We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Billesley Manor Hotel
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed overnight here on a deal from Secret Escapes (three course dinner with complimentary wine, bed and breakfast) which was such good value for money! When we arrived we decided to upgrade our room which I would recommend doing as the views over the gardens were beautiful.. Room 30 was absolutely lovely I couldn't fault it, very clean, huge bed, great views. Dinner was delicious with excellent service from the staff. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, room 30 was lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesssharrisxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your really great review following your short break at Billesley Manor. I am pleased that your entire stay was successful and that you felt it was value to upgrade your room.

I hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards


Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,137)
There are newer reviews for Billesley Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on an amazon local deal (3 course dinner, bed and breakfast) which was excellent value.
Dinner choice was very good and good standard was surprisingly excellent.
The location of the hotel is lovely and there are many walking treks available.
The spa was average- nothing spectacular- just practical and small.
Only annoying thing was we had a late checkout booked in advance, however housekeeping kept knocking on the door to see if we have left yet.

Room was congested, however clean.

Overall a good experience!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sudoku2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at Billelsey Manor. I am sorry that you were disturbed on the morning of your departure and have passed your comments on to the relevant department.

We are certainly most fortunate to have such a fantastic setting in such a great location and an ideal base for visiting Stratford-upon-Avon.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a 2 night break , which was good value for money . Lovely setting, good food . Although we were not happy with the room we were allocated , staff were quick to make amends and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine and given a super room . I have given excellent for rooms but just avoid room 2.!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank angela18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review after your recent stay. I am pleased we were able to offer an alternative room on this occasion and that this was able to meet your expectations. You were then able to relax and enjoy the break and all that Billesley had to offer.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed three nights in this delightful hotel .We have stayed at several of this group ,now under another name again.We rate this in the top three.Our room was in an annexe and perfectly okay except for the lighting.Very difficult to shave etc in the bathroom and to see to read in the bedroom.Excellent food for dinner in the lovely Stuart restaurant with excellent service.Breakfast was more of a free for all in the cramped bar area but food of a reasonable standard,but not everyone was happy.A fan in the bedroom was a godsend as it was so hot .Good parking.

Room Tip: No lifts so ground floor or annex rooms okay.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your great review following another stay and we are glad we are in your top three. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A lovely place to stay. We stayed Sunday Monday and had evening meal and breakfast. The evening meal had a very good choice on the menu was very well presented.
The breakfast was completely different. No one seemed in control. I along with others waited firstly for glasses, then fruit juice, then we waited for plates, then we waited for bacon and then we waited for bread it was very poorly organised which was a real shame and ruined a lovely break.

Room Tip: Choose a room which overlooks the gardens
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and the hotel as a whole. I am sorry that you found our breakfast service not to standard on this occasion and can assure you we are working to improve.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Where to start, or indeed conclude.
A strange hotel indeed. The approach to the hotel is as others have commented a welcome sight and the grounds are extremely pleasant.
Receptionists polite and attentive, able to answer any question posed and were polite and suitably attired.
The bedroom was basic and tired in places. As my wife pointed out, it just needed a little bit of TLC and elbow grease with a cleaning cloth to make huge improvements. Woodwork worn and chipped in places, some walls superficially grubby but should be easily rectified. In essence the room is nothing special, unfortunately no air conditioning (more of which later) and no room safe. Bed comfortable.
Spa is clean and very pleasant. However, if you want peace and quiet, don't use it between 2 and 5pm when it is invaded by children having loud fun.
Other than the receptionists, the staff are mixed bag, some smart and smiling, others scruffy with poor fitting work clothes and grumpy as hell.
Once again, looking around at the furnishings and surrounds, more attention is required to the general upkeep and cleaning.
Breakfast is fairly average, certainly nothing to write home about.
The biggest issue we had was the heat in the bedroom - it was stifling, not only during the day but throughout the night. Fortunately the day/night we stayed was one of the cooler ones compared to the weather temperatures for the past two weeks or so, but even so, room temperature was unbearable. We slept, or tried to, with all the windows wide open to try and lower the temperature, which was a risk as we were on the ground floor with people (believed staff) passing immediately by.
The bottom line is that the hotel could be so much better with little effort if more attention was made by housekeeping, and definitely if the management placed fans for guests in the rooms (in the absence of installing air conditioning). Overall very average, leaning towards poor. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Unless you like baking and sweating at night, look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay, I appreciate your feedback in all areas and the varied comments about the stay. I can assure you that we do take note and work towards improvements. Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning in our guest rooms, and during the very hot spell we have just encountered, there was very little we were able to do apart from supply fans upon request. I am sorry I was unable to discuss your stay with you while at the hotel, however please feel free to contact me should you wish.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a place for a wedding!

My room was beautifully finished and overlooked the box-hedged gardens, so I was already impressed before the wedding had begun. The prices of the bar were not exactly competitive but it's what one would expect from a place such as this. When it came to meals, the food didn't last long on the plates. This was partly because there wasn't much of it and partly becasue it was delicious. Throughout my stay, each member of staff was approachable and helpful and they gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble for them.

The wedding itself was amazing from the appearance and setup of the rooms through to the wooden interior of the manor. It did help that the bride and groom looked amazing.

The price of the room and the quality of my dancing aside, everything else was as near-perfect as it could be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMisterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your attendance at a wedding at the hotel. I am pleased that all had such a good time and I am sure your dancing was not as bad as you thought.

Kind regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,973 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,102 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,342 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,809 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £78 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing