We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and lovely rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during Easter. The hotel was brilliant and the staff exceptionally helpful. The rooms were of a high standard and the bathroom with the lovely power shower was amazing. The only criticism - breakfast - I had five small mushrooms which I believe were tinned and not fresh? And only having five, I expected more. Also was only offered coffee once. I had to ask for a refill. Would it be easier to have the coffee on the table and there was not enough milk. Also we ordered the afternoon tea which was awesome. The sandwiches came out and my friend who forgot to mention they were a vegetarian mentioned this and the sandwiches were changed. Very accommodating! Overall brilliant experience and would recommend. Just a few little negatives! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinders2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,709 - 1,715 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently and have to say it was one of the loveliest breaks away I have had. The White Swan is full of character with its olde world charm. All the staff were very polite and friendly. Our room 111 was a very large room with huge roll top bath. Nice touches with the free soft drinks and fresh milk in the room fridge refilled daily. Breakfast of eggs benedict were excellent and there was large choice of both continental and hot food at breakfast. One little gripe was that it would have been nice to have a mirror over the vanity table in the room to dry hair, put on make-up etc but not enough to stop is returning. Would like to say a big thank you to duty manager [i think] Sarah (blonde hair) for moving cars to enable us to get out of disabled parking. We will be returning

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I must make clear that I am only reviewing the restaurant part of this venue. I took my mum here for mothers day. The service was excellent and it is only because of this that I am marking it as poor and not terrible. The food was cold, it looked like it was weeks old and I am not exaggerating when I say it was inedible. It is not worth the money they are charging, the only good thing was that we weren't charged, thanks to the lovely waiter who felt sorry for us.
I can only advise the white swan to change their chef, as the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cheesy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is a well renovated old building with a large pub attached. It is clean and warm, and attractively decorated. My bedroom was very spacious, with a comfortable bed and a very large and well fitted bathroom. My only complaint about the room is that it was very dark, the lighting was extremely poor. The restaurant is part of the pub and really should be judged on the basis of pub food only. What appeared to be reheated meat, slow and inattentive service, uncheap prices .....: not cordon bleu!

Stay there but don't use the restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

after staying at many hotels around the UK and abroad i felt it was neccesary to feed back my incredible experience at the white swan, I literally could not fault the hotel in any way shape of form! I only stayed one night as a treat from my parents and throughroughly enjoyed every minute ! (they have just recently had a 3 million refurb)The feeling of the hotel is cosy, warm and friendly, i could not fault the staff ,they will cater to your every need ! As for the rooms and the food ! abs outstanding. The cleanliness of the rooms is amazing. The food was more than delightful ! Would 100percent recommend the room with the huge bath tub ! amazing experience for a treat ! 10/10 for value for money and perfect location also. stayed in room 201 and you dont hear any traffic overnight ( which is important ) Overall very special experience you are missing out if you dont give it a try !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Hello kelly w

Many many thanks for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear such great feedback.

Kind regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is now one of a chain owned by the Fuller's Brewery from Chiswick in London (They also own the Old Joint Stock pub by St. Philip's Cathedral in the centre of Birmingham). It's a Grade II listed building dating from Tudoe times. They've spent a lot on refurbishment but this has not detracted from the character and charm. We stayed there because were taking part in a wine tasting course (I know! It's tough but somebody has to do it).
First impresssions okay. We arrived at 11.00 with just one member of staff on reception as a few groups were checking out. However, dealt with courteously, being given map etc with directions to the dedicated car park in a nearby street. As booking in is not until after 15.00 hrs, we were allowed to leave bags in reception.
When we booked in after the course had finished, we were taken to our room, one of the character rooms, the Hamlet room, at the front of the building. The room is tremendous, oak panelling, an old brick fire place (with a selection of old books on top, including, joy of joys, 'The AA Illustrated Road Book of England & Wales' from 1967 (see Mike Parker's book 'Map Addict re this). The bed was not a four poster but a big high very comfortable with a wooden panel as a headboard. There was a seperate dressing room with full length mirror of the main room which also contained complimentary tea, coffee, water, soft drinks etc. The bath room was one of the best we've used. Not only was it big, but the shower (in a white tiled shower compartment was excellent). The bath was a high metal roll top with copper coloured metal on the outside. The beloved wife thought it was excellent. The bathroom was big enough for a very large standalone sink unit with two drawers underneath.
Not wanting to venture far after the wine tasting (and with the weather being snow and very cold winds), wea ate in the restaurant. We both had the burger which was not for the faint hearted, being nearer a half-pound and with all the trimmings. The chips came in their own metal container. The beer is Fuller's and kept well. The cider is Aspalls. Again, very palatable. We had a very comfortable sleep (but see cons).
The next morning, breakfast was again in the restaurant. There was a self-serve continental breakfast in the bar (orange juice, muesli etc). I had the 'Full English' and she who must be obeyed had 'Eggs Benedict'.
Check out was efficient & no problems.
Pros: Stratford-upon-Avon is very nice and a certain Bard came from there so if you like his works, go there (the RSC are the World's best). The hotel is, as has been said before, full of history sympathetically dealt with. The room was very special as outlined above.
The quality of the food and drink is excellent and the staff working there are attentive but not 'over friendly'.
Cons: The hotel is in the town centre of a rural English town. Nights at weekend are not quiet. The rooms at the front are diagonally opposite a taxi rank so there can be a fair bit of noise. Furthermore, the street cleaners etc tend to work in the early morning to keep this major tourist attraction pristine. Service in the restaurant can be a bit slow.
Verdict: the cons are far outweighed by the pros. Overall this was a very nice experience but not cheap (£240 for one night B&B). We would stay again as an alternative to the Arden where we usually stay when visiting the RSC.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the themed 'Character' rooms at the front in the old building, as long as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Newly refurbished hotel. Many of the old features are retained but modern and comfortable. The receptionists were professional and friendly. The newly appointed duty manager was arrogant and over familiar. Breakfast was quite good and it was good to have crusty bread toast. The service was slow. Would stay in the hotel again. Parking is off site but very close and easily accessible. Booked room on laterooms.com making the price of a stay more realistic.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £77 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing