We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were given an early check in and a warm welcome. The room was rather small but had a good bed ,nice bedding and a good bathroom with a large walk in shower. The hotel is in a good central position in the town. We parked the car as recommended by the hotel. The staff were all very pleasant I this hotel. We had lunch in the dining room which has some amazing original wall paintings they have uncovered and a beautiful fire on a very cold day. Lunch was very good and beautifully served by the young Italian manager and his staff. The pub area is very pleasant and has lots of comfy seats . We had a good nights sleep in our rather small room but managed it was only for one night. Breakfast was excellent , they had used excellent ingredients and we were not rushed and could sit and enjoy a leisurely Sunday breakfast with the paper . We do hope to return we had a great time. Just hope to get a bigger room ,but it was the last one when we booked so we should have expected the "runt of the family " so to speak.

Room Tip: Not 105 if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beechnut_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    425
    113
    46
    18
See reviews for
206
1,009
33
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I took my husband to The White Swan for an extra christmas present and stayed in the Twelth Night room. The room was beautiful and the facilities were top notch. Everything included in the room made our experience luxurious. We had a fantastic breakfast in the morning and the customer service from all the staff was excellent. We can't wait to stay again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the most perfect break away

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millieboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had an excellent stay here over the last weekend. We had the fantastic Romeo & Juliet Suite which was well appointed with a gorgeous bathroom and standalone bath tub. After working hard across the festive period myself and my partner wanted somewhere we could settle in a relax for a couple of nights and the white swan did just that. We dined in the restaurant, I would fully reccommend the rump of Lamb, cooked to perfection. Furthermore we spoiled ourselves with a full English breakfast each morning which really did hit the spot. A great stay throughout with a high level of service from start to finish. We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KERRMINAT0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. The hotel is very nice having just been refurbished. It's now a modern and welcoming place with many traditional touches. Our room was the cheapest rate but was nicely decorated with a gorgeous bathroom. Only down side was there was a corridor behind the wall behind our bed and every time someone walked along it our room shook (at 2am!!) so we didn't have the best nights sleep on the first night. However I would stay here again when in Stratford. Oh and breakfast was delicious!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetangel345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Found this Inn had much more about it than I expected. The Sunday lunch was tasty, good value and served impeccably. The roast beef was particularly good.The starters were innovative.

We shall return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaJMStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just returned from a fantastic two night stay.Everything about our stay was first class.The whole hotel is very atmospheric,everywhere from the bar,restaurant to the very individual rooms.The service throughout the hotel was very friendly,courteous and above all professional.We loved every aspect of our stay and will definately return again.

Room Tip: we had room 103,front aspect of the hotel with a four poster and free standing bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a romantic break and I really can't praise this place highly enough. After booking one of their magnificent character rooms I telephoned to request a specific room, The Macbeth, and the staff very kindly arranged this for me. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in anywhere: full of character and charm, superb facilities and accommodation (the room was everything I hoped for having viewed their website) and having a genuine pub attached rather than a "hotel bar" just made it even better and added to the charm. After exploring Stratford and dining out we retired here to finish our night on the cosy sofas there.

Full of history, character and with excellent service and decor the best complement I can pay The White Swan is that if I ever visit Stratford again I couldn't possibly stay anywhere else knowing this place is there!

Room Tip: The Character Rooms are great and if you can get it I highly recommend The Macbeth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing