We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beautiful hotel set in fantastic gardens. Staff not very efficient though. Visited for a hen weekend and we were allocated a special room for our group which was a really good idea. There was also another hen "do" going on as well as a 50th birthday and an 80th celebration but none of the groups encroached on thee others space. Rooms were good but my shower was not working properly, (thermostat) either boiling hot or cold.
Main complaint was the staff. Our vegetarian was given a bowl of soup for her starter having identified herself as a "veggi" 5 minutes later staff were asking where the vegetarian was. She told them 3 times that she had already started to eat from the soup but they whipped it from under her nose and gave it to another guest (really?) Check out was a slow process and the receptionist did not bother to mention that we needed a code to exit the car park-a big frustration when we were ready to leave

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay where you were attending a hen weekend. I am sorry that you had cause to mention some deficiencies in the levels of service you experienced on this occasion. Please do contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss in more detail.
I look forward to talking with you soon.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    626
    340
    210
    117
See reviews for
237
1,186
16
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I visited on a hen do in a group of six. We had spa packages.

When we arrived there was a wedding party checking in and some issues with room bookings. We swapped our room to help out and were glad we did! Room 62 is a beautiful double not to be missed!

The hotel itself is gorgeous and really well maintained in its grounds. Fabulous gardens and good food.

My only criticism was the spa area didn't have enough loungers. There 6 and about 30 guests. Luckily the weather was beautiful so we sat outside and enjoyed afternoon tea in the gardens!

Massage was fabulous too!

Recommended even though the spa reviews worried me before we arrived but in my opinion it was perfectly acceptable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank soapybubbles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Billesley Manor. I am pleased to read that you had a good time and your positive comments in regard to your Spa experience, our setting and dining. Thank you for your recommendation.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Well the use of yet another groupon voucher lead us to the Billesley Manor Hotel. What a fabulous looking building, the staff so friendly. My only gripe is that the changing rooms were so tiny and disjointed and the gym area was full......not with people but equipment. Way to much, looked cramped and uninviting. The yoga room, smelt musty as though rarely used. However on the plus side - the therapist Janet was excellent, so friendly without being to over the top. The young man in the bar was pleasant, the food excellent and it all looked extremely clean. Well done. Note to any management reading this please buy a few more loungers for by your pool and you would of nailed the whole day and maybe of had two new members....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your Spa day at Billelsey Manor. I am pleased that you had a great experience; I will ensure your review is shared with the team at the spa. I do hope that you will return again in the near future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have just stayed here and agree with many of the other reviewers: the hotel is beautifully located, with gorgeous grounds and looks superb upon arrival . However, as with a number of Puma hotels, it desperately requires a large injection of cash to renovate and update décor and facilities. We found again, that a number of staff were helpful, pleasant and eager to do their best and it is not their fault that the hotel does look so tired; worn and mismatching carpets are not what a 4* hotel should be displaying. We were upgraded, free of charge ( as we are part of the Puma Leisurebreak "Club") to a very nice room (no. 33, in the main building) but there was no shower other than a rather primitive fixed attachment over the bath; it may be trivial, but I do expect a little better for this grade of hotel. How is a woman to wash her hair?? the answer is with difficulty, discomfort and many cursings! Additionally, the rooms are reached via a veritable warren of corridors and somewhat tortuous stairs resembling nothing so much as the servants quarters! The food was, as others have noted, mixed: the evening meals were very nouvelle in portion size and I am not sure it is acceptable that any real vegetable has to be separately paid for. Breakfast was adequate and we had no trouble with it running out as I had read about.
Overall, I think Puma have some great basics, in that they have a chain of hotels in lovely settings and they do appear to employ some really good people BUT, to maintain the standards for which they are charging, they do need to spend large sums of money. We will think twice before booking another Puma stay.

Room Tip: Room 33 overlooked the topiary garden ( beautiful) ; very comfortable bed BUT shower facilities very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisienne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay. I have shared this with the team here at the hotel and appreciate your constructive comments.

I very much hope that you will return again in the future as we do have such a great setting in such super grounds.
Kind regards
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel was not what we had been led to expect from web site ,very tired after first night problem so rested the next day instead of going out .Would not recommend or stay there again ,a past employee of the hotel how we met agreed with our comment and said that see left because of bad management

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bearstedviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Following your post, I am sorry that I was not given the opportunity to meet with you personally while at the hotel to discuss your stay in detail. I would certainly encourage you to contact me directly at the hotel.

I look forward to talking to you in the near future.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel was fantastic - booked through Secret Escapes and got dinner and afternoon tea included in the stay. Food in the restaurant was spectacular and the staff in the restaurant were very helpful and attentive. Room was comfortable and spacious.
Thoroughly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HWHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay ay Billesley Manor. I am so pleased you had such a fantastic time. It is great to get such positive feedback in regard to your room and your restaurant experience.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Overall experience has left us both disappointed and cheated. The hotel should be better it does not deserve four stars.
The room (66) is not a room in the main hotel but within the "travel lodge" section. the rooms are of a standard one would expect from a chain, the difference is the chains would charge a third of the price. aside from the aforementioned bathroom issues the duvet cover on the bed had staining and marks on it, the bedroom window did not close properly and we had road noise all night. the walls are so thin that you can clearly hear talking in adjacent rooms. There are no storage facilities in the room, neither drawers or a wardrobe, only hanging space. The carpets and soft furnishings in our room are both worn and dirty.
The general appearance of the hotel is one of being very tired. worn and dirty carpets and wall coverings throughout. The area around the bar is shameful, upon ordering drinks I noticed the bar area and bottles that were being served from were dusty and dirty. The glasses we drank from were covered in finger marks. We ordered a bar meal, the bill with the drinks was £40 for two burgers and two drinks, for this price I would have expected good food and service we received neither, our order was mixed up, the buns were dry and the condiments took so long to arrive that we had eaten most of the food by their arrival, the chips however were very tasty indeed.
Our main meal on the Saturday was at best adequate, we were expecting a dining experience not a quick in and out. The chicken was ok but only ok, none of the starters took our fancy so we passed on a starter. The sweet was in fact horrible. I described it as a school dinner, microwaved apple pie a solid lump of cream and some apple sauce served on a disgusting greasy plate littered with fingerprints. I had to eat my main course with a bent knife.
The breakfast on Saturday was about a travelodge standard certainly not four star.The tea pot was stained, marked and dirty. the toaster was so full of crumbs that it smoked when used which is sad as it failed to toast the bread on both sides. We booked via buy a gift as this was a Christmas gift and as such was fixed, we could not change it nor cancel it, we would have done either if we could, I would have asked for a refund but as the hotel and food suggests you are not interested in customer service. The voucher included an afternoon tea, which we were going to have tomorrow (Sunday) but looking at the numerous comments on trip advisor we are forgoing and checking out directly after breakfast to go home. not only we will not return to this hotel we will actively discourage everyone we know or come into contact with from spending their money in a Puma hotel.
If the hotel was cheaper most of the above could be excused, sadly the value for money here is just terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit and that I was unable to discuss your points directly with you. The room in which you stayed is located within one of our barn conversions and are done in a contemporary style and I am sorry they were not to your liking.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me please do not hesitate in contacting me at the hotel.

Kind regards

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,846 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
4.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Property: Billesley Manor Hotel
Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing