 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing