We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pampering”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel was perfect for my mother, with the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and beauty treatment. Quiet, clean and a very large beautifully decorated double room.
A little far from the town though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vanreenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for you most complimentary review following your stay with your Mother; I am glad that you have had such a nice time. I hope you will return to us again at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    627
    341
    210
    117
See reviews for
238
1,186
16
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
342 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at Billesley recently, taking advantage of one of their offers for a 2 night break, which included dinner on the first evening and afternoon tea on the second day.
The hotel is easy to find (just off a main road towards Stratford) and in a lovely quiet location, all views of the building and gardens en route to reception are very pleasing on the eye.. see pics. Sadly, my request for a particular view/room wasn't forwarded to the reception from central reservations, and the one given wasn't up to par. Thankfully, even though they were almost at capacity, a more suitable (more like the room requested originally) room was found by the duty manager.
Our dinner slot was quite late (9pm) but the food, service and quality were excellent, a drink was taken in the bar first (pricey, so be careful).. see pics. Our room overlooked the topiary garden and was generous, nicely decorated with a massive comfy bed.
I took advantage of the leisure club, by swimming before breakfast and the pool was perfect.
We took breakfast in the lovely restaurant but this is where the hotel fell down in our eyes. You don't expect to be standing by an electric toasting machine in a 4* establishment, all of the containers with the "hot" (warm) food kept needing to be filled (to small), so lots of hanging around or going back, no scramm
bled egg option (on the second day) as the kitchen "was too busy" and beans arriving at the end of breakfast.. quality not brilliant either. On a brighter note, our afternoon tea was lovely.
We had a lovely break, only spoilt by the hotel having so many offers on they were struggling a little and one or two "iffy" guests (feet on chairs and "language" in the bar area) neither dealt with by the staff, who are all quite young to be fair.
* Average cleanliness score based on the first room offered, very poor!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the topiary garden are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for posting some upto date images following your recent stay at Billesley Manor. I am sorry to note that your intial room was not as requested, however we were able to resolve this and the alternate had the great views of the fantastic grounds.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First impressions were good, reception staff were efficient & helpful. pros... Lovely old house in ideal location for visiting Stratford. Evening dinner included in the deal & was excellent. Good food & service. Afternoon tea was enjoyable. Nice pool & spa. Next cons. We booked a premium room & expected a premium room. We were in the 'attic', three flights of stairs & no lift!!! No porter so carrying our luggage up the stairs was no fun, especially with husband who had a bad back. First impressions rooms were nice, BUT on closer inspection room was a bit tired. We had to ask for our bathrobes& slippers, there was a place for a safe but that was missing & the pillows on the bed were so old & lumpy, I have thrown better away. Upon requesting a new pillow the staff at least did find one replacement. Next breakfast. After an excellent dinner we expected better. All self service & not appetising. Items were slow or not replaced until requested. On our second morning I had to ask for juice, bread, croissants & butter from the single waiter who was running around like a headless chicken. This hotel has potential and with few a tweaks it could warrant its four stars.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 37 to 42 as they are in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taichi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay. I am sorry that there were a couple of aspects of your visit which were not to your expectations on this occasion and I can assure you they will be shared with the team for improvements.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Set in a secluded location just outside Stratford on Avon my fiance and I were able to enjoy a luxurious break at Billesley. The staff were friendly and the accommodation was excellent. The food was superb and we had a really lovely weekend away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CatJam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your great review following your getaway at Billesley Manor. I am pleased you had such a lovely weekend and I hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We took my Mum & Dad away last weekend for two nights which included his birthday and Mothers Day. To say they (we) enjoyed it is not enough - a great weekend for all. Quote from them "What a wonderful weekend....great hotel, super room, super food, plus you ...what a package". Dinner on first night was really good served by attentive staff and breakfast each morning...well fill your boots with a full range from cereals and fruit through continental to the full english!! A relaxing and enjoyable weekend had by all as we felt we had been there days....we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks for your review following your weekend to remember and am so pleased that you chose Billesley Manor for this special occasion. It was great to read your Mum and Dads thoughts about the stay and I am glad you all had such a great time and that you will be back.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 1 night stay booked through amazon local after reading some of the reviews we were worried about what to expect especially as it was a 2 1/2 hour long drive with no stops and we are more used to staying in london hotels like the waldorf we stayed in room 5 in the main house and our room was large spacious and clean we also had a beautiful 4 poster bed which we were not expecting with views out over the lawn and fountain dinner was beautiful and our waitress a young lady was very attentive breakfast was also good and we saw the same waitress attentive as ever the only thing I can fault is that I would have liked to have had a mattress protector on the bed under the sheet as I would have slept even better than I did if this had been the case but all in all we had a lovely time celebrating our wedding anniversary well done to all the staff

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jayne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your super review and for choosing to stay at Billesley manor for your Wedding Anniversary. I am glad you had such a lovely time. The team do read the reviews which are posted and on their behalf thank you for your kind words.

I do hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visited Billesley Manor on Saturday 29th March with a few friends. We have been several times before and have always enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere. This time was disappointing! We managed to get a table outside as it was a beautiful day and it took quite a bit of time for anyone to come and clean the table which wasn't great. I had a glass of rose (which I had been looking forward to) only to taste it and find how warm it was. This wine had certainly not been in the fridge, Tasted like it had been sat out on the bar for a while. I asked for ice. Friends of ours joined us and we all ordered two sandwiches, two burgers (one vegetarian) and one pizza. We waited over an hour for the food which again wasn't great but luckily the sun was out. My friend and I got a bottle of rose to share, it was put in an ice bucket but upon tasting, this bottle was warm too so more ice needed. When you are paying over £20 a bottle, you expect it to be cold! The food eventually came out and what a disappointment. For a club sandwich which costs £12.00, my fiancé and I had half a piece of bacon and a little scrap of chicken. So much bread which wasn't good. The pizza looked like it had come from the freezer and for £14.00, it was a disgrace! The others said the burgers were good so something redeeming.
Gorgeous setting and a huge shame that this was the issue. At the prices you are charging, you must get it right!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your post following your visit for lunch, and am sorry to read that on this occasion you found the experience to be disappointing. I have ensured that the relevant departmental Managers are aware of your comments and are sorry that we did not have the opportunity to discuss with you while at the hotel and was not brought to the attention of the Duty Manager.

I do hope that you will return again and enjoy the wonderful surroundings that we have.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,037 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,181 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing