We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, dining and grounds, spa not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked a Groupon spa deal and again, after reading reviews on here was slightly dubious but every experience seems to be different for everyone!
On arrival at the spa it seemed a bit disorganised and not very professional, the beauticians weren't as experienced as they should have been but the pool area was lovely, there were no children in the pool at the time (it wouldn't bother me but I know some people like peace and quiet) and we moved to the bar for lunch and sat outside in the beautiful weather. The kitchen were busy with preparing food for a party but the waitress who served us was very kind and helpful. Food was good but expensive and not healthy enough for a spa day really! Afternoon tea looked gorgeous though!
Hotel and grounds are lovely so I really think your experience depends on your expectations of the spa and which staff are working! We would try again though...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your spa day. I am pleased that overall your experience was a positive one and I have shared your feedback to my Beauty Manager in regard to your welcome. I hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Billesley Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,212 - 1,218 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise during the few days between our wedding and honeymoon. Unfortunately as lovely as the hotel looks it was a nightmare stay. We arrived and stayed in a cottage outside the hotel which was beautiful however the strong smell of sewage was a definite put off, when we raised this nothing was done and they advised has we could not be moved by an extremely rude lady on reception. The next day the smell was worse resulting in us complaining, they moved us to a different room which annoyed me more as the rude receptionist before had said this could not be done!! The room was OK but not as nice as the previous despite being an upgraded room. The second day we had morning booster massages booked in, 15 minutes later mine was done not exactly what you expect for the price.

Best advice would be do not stay here and do not pay for the Spa!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jasmine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

I am sorry that you found your stay disappointing; please may I encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your visit in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Two night stay bought by my parents for Christmas pressie from buy a gift. Decided to use the experience for our 29th Wedding Anniversary and after much consideration my husband telephoned the hotel on 5th February to book and upgrade to a premium room which we were assured would be in the manor house overlooking the gardens. On arrival checked in to be told our room was in another building away from the main house due to a wedding. I asked why we were not consulted and did not really get an acceptable reply. Offered no compensation except that we would not be charged for the upgrade that we actually did not have? so asked what they would do and was told they would provide a bottle of champagne at dinner. Smelly drains just outside the main entrance to the rooms in the barn. Dinner was very nice, however met another couple who had only booked the previous Tuesday and had a premium room in the main hotel overlooking the gardens after we had been told none were available!!! Drinks were expensive, Breakfast was very poor. Guests were having to wait to be seated due to the hotel being full. No butter for the toast, had to ask for more eggs, no scrambled egg ever appeared even after asking. Rest of breakfast went cold while waiting for stock to be renewed. Requested a bucket of ice and was told one would be brought over to the room however after approx 45 minutes husband went and fetched one himself, receptionist had forgotten! Some areas of the hotel appeared tired and in need of updating. Ashtrays on the tables on terrace overflowing with cigarette ends and not emptied, glasses and bottles left in Topiary garden which certainly needed a gardener to tend. Will not be returning as felt the wedding party took priority on what should have been a celebratory weekend for my husband and myself. Very disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for one nights bed and breakfast.Also had the dinner which was great with good service.Well appointed rooms and great facilities.The grounds are immaculate and beautifull and creates an almost serene atmosphere.recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markyoolala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for one night on the SPARKLE package. Lovely welcome at reception and a free upgrade. The room was excellent, but due to the warm weather, and being at the top of the building, is was too hot. Unfortunately there were no fans available, Dinner was first class and the staff were great too. Will definitely go back again

Room Tip: Become a Leisurebreak member the next time you visit a Puma Hotel. Free upgrade (if available) and f...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianfirth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your great rating and your review following your recent stay at Billesley Manor. I am pleased you enjoyed your Sparkle break and that you found the team to be great. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just visited Billesley Manor for a family break and had a fantastic stay. Check in was swift and even though we arrived early our room was ready. The room was very spacious for my wife and I and our two children - very clean, with a great view(room 14). Our party of 13 were booked in for two nights dinner bead and breakfast and due to our group size we had our evening meals(and breakfast) in a separate dining room, which was fabulous with our own waiter - Lorenzo, who was excellent, very friendly, polite and service was very quick. Food was excellent too.
We also used the leisure facilities which were great - nice pool and small but fairly well equipped gym.
We all enjoyed our stay immensely and will be returning next year off our annual get together.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your recent post and your great rating following your family break at Billesley Manor. I am so pleased you had such a good time and that you felt you were well looked after by the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next year for your get together.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely stay here with friends. The room was lovely (bed huge) and the food was good. Many of the corridors etc. are pokey and in need of some attention which spoils the overall effect.
Fantastic location and lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay including your room and dinning experience. Billesley is most fortunate to be set in great grounds and within such a short distance from the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon.

I hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,508 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,803 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £87 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing