We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I took my girlfriend for a weekend in Stratford Upon Avon and chose this hotel based on reviews. It was lovely. You can certainly feel the age of the building as you walk around. It is a little old and creaky in places, but it adds to the authenticity of the place. The staff were friendly enough and check in was easy. The room was en suite and although a little cold and draughty ou just have to take in the age of the building.

My girlfriend didn't get a great nights sleep as the bed was a little bouncy and lumpy, yet hard. The bedding was a little heavy and slightly dusty, but for me I loved the experience. She would give a different review than me. I enjoyed myself and love visiting Stratford.

We went for a lovely meal at my favourite restaurant in the centre of town and then did the ghost walk.

A lovely weekend and no complaints from me. A lovely hotel and a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fillyerboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    405
    110
    45
    17
See reviews for
190
951
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Honestly the hotel was gorgeous and the staff really friendly. service in the restaurant was super friendly as well but a bit slow. Wasnt a problem as we simply ordered at the bar ourselves. The location is perfect, the bathroom in the room was magnificent and the bed super comfy. little bit of noise from the hallways throughout the night but nothing bad.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed this week for 3 nights. Had 3 english breakfasts which were inconsistent. 2 out of the 3 days the sausages were raw in the middle. Milk had hair in it. No white sugar only brown, no napkin on one of the days, Fried egg was runny on the top (white). Half a mushroom one day, A full one on the next. I gave up complaining as I was tired of it and this is a £10.95 breakfast if paying separate.

Like mentioned before not keen on the frosted glass door to bathroom in the room especially as it had no lock on it.

Other than that the staff were very nice apart from one of them swearing loudly outside to other customers (think they were friends) and jumping up and down in the bar at last orders shouting is it nearly time for her rose wine (She wasn't even working the bar) Now I'm perfectly ok with this behaviour, however this isn't 4 star really is it.

The room was very clean and nicely presented, the only problem was the air con wasn't very good and had a mind of it's own.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PP763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Spent the day in Stratford upon Avon and decided to book a room for the night at the White Swan Hotel which is situated in the centre of town close to all ammenities and attractions. Unfortunately there is no parking at the hotel but a public car park is available which is a short 5 minute walk away (this costs an extra £8 and covered the parking until midday the following morning). Paid £110 for a standard double room but when we entered the room it had not been cleaned from the previous night. We returned to the reception and explained what we had found, the staff at reception looked a little surprised and embarrassed but immediately offered to upgrade our room with no extra cost which was a nice touch.
The room was clean and modern with a roll top bath (my wife loved this) and a large walk in shower in the en-suite, but the double bed was smaller than the standard room. A modern flat screen TV with the usual freeview channels plus free wifi, tea/coffee making facilities but you had to move the kettle to the table near a socket, there was no milk so my wife returned to reception and was given a small bottle of fresh milk which was supposed to be issued to us at check-in.
We chose not to eat at the hotel in the evening so i cannot comment on the standard of the food, as we decided to eat at the indian restaurant a few doors down the road which i would recommend.
We had a couple of drinks in the bar before we left for the indian which cost just over a fiver for a a round of a pint of London Pride plus a half of lager and lime.
We sat in the small room opposite the bar which had a comfortable sofa and chairs, the room also had a also a route to the outside smoking area which has tables and chairs but only one table has an umbrella with heaters. The bar areas has relaxed pop music playing quietly in the background, the barstaff and waitresses were very friendly and helpful.
The following morning we sat down to breakfast, you get a wide choice including a full english with a choice of scrambled, poached or fried eggs plus cereals, pastries, four different fruit juices and you can also have eggs benedict, boiled eggs with soldiers plus other options including toasted porridge.
I had two rashers of bacon (a little overdone), one sausage (a herbie cumberland), black pudding, mushrooms (proper ones not buttons), one half of fried tomato, baked beans and scrambled eggs (i prefer my scrambled eggs a bit less soggy) all served alongside brown or white toast and butter. I enjoyed my breakfast but my wife (who is a little more fussy than me) sent her baked beans (served in a separate pot) back because they were not hot enough, when the very helpfull waitress returned, the beans were still not hot enough but my wife decided not to complain about them and just didnt eat them.
When we checked out we were asked if we had a pleasant stay, which all in all i would say we did. I wouldnt say the hotel was excellent (although i would say the staff were excellent) but i would definately recommend others to stay here, and we would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just returned from 1 night at the Swan! Our room has a recommended tarriff of£200! You would not want to pay this. Although an "executive" room plenty of niggles. Very small wardrobes, no socket for kettle by beverage making facilities, view of roof & creaking floor boards. Bathroom with broken or removed shelf, so not enough space for toiletries etc! Glazed double doors into bathroom, strange. No parking whatsoever owned by the hotel, only nearby public carpark! Breakfast good but cappuccino coffee refused point blank, even with gaggia machine 2mtrs. away! Cereals, juices & fruit ect. 4 rooms away. Display fridge seemed warm with large fly hovering about! The customary 1 bulb out on the chandelier of course. All staff very helpful & efficient, breakfast waiter excepted.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This is an excellent Hotel, first class rooms, breakfast excellent - staff ca not do more for you. Close to centre and good spot for touring the area.

Room Tip: Go for executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsand186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here for one night at the weekend and everything about this hotel is first class. The rooms are to furnished to a very high boutique standard.....the location is central whilst peaceful.....the price is reasonable......breakfast is excellent and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful.
Would certainly recommend this hotel for either a leisure or business break.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing