We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms, breakfast and parking let them down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms, breakfast and parking let them down”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Perfect location great looking got a bargain at £55 for a night on agoda. Room was good size. The parking is a let down as would be better to be warned theres none with the hotel. Breakfast was a real issue for me 45minutes for toast and an hour for brekki and no pastries replaced during service. Staff friendly, good for one night stop xx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChurpyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    460
    120
    46
    20
See reviews for
231
1,095
33
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for short weekend with my husband and had the best time ever. The hotel is beautiful and the bedrooms are amazing. Only downer was the views but what can you expect in a busy town? The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, in particular many thanks to Lee for going out of his way to help with my dietary requirements. Will be returning and recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel right in the centre of Stratford upon Avon. It has been renovated tastefully so that the bars and dining rooms are cosy and welcoming and the rooms and bathrooms are modern. All the staff are helpful and pleasant. There was water and fresh milk in the rooms and the bathroom was lovely and big and all extremely clean. Lovely atmosphere as soon as you walk into the the reception aarea.

Room Tip: We had a bargain room (303) which was a tad small and draughty because the double glazing wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute, bit of a nostalgia trip as we had stayed here many years ago for our 10th wedding anniversary. We loved everything about this hotel it was perfect for a winter break , a cozy but beautiful room well decorated and with lots of little extras. The downstairs bar was so festive , log fires candles etc. Staff very professional, especially the restaurant staff at breakfast which was lovely couldn't have asked for more it was a pleasure to eat in such wonderful surroundings. We liked it so much that we are going to book again soon . The only small thing that stops this hotel being perfect is there is no parking on site , but this will not deter us from visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvana186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Hamlet character room and love it, very intimate, romantic and the staffs attention to detail was wonderful, when we checked in the receptionist wished me happy birthday, checked our dinner reservation and googled where it was so when we came downstairs she had a map of where it was. In our room was a birthday cake on a slate platter....how sweet was that! Breakfast was a little slow BUT the staff were wonderfully apologetic and explained they were short staffed. When we got our food it was worth the wait, fresh, hot and extremely good!

We would go back in a shot....this place is a real gem...thanks to all there for a lovely trip that myself and my gorgeous man (who spoilt me rotten for my birthday) loved and really needed after a stressful few months, we were able to recharge our batteries, unwind and relax in lovely surroundings ...THANKS!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here recently and found the hotel staff very helpful, particularly Robert on reception who was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was central and all local attractions were easily accessible. Car parking was very cheap as well which was a bonus.
However I do think that the overall cost of the hotel was expensive for what it was. It was pleasant enough and whilst the room was very clean and had everything we needed it was pretty basic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here when we went to see a play at the RSC. It's beautifully decorated and very cosy, has some great Shakespeare related antiques and pictures and the rooms all have Shakespeare quotes on plaques outside the door. Service was very good, wld only say that the set menu at the restaurant wasn't outstanding but ok.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empress13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
876 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing