We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Belper
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is one of the oldest properties in this historic town and the hotel has recently been renovated without losing any of its atmosphere or tradition. the Staff were all most helpful and we were particularly well looked after in the restaurant by Lee.

Room Tip: The character rooms in the old part and full of tradition & exceptionally large
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    445
    117
    46
    18
See reviews for
220
1,054
33
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in march 2013 and what a superb hotel. The bar staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was 1st class to. Our room was lovely and clean and the housekeeping lady was very freindly and helpful. Will be back.

Room Tip: Character rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just back from a long weekend at the white swan. We originally stayed here 25 years ago on our honeymoon and this was a surprise Weekend for my wife. The staff here made the stay, all of them without exception were friendly and very focused on the guests. The room we stayed in was the Macbeth and again first class. small issue on the booking and would suggest it was my fault but all sorted by the manager. Food and beer was all very good, the building has so much history and we now have woundeful memories. Thanks.

It wont take 25 years to return.

Room Tip: They all look good. The Macbeth is at the front and may be a bit noisy but the history etc make up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CANIGOONHOLIDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a 1 nights stay on the 15th March, it was a lovely stay, great atmosphere in the lovely bar, fab rooms, really beautifully decorated with a great bathroom. Wonderful breakfast and very friendly staff. All in all a great find. I would definately recommend it as its also in a great location in the centre of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a special treat at this hotel - in the 'Macbeth' room. Antique 4 poster bed and the most amazing room. All quirky sloping flooring and original beams. An amazing original little window within the room. (leading to a modern luxury bathroom) The hotel is very central and on a busy junction but close to all attractions and the RSC is within walking distance.
The hotel is recently refurbished and immaculate throughout. Parking is about 200 yards away - no issues with that.
It was warm, friendly and relaxing.
The staff are very well informed and are friendly - special mention of a guy called Lee who was an ever present member of staff - really helpful guy who is a font of knowledge.
Breakfast was very grand with a decent choice of freshly cooked specials underpinned by the normal buffet pastries and cereal.
Overall an excellent hotel in a fantastic location and worthy of a stay - I have no idea of the cost as this was a birthday treat and I promised not to ask.
I recommend this hotel to all - not least for the history but mostly for the warmth of welcome and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Claire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon, wilts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Check-in was painless, we had a standard double room with walk in shower, room size is small (but still bigger than many we have stayed in) shower amazing. Room slightly cold but air-con easily adjustable to deal with that. Really good nights sleep, fab breakfast. Very friendly, helpful staff. Would def stay again, bargain for what we paid (20% off rack rate on their website). Would love to try one of the themed rooms next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multicolouredsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have stayed here pre refurb and although we enjoyed it, post refurb is amazing! Very well done and staff lovely. Hotel was unrecognisable and alot of money has been spent herr. Give this a try we wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing