We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently when the wife and I unloaded the kids with the in-laws. The hotel is beautiful and is built onto the back of a traditional pub. The room was lovely and most importantly, clean although has resulted in me having to redecorate our bathroom as a result! The bed was also very comfy.
The bar area/pub is good with a lovely relaxed atmosphere, lots of traditional features and a couple of decent ales if you are so inclined although there is an overpowering fishy smell as you walk from the hotel area and bar service wasn't brilliant.
We didn't have dinner here but the breakfast service was a bit chaotic although the food was decent enough and cooked for you I.e. not a buffet. Coffee was excellent!
Very centrally located opposite the market which is very handy and a very good location if you are spending time in Stratford but don't expect a view as a result. Car parking in available but a couple of minutes walk away and price not included as part of the room.
Overall, a lovely hotel and would stay again personally, but avoid if you are a stickler for service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkfish74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Monkfish74

Thank you for taking the time to write your marvellous review. It's great to have the constructive feedback regards service you received at breakfast. Comments of this nature are really appreciated and acted upon to improve future guests' experiences. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Once again, many thanks for your review.

Kind regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    391
    107
    45
    16
See reviews for
174
908
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was a lovely hotel, fantastic position right in the middle of town, and had lots of character! The Staff were friendly & helpful except the male receptionist who I found rather rude like he had a chip on his shoulder. Breakfast & Evening meals were fantastic, I had the steak which was mouth watering and my husband the Fish & Chips could not fault it.

We had a Grand room but even thou very well presented it was small and by no why Grand, the bathroom was clean and a beautiful roll top bath & was like heaven to soak in and a large walk in shower which I hate to say leaked all over the floor. The worst thing was the bed, again looked lovely but was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor!

Overall thou a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyEvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary as we had tickets for Richard II (which was fantastic!!!). The hotel is nicely presented; Malmaison-style and in a good location. Our room - a grand I think - was nice but very small with no view to speak of. Soap was missing from our room too which I think I've read in other reviews. We were short of time so decided to eat in the hotel based on their on-line menu. The menu was no longer available when we asked. The vegetarian option (the only one) was a Quorn Wellington which was like eating sausage meat. It wasn't good. My husband's steak was very fatty. Breakfast was better - maybe there is a different chef? Waiting staff were very nice and tried hard to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BentleyFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had a feature room for a special occasion, everything was clean and well presented.

The staff were pleasant and polite and couldn't do enough for us.

It's in a great location just on the edge of Stratford about 5 minutes walk.

Well worth the money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shack811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I were travelling from London to Birmingham, but decided to leave a day earlier and take in some of the ambience of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Our night was spent in The White Swan. We were very pleasantly surprised by this Fullers hotel. The hotel dates back hundreds of years and simply oozes charm and quaintness. The bedroom, although one of the cheaper range, was perfectly fine and very comfortable with our own room temp. thermostat to keep the temperature how we like it. At night we turned it down to minimum as we like a cool room, then turned it up again in the morning. There was a large en-suite bathroom with a good powerful shower and instant hot water as soon as we turned on the tap. (I've never understood how hot water comes through so quickly in such a big building. We live in a 3-bed house and have to let the hot tap run for 2 or 3 minutes before the water gets hot).
The William Shakespeare theme in the hotel is very clear. There are pictures of the bard throughout the hotel and quotes from Shakespeare plays outside every room. It is very tastefully decorated.
We ate dinner in the restaurant , which was very good indeed. Having never tasted Pigeon before, I chose that as my starter. I was not disappointed. My lamb main course was also very well presented and was as delicious as I hoped it would be. Breakfast was superb. A good choice of hot breakfasts (I chose the Eggs Royal and my wife chose the Eggs Benedict.) Our waiter, both at dinner and at breakfast was a young man named Thomas (looked a bit like Louis Theroux) and his service was no less than perfect. He was attentive and polite and in the event of us asking a question about our food or drink, he was very helpful.
We will definitely stay at The White Swan again as we haven't seen everything there is to see in Stratford-Upon-Avon yet and our "Shakespeare's House" tickets last for 12 months, so we have to come back and do it again.
The only negative point was the view from our window. There wasn't one. All we could see was the fire escape, ventilation shafts and air-con units.
In summary, a great hotel, fair prices, good food, good service, good night's sleep, and REAL ALE from Fullers in Chiswick!

Room Tip: If you want a nice view from the window, you'd better specify that because our view was the fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox36065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A lovely hotel, bursting with character! Staff friendly band helpful and in a prime location. Breakfasts fabulous and vwould stay again!

However, the hotel was let down by the chambermaid lacking attention to detail when making up our room. No soap on first day. There vwas a card saying that therev was milk in the fridge , On both days we had to ask for some. Our drink sachets were not replenished either nor indeedv were our dirty dishesvtidied away following room service.

Little things matter but we are sure it was just a blip! Bed hard in room 117!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Always wanted to visit Stratford and will certainly visit again and stay at the white swan.check in excellent,very helpful with car parking,we had to change rooms and they arranged everything for us,nothing was too much trouble,manager,you can be very proud of your staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing