We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, Fabulous food, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, Fabulous food, Friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location on the central square, making it perfect for exploring.

Our room was lovely, clean and had everything we needed. The decor in the hotel and restaurant was just right, obviously playing on the Shakespeare theme, but also managing to make the place comfortable and cosy.

The food at the restaurant was fabulous, we had a lovely meal and great wine. The hotel also has a "pub" area at the front, which was the perfect place to have a drink or just relax.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. After I somehow managed to leave things behind in the room (!), they sent them on to me recorded delivery free of charge.

All in all, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    416
    111
    46
    17
See reviews for
200
981
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Stopped in the white swan for 1 night on the 3rd nov. We found the hotel to be outstanding. Loved the period features yet it has a modern twist. The hotel has recently had a 3 mill refurb and it really shows.

We booked a standard double room, yes the size of the room was small but very well laid out and the facilities in the room are great.

Bar and dining area are really cosey, the food was perfect and the place has a really nice vibe and atmosphere about it.

We didn't notice any noise issues, but still you have to remember this hotel is in the heart of Stratford and a great location to be.

Would stay again next time I'm in the Stratford area. Staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanLeiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Booked the hotel after seeing other good reviews and was pleased with the choice.
Central location to Stratford-Upon-Avon, at the upper end of the town.
Pleasant and helpful staff.
Comfortable and clean rooms.
Very tastey food from the restaurant.
Comfortable bar area with a number of leather sofas.
Free WiFi available throughout the hotel.
Parking is close by (collect ticket from reception before parking) and charged to room.
good facilities in the room - TV with media hub; tea & coffee facilities; fridge; room temperature controls.
Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-From-Salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband and I booked two nights bed and breakfast as a last minute getaway 6-8th November. We just wanted some time out as a couple, and with me being heavily pregnant we were looking for a central location for a couple of days shopping, sightseeing... and relaxing.
We were both suitably impressed with this hotel; location is great, atmosphere is spot-on and the staff could not be more friendly and polite. I was really pleased with the warm reception we received.
We stayed in a classic room (hope to try a character room on our next visit) and this exceeded expectation, too. We were so comfortable during our stay that for the first time ever on a minibreak/trip away we ate all our meals at the hotel. You simply could not fault the food and service here. I would recommend it to anyone planning a short break to Stratford.

Regarding parking, the car park is literally two minutes walk from the hotel. It didn't bother me in the slightest even on a cold November day, we also met the friendliest car parking attendant ever! In summary, I'm sure anyone booking a break here will have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Book a character room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We visited for food on a Saturday evening and had a lovely meal. We ate in the bar and both shepherds pie and lemon sole were perfectly cooked and delicious. Good choice of ales and wine, lovely atmosphere and polite and friendly staff. So good that we returned again for food the following evening! Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great hotel with great location. Staff was helpful when needed and always friendly. Room was large, clean and updated with large bathroom with shower & bathtub. Bedding was very comfortable. Room had several electrical outlets which was very helpful. Food in pub was wonderful. I would stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 124you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a few days away and chose Stratford for the theatre/shopping/restaurants. We have stayed in other hotels in the town but would always go back here. It was lovely! Cosy, well organised, friendly efficient staff, good quality food. We had dinner here one night, and breakfast on 2 mornings. Good choice, slightly disappointed by the solid poached eggs - but that's the only complaint. Lovely log fire to sit by with a drink after a hard afternoon shopping in the rain! The room was clean, small and nicely furnished with everything you need for a short stay. Excellent bathroom with double ended bath and big shower. The view wasn't up to much - the building opposite! Although this was preferable to being near the road or bar. We would recommend this to anyone and we'll definitely be heading back.

Room Tip: Ground floor very noisy due to lift and reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kw00_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing