We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Brigg, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent surroundings and large historic hotel. Very interesting. Staff were very pleased to help. Leisure facilities with pool, sauna and steam room very well kept. Relaxing to use and not at all busy when we went. Thurs to Sat. One criticism would be the bar food and drinks prices. Pint of beer and large wine cost us nearly £12 and a chicken burger with chips and small salad was £13 each. Lovely place though. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your great review, rating and also your recommendation. I am very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Billesley Manor; I hope you will come again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    645
    356
    214
    123
See reviews for
249
1,230
16
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from 2 nights at this lovely hotel, beautiful grounds, Staff very pleasant and very polite and helpful. The food was superb. The room was comfortable and next to the spa which was ideal for us. The only thing I would say is that the hotel was far too warm which made it hard to sleep. Beds nice and comfortable,
Would not hesitate to return and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review following your recent chilled break at Billesley Manor. I am pleased that you had such a great time and that you will be retuning to us again in the future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel was perfect for my mother, with the swimming pool, sauna, steam room and beauty treatment. Quiet, clean and a very large beautifully decorated double room.
A little far from the town though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vanreenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for you most complimentary review following your stay with your Mother; I am glad that you have had such a nice time. I hope you will return to us again at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at Billesley recently, taking advantage of one of their offers for a 2 night break, which included dinner on the first evening and afternoon tea on the second day.
The hotel is easy to find (just off a main road towards Stratford) and in a lovely quiet location, all views of the building and gardens en route to reception are very pleasing on the eye.. see pics. Sadly, my request for a particular view/room wasn't forwarded to the reception from central reservations, and the one given wasn't up to par. Thankfully, even though they were almost at capacity, a more suitable (more like the room requested originally) room was found by the duty manager.
Our dinner slot was quite late (9pm) but the food, service and quality were excellent, a drink was taken in the bar first (pricey, so be careful).. see pics. Our room overlooked the topiary garden and was generous, nicely decorated with a massive comfy bed.
I took advantage of the leisure club, by swimming before breakfast and the pool was perfect.
We took breakfast in the lovely restaurant but this is where the hotel fell down in our eyes. You don't expect to be standing by an electric toasting machine in a 4* establishment, all of the containers with the "hot" (warm) food kept needing to be filled (to small), so lots of hanging around or going back, no scramm
bled egg option (on the second day) as the kitchen "was too busy" and beans arriving at the end of breakfast.. quality not brilliant either. On a brighter note, our afternoon tea was lovely.
We had a lovely break, only spoilt by the hotel having so many offers on they were struggling a little and one or two "iffy" guests (feet on chairs and "language" in the bar area) neither dealt with by the staff, who are all quite young to be fair.
* Average cleanliness score based on the first room offered, very poor!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the topiary garden are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for posting some upto date images following your recent stay at Billesley Manor. I am sorry to note that your intial room was not as requested, however we were able to resolve this and the alternate had the great views of the fantastic grounds.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First impressions were good, reception staff were efficient & helpful. pros... Lovely old house in ideal location for visiting Stratford. Evening dinner included in the deal & was excellent. Good food & service. Afternoon tea was enjoyable. Nice pool & spa. Next cons. We booked a premium room & expected a premium room. We were in the 'attic', three flights of stairs & no lift!!! No porter so carrying our luggage up the stairs was no fun, especially with husband who had a bad back. First impressions rooms were nice, BUT on closer inspection room was a bit tired. We had to ask for our bathrobes& slippers, there was a place for a safe but that was missing & the pillows on the bed were so old & lumpy, I have thrown better away. Upon requesting a new pillow the staff at least did find one replacement. Next breakfast. After an excellent dinner we expected better. All self service & not appetising. Items were slow or not replaced until requested. On our second morning I had to ask for juice, bread, croissants & butter from the single waiter who was running around like a headless chicken. This hotel has potential and with few a tweaks it could warrant its four stars.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 37 to 42 as they are in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taichi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay. I am sorry that there were a couple of aspects of your visit which were not to your expectations on this occasion and I can assure you they will be shared with the team for improvements.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Set in a secluded location just outside Stratford on Avon my fiance and I were able to enjoy a luxurious break at Billesley. The staff were friendly and the accommodation was excellent. The food was superb and we had a really lovely weekend away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CatJam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your great review following your getaway at Billesley Manor. I am pleased you had such a lovely weekend and I hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We took my Mum & Dad away last weekend for two nights which included his birthday and Mothers Day. To say they (we) enjoyed it is not enough - a great weekend for all. Quote from them "What a wonderful weekend....great hotel, super room, super food, plus you ...what a package". Dinner on first night was really good served by attentive staff and breakfast each morning...well fill your boots with a full range from cereals and fruit through continental to the full english!! A relaxing and enjoyable weekend had by all as we felt we had been there days....we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks for your review following your weekend to remember and am so pleased that you chose Billesley Manor for this special occasion. It was great to read your Mum and Dads thoughts about the stay and I am glad you all had such a great time and that you will be back.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,920 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,084 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,480 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,413 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing