We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it - excellent for business and tourists too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go for it - excellent for business and tourists too”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have just put two americans into the White Swan on a business trip for a week. I am local to the area and, before it closed for a complete refurbishment last year, it was an interesting old (very old) place but that was it. Now - excellent. The many small rooms that make up the pub/restaurant are perfect for chatting and being comfortable, though tables could be commandeered for mini-meetings without imposing on those staying for leisure. Breakfasts were excellent with interesting choices, and the staff pleasant and helpful. We were able to borrow a meeting room at very short notice when needed,
The place is immaculate and beautiful in the best boutique hotel style. the very central location worried me, and I guess the front facing rooms could occasionally be noisy from local revellers in the street, but we had no problems there, and this is hardly a busy city.
Quibble - why can't people park behind the hotel but instead have to use a car park over the street? Parking is, incidentally, an additional cost anyway.
The whole thing is not cheap (we negotiated on price - suggest you do the same) but I would say is currently at a perfect stage to visit - all brand new and perfect but, after 3-4 months in operation, any initial wrinkles have been smoothed out and the service and facilities are all excellent

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    465
    122
    47
    20
See reviews for
234
1,106
35
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Spent a Sunday night at hotel and had planned to stay two nights. Nice day in Stratford. However got back to hotel at 6.00pm to find maids running around trying to get rooms finished stepping over laundry and cleaning items we eventually found our room ( very confusing layout).

Had two rounds of drink and bar person forgot the second drink...twice!

Room a bit claustrophobic (even the more expensive one), but was woken up at 1.00am by the person arriving in room above deciding to walk the length of the room slamming draws for about 40 mins. Not very efficient soundproofing.

After that and a strange response at breakfast decided to call it a day and not stay the second night.

Won’t be back

Service poor
Rooms good
Location excellent
Value poor

Would have to book the most expensive room to get the space and comfort expected.

Room Tip: would have to book the most expensive room to get space and comfort needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed for one night on the 18th August. We were happy to leave our luggage in reception until the room was ready at 3 and it was taken up for us. Although the overnight car park is a 3 - 4 minute walk away there is a short stay car park that is closer where you can pull up to drop things off. The room was lovely - lots of character and an enormous bathroom with a double shower, and the hotel also provided a travel cot which was great.
The only slight downside was breakfast on Sunday which felt a little hectic and disorganised, and fell down on a couple of small details such as the cafetieres not working particularly well (the first one leaked coffee grounds, as did the replacement) and my full english breakfast was missing its sausage! However this was very speedily rectified.
All in all a very pleasant stay and I would recommend it to others, plus it has a great location in stratford - less than a 5 minute walk from the centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richthevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Booked a night here in character room to celebrate my wedding anniversary.

Arrived early, hotel let us leave coats and bags in reception whilst we went for walk to pass time.
Car park good 5min walk so once we checked in had to walk back to car park to put pass in car. Ideally there should be some kind of system which allows you to park up in car park without having to go back.

Checked in promptly - had ordered ice bucked with drinks which wasnt in room when arrived as they wanted them to be chilled, was delivered to room shortly after arrival. No bottle opener, but they did send a member of bar staff up with one but we couldnt keep it.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean and even though the room was positioned on front of hotel the windows are double glazed it wasnt too noisy like previous reviews i have read.

We had evening meal in restaurant which was superb! Food was presented beautifully and tasted great too. Staff were very attentive and made the experience even more special.

Breakfast was also great, same service again.

Room Tip: If your after a room for that special occasion def book macbeth room you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadburygirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

we arrived before check in time, so we were happy to leave our luggage with reception, whilst we had a browse around stratford, you are not able to park at the hotel, although you can drop your luggage off, which is advisable as its a 5 miniute walk from the carpark, and if you are carrying luggage can seem longer. when we arrived back all our luggage was in our room ready for us,
the hotel is impecably clean amd the rooms are gorgeous, with all the right touches,the bathroom is luxurious. one minus though is the wardrobe is very small, and if you were staying as a couple for a few days there would not be enough room for then two days clothing.
we had a query about the air con and almost straight away a gentleman arrived to show us how it works. and then he rang us to check we were happy with it.10 min later.
this was a birthday treat from my husband and although we live not far from stratford, we decided to stay as we had theatre tickets, and have always said we would stay there at some time, we were certainly not at all dissapointed., the staff are attentive and friendly, and the manager who was on during our stay, couldnt have been more helpfull.breakfast was superb with the highest quality food and well cooked and presented, delicious. the staff at breakfast were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. we will be returning again very soon. excellent .

Room Tip: we had 120 and everything was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased upon arrival at our chosen hotel which we booked based on previous of trip advisor reviews. the hotel was gorgeous, very oldy worldy, staff were super pleasant, our room was stunning, very clean, gorgeous bathroom.
The only thing that my car loving hubby didn't like was that the car park was a walk away from the hotel, but I personally wouldnt let that minor detail put me off! You won't be disappointed if u stay at the white swan x

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Treacle348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed just the one night which was a shame as we would loved to have stayed longer.

Reception - very very friendly lady on reception. Delightful.
Room - outstanding in every week. Every detail thought of and loved the shower.
Evening meal - excellent. Friendly staff, superb service, tasty food.
Breakfast - (I'm now running out of superlatives) wonderful.

If you are staying in Stratford there is no reason to go anywhere else. Parking also is easy as it is just round the corner.

Can't recommend this place highly enough. For anyone who has watched the Hotel Inspector then this is the place where they absolutely do it all right...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,292 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,781 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing