We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff were very efficient and helpful, the Saturday night evening meal in their restaurant was wonderful, BUT, the hotel was let down on numerous points, Firstly there was an awful smell of drains, our bedroom was in one of the barns and it had no character, could have been staying in a premier inn if it weren't for the price! not what I expected when you see the photos on their website. My biggest disappointment was the breakfast, it certainly is not 4 star quality the cooked breakfast was revolting,either over cooked, under cooked or very salty. There was very little choice all round, no pastries, no yoghurts, only tinned fruit. I have noticed previous reviews on here giving similar reviews with regards the breakfast, so think its about time something was done about it. So much potential but not quite there !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay. I certainly accept your constructive criticism in regard to breakfast. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your dinner in the restaurant.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

A beautiful building and grounds hugely let down by the shabby interiors, cost cutting on quality and smelly drains. We were greeted by a group of smokers by the main entrance before entering the tired looking main reception, which is furnished like a run down care home. The room was a good size but the curtains had holes in, the walls were dirty and little things were not done (toilet paper not refilled etc). The breakfast was a little chaotic and a four star hotel should not offer a self service cooked breakfast - the food was not fresh and the bacon was revolting. Overall, a disappointing stay given the price and the impressive photos on the website. Needs some tlc and investment!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGRBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review following your stay. I am sorry that there were aspects of this visit which disappointed. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay in more detail. I look forward to talking to you soon.
Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. Our upgraded room overlooked the stunning 100 year old topiary garden. It was a large, beautifully appointed room with opening windows overlooking the garden. Breakfast was very good. We will definitely be staying here again and would always upgrade our room for the view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emberton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your great review following your second visit. We are most fortunate to have such great well maintained grounds and gardens, which you were able to enjoy from your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our 3rd visit but I'm afraid we will not be returning again in the near future. We last stayed here July 2013 when the dinner was superlative and the breakfast gave a wonderful choice and was cooked to order. Dinner not of same standard, half the main courses require you to pay a supplement on top of an expensive meal anyway. Couldn't understand what previous reviewers were talking about when they criticised the breakfast, now we understand after visiting again ourselves. Certainly don't feel your restaurant warrants 2 AA rosettes any more. What has happened to fresh bread at breakfast. All that was on offer was bread for toast, no yogurts, no choice of cooked breakfast other than what was out drying under hot lamps. Not impressed at all this time round sorry to say. Disappointing to see what was one of our favourite Hotels going downhill this way. Other than the premium room we had which was wonderful I can't find anything good to say other than that most of the staff were friendly and helpful but your food won't be tempting us back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Ray2Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review and I am really sorry that I did not have the opportunity to meet you while you were staying to enable us to discuss your feedback. Please may I encourage you to contact me directly.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked premier (room 21) for one nights B & B (£183) expecting a 'nice' room. The room was on ground floor & long walk from reception, ( I had previously told them I had mobility problems). It was a warm evening, the bedroom had no air-con and was baking hot, so we opened the window which overlooked a walkway leading into the hotel and was also adjacent to the kitchen. People constantly walked past our room and looked in, so you couldn't have privacy at all as the curtain blew open as we tried to get a breeze. To make matters worse, the kitchen window was also open (understandably in the heat but air-con would solve the problem) so we heard plates crashing, loud voices, & pungent SMELL of cooking! We had a horrendous night with no sleep due to the noise etc. In the morning we went for breakfast which looked ok only to find that several slices of bread I put into toaster was mouldy. All of the problems were reported to reception and they said they would forward on our comments. Also filled in the on line survey I received from Hotel 2 days later, telling them about the terrible stay at their Hotel. Received a rapid reply from Jason offering a free stay... I WOULD NEVER, EVER STAY THERE AGAIN and I suggest that you don't either!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DB7GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It is a lovely hotel and we really enjoyed the piece and tranquility and I would return.
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and the staff were at all times friendly and attentive even though they were busy as there were a few parties in.
The touches like picnic rugs and lanterns were lovely additions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your great review of Billesley Manor following your romantic weekend with us. I am pleased that you had a relaxing weekend and that you found the team members friendly and attentive.
I very much hope you will return to us again in the future.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We booked this hotel based on a very nice picture on their website. We arrived around 11:30 PM. We were greeted by a well humored receptionist that took us and the other couple traveling with us to two distant rooms across each other (65 and 72) after going up and down several stairs with our luggage we finally arrived at a tiny, worn out and the worst room I have ever been. Linens, pillows were terrible as well. Only one night stand, windows were at 7 feet height meeting the roof top. On this trip driving through the UK we were not expecting our usual luxury hotels but we were not prepared for that.
We were tired due the late drive from Heathrow also after a late flight so, the only option was to stay there and eat a sandwich from a very few items menu prepared by the other only employee in the hotel.
The breakfast was ok the next morning with nice staff. We checked out in the morning and asked for the luggage to be picked up. For our surprise a little Asian lady showed up carrying one by one without a trolley 2 heavy suit cases and 2 carry on. She was very thanked for my twenty pound tip plus the other tip from the other couple but we really felt embarrassed for her taking all that weight up and down what seemed to us the night before countless stairs, so we took the bags to the car ourselves.
It surely ruined our night.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 47carlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your post and I am sorry that you were disappointed in the rooms that were allocated to you. These were located in the newer part of the building and are much more modern and contemporary.

I hope that you enjoy the remainder of your trip.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £55 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing