We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billesley Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Stratford Upon Avon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings.
food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner and all of the staff were extremely helpful at all times. I was a little worried after reading some previous reviews but would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank squeels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your post, your great rating and your recommendation of Billesley Manor. I am most pleased that you had a great stay and found the team to be extremely helpful, do come back soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    594
    321
    202
    109
See reviews for
222
1,135
15
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Quiet, well run hotel. Ideal for touring around the area of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Good food well turned out staff.. WiFi was a bit of a problem, but we were there only 2 nights so it was not that important to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John N Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for your rating and review of your two night stay at Billesley Manor. We are in a great location which is ideal for exploring Stratford-upon-Avon and the surrounding area and all it has to offer. I hope you will return again in the near future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at Billesley for our first anniversary, a year after we got married at the hotel.

We were yet again very impressed by the welcoming staff and the exceptional service. The staff remembered our Wedding as if it was yesterday and made us feel like VIP's.

We very much enjoyed our anniversary and we could not recommend Billesley Manor highly enough!! Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Player
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Congratulations on your anniversary and am pleased that you returned to Billesley Manor to celebrate it. Thanks for your great review and hope you will continue to come back over the coming years.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a pleasant and relaxing stay, lovely building with beautiful grounds and topiary garden, yes, it's looking a bit tired inside but with a little TLC can be brought back to a high standard, we had a meal off the a la carte menu on the Saturday evening which tasted amazing, was well presented with good service, the breakfasts were also good, I don't get what people are complaining about on here but each to their own? we also had an afternoon tea on the Sunday, again, really lovely.
It's well worth upgrading to a superior room, we stayed in room 34, which we thought was the best position, listening to the birds directly overlooking the topiary garden, peaceful, spacious, with a modern bathroom (with 'proper' toilet roll, see previous reviews) and a lovely huge bed! If we were to go back we would ask for this room again.
Overall we had a really relaxing stay with good food and a lovely room but just feel a little spruce up is needed in some areas, a few members of staff could be a little friendlier and in need of a bit more training to bring it up to a better standard, this place has great potential, we would love to revisit, hopefully by then it could be given an 'excellent' rating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jasmine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your relaxing weekend break at Billesley Manor Hotel. We do have such wonderful grounds and views which are amazing. I do hope that next time you stay you would be happy to give us an excellent rating. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Booked as a treat for my husband. Despite being double charged for my room initially (which was resolved eventually and was Puma central reservations issue, not Billesley's to be fair) we arrived to a warmish welcome yet a poor room. we were assigned a room in the main house extension which was drab to say the least. Billsley, please make these rooms a little warmer! Some artwork or better lighting? Bathroom wad lovely however. Hotel in general, whilst a beautiful building, looked a bit worn out and tired. Spa, again, lovely but needed some love - lockers broken in changing room for example. Breakfast was awful, food all ran out and staff running round somewhat disorganised. Dinner however was lovely. Couldn't fault it. Overall, nice stay but little touches need to be made. Not a 4* to me during my stay but could easily be with a little more love.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. I am sorry for the areas which did not meet your expectations on this occasion; however I was most pleased to read that you had a great dinning experience.

I hope that you will return in the future and have a great stay.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Have just returned from a two night break at this hotel that my partner booked for my birthday. Having seen some of the bad reviews wanted to put my two pennies in as was a little concerned prior to arriving!
On arrival we were allocated Room 65 - as someone has previously said this was practically a room at a travelodge! We were on a special offer (room/dinner/breakfast/afternoon tea) but I did wonder if they stick everyone on these deals in a bad room? Anyway it didn't look like any of the standard rooms on the website in the room literature etc so my partner was dispatched to reception straight away. They switched us immediately without any problems at all to Room 5. This was in the main house, had lovely 4 posted bed etc and was much more what we had been expecting! Didn't smell of smoke at all in my opinion but maybe no one had been smoking during our stay..?
Food was all lovely, Spa was good but a hot tub would be nice and service was great. For the price we paid and what we got we were very happy.
I agree with every single reviewer who has mentioned the terrible loo paper.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 65 unless you want a travelodge style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your two night stay at Billesley Manor to celebrate your birthday. I am most pleased that we were able to offer an upgrade on this occasion and you were able to really enjoy your experience.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed there in January

To be fair the place could be excellent and some of the staff was friendly.

However, the room we stayed in was very poor.

On the up side, our evening meal was excellent.

On leaving, despite three members of staff being stood round the reception desk we was left struggling through the door with our bags, we didn't get so much of a

"Did you enjoy your stay"

"Thank you"

The place looks good on the website, I for one would not return there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay in January and that it was not brought to our attention sooner. I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your stay in more detail; I hope to have the opportunity to talk to you soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute and Superbreak UK so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing