We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We visited for food on a Saturday evening and had a lovely meal. We ate in the bar and both shepherds pie and lemon sole were perfectly cooked and delicious. Good choice of ales and wine, lovely atmosphere and polite and friendly staff. So good that we returned again for food the following evening! Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    427
    113
    46
    18
See reviews for
209
1,010
33
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great hotel with great location. Staff was helpful when needed and always friendly. Room was large, clean and updated with large bathroom with shower & bathtub. Bedding was very comfortable. Room had several electrical outlets which was very helpful. Food in pub was wonderful. I would stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 124you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a few days away and chose Stratford for the theatre/shopping/restaurants. We have stayed in other hotels in the town but would always go back here. It was lovely! Cosy, well organised, friendly efficient staff, good quality food. We had dinner here one night, and breakfast on 2 mornings. Good choice, slightly disappointed by the solid poached eggs - but that's the only complaint. Lovely log fire to sit by with a drink after a hard afternoon shopping in the rain! The room was clean, small and nicely furnished with everything you need for a short stay. Excellent bathroom with double ended bath and big shower. The view wasn't up to much - the building opposite! Although this was preferable to being near the road or bar. We would recommend this to anyone and we'll definitely be heading back.

Room Tip: Ground floor very noisy due to lift and reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kw00_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Can't fault this hotel. We stayed in a classic room which was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was clean with a good shower and a big bath. The bed was really comfortable with nice quality bedding. The hotel had free wifi and the ability to plug in your lap top to the TV. The complimentary bathroom products and drinks were nice. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was also very good, with lots of choice. Overall a great hotel that you can just turn up to with a change of clothes, as everything else is provided by the hotel. Other reviews have moaned about the views - but you are right in the centre of town, so you don't need a view, just walk outside the hotel and see everything within walking distance. I can't wait to go back to both this hotel, and Stratford to spend more time there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40scouple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at The white swan in October 2012. The hotel was everything that we expected and more.... The staff were very friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. the history of the place draws you in and the building itself is stunning. the location is excellent for the town centre and restaurants, of which there are numerous for every taste. Even though there is no parking on site, there is a car park that you can use for £8 a night just round the corner. The only thing I would say is that although the food was lovely they didnt really cater for my husband who is gluten intolerant at breakfast with the hot food options, even though there was a good selection of buffet items. I cant comment on the evening menu as we ate out. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

After weeks of research we decided to stay here for a special weekend.....we now wish we stayed at home. We specifically paid a premium rate to stay in a grand room due to the fact their website clearly states all grand rooms benefit from a roll top bath and separate shower, our room had neither. We raised this as soon as we arrived and were told it was a grand room but the hotel was 'boutique' If you read the reviews below they are familiar with using this excuse. At no point did the staff apologise that were had been initially disappointed.

After dining the restaurant we returned to our room which was freezing. We again headed down to reception at 10.45 the night porter refused to give us the managers name, when he went to get him the manager on duty was unavailable, we requested again to speak with him and were told Liam had refused to speak with us. We waited for 2 hours in reception until Liam had no option but to deal with a customer complaint, After 2 hours we were given a heater. Not exactly the start to a relaxing weekend.

In the morning we requested to move rooms. Suddenly a room was now available and had been fully cleaned between us going to bed at 1.00 am and 10.30 the following morning, We moved rooms and have to say throughout our dealing with them the management were a patronising as they were inept.

We had become slightly concerned money had been taken out our account, on arrival we were specifically told our card needed to be swiped but no money would be taken and we would pay when we leave (as standard in our experience). The following morning our bank confirmed they had withdrawn over £200 from our account without our authorisation. We were shocked and returned to the reception for the third time in 12 hours to query it. The manager informed us the money had been put in a ''holding account'', we questioned this as the account had to be in someone name and it been taken from ours. After a somewhat heated discussion we were told the funds would be refunded that day and shouldn't have been taken out.

It is now 3 days later and the money is still not in our account, apparently it is in transit however The White Swan cannot give any details of when the money will be put back. A simple call to their bank could resolve this but they have not been prepared to do this.

The staff never apologised and were extremely patronizing, they just didn't care. From reading the other reviews some people appear to have a had a lovely stay. I would say this is because they were lucky enough to have no issues, the management cannot deal with any issue or complaint they are defensive and abrupt.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The White Swan is an excellent base for touring Stratford. Price per head makes this more competitive than B&B accommodation and for that, guests gain the benefits of a modern and extensively refurbished period hotel.

Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful and breakfast was excellent. All in all, the hotel was the perfect base to explore the glories of Stratford.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonesterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing