We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have just spent a lovely weekend at the White Swan. We had a Grand Room with massive bed, sparkling bathroom and loads of space. Although we didn't dine in the evening the breakfasts and lunch were really good. All dishes freshly cooked with care. The waiting and bar team were hard working, good fun and very attentive. Highly recommend. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    425
    113
    46
    18
See reviews for
206
1,009
33
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a lovely room with a King Size bed with a lovely spacious bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. Matthew on Reception was extremely helpful :)

Would deffinantly recommend at stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_Cat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Can not rate this hotel enough, staff were all Absolutely superb friendly helpful... The hotel is beautiful, Rooms were delightful. Food was exquisite, Walking distance to everywhere... We can not wait to return for another visit!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Hanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed for one night in early January. As it was the quiet season we got a room for a very reasonable price. Could not fault the hotel as it was lovely. We had a beautiful room and good breakfast included. The location is central. Bar downstairs very nice - old fashioned and cosy. The only negative thing is it is a bit annoying having to pay for parking - which was about 5 min walk away. However I understand that parking is an issue in Stratford upon Avon so unavoidable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMainlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a short break as a birthday present for my wife - thought I would make it a bit more special by reserving a "Grand" room.
Initial impression on arrival very good - magnificent reception area and an efficient check in.
initial impression of of our Grand room was that it was spacious enough, comfortably furnished - including a super king sized bed & flat screen TV but a bit on the dark side. Good large well appointed bathroom with walk in shower as well as a roll top bath, decent quality towels & toiletries.
Fantastic powerful shower!
Liked the hospitality tray with the usual teas, coffee & biscuits etc. - bit inconveniently located since no socket outlet near the kettle. Nice touch with small bottle of fresh milk in the fridge instead of the usual silly little pods of 'pretend' milk!
Wardrobe space limited but OK for a 2 or 3 night stay. Plenty of drawer space which compensates to some degree.
Biggest gripe about the room is the fact that there is not a dressing table with mirror over to facilitate the very necessary requirements of hair drying/styling and make up application. My wife found this to be very disagreeable. Astoundingly, on complaining and after viewing alternative "Grand" rooms, it was confirmed that all rooms were fitted out in exactly the same way - we'll done the interior design team! On this point, another lady guest on overhearing the conversation with reception commented that she had overcome the problem by plugging the hair dryer into a socket in the bedroom and stretching the dryer cord into the bathroom - WOW! - do you really want a 240 volt hand held appliance in a wet area?
Restaurant was OK. Food quality and presentation was good. Slight downside was the very limited variation in choice on the Table D'hôte from night one to night two. Breakfast was fine - good choice & nicely served - would comment that the speed of service from plating in the kitchen to presentation to the guest could probably be improved to ensure hotter food delivery.
Now for the fun! I succeeded in putting the entire bar staff into a tailspin by asking for a Scotch & Dry Ginger! No chance! I was offered every malt whiskey under the sun along with bourbon & Irish whiskey. No 'standard' Scotch whiskey is stocked. Manager tried to compensate by providing alternative complimentary drinks plus a promise of an upgrade to a Feature room when he learnt of our earlier complaint regarding no dressing table in our Grand room.
Never happened - receptionist said next day couldn't be done as all feature rooms were "out of commission".
Checkout was interesting - only took about 45 minutes due to the number of guests complaining of various things - mainly regarding overcharging of bar & restaurant bills - ours included. We booked on dinner, bed & breakfast basis but found that dinner had been additionally added to the final bill.
Not a bad hotel but not so good given the apparent poor attention to detail.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile


My husband treated me to lunch , as I enjoyed a previous stay at the hotel . and have eaten Sunday lunch on a couple of occasions and love the food here. The staff are friendly and professional on every visit. My husband chose the set menu three courses for £20. Small choice menu and items that would not be to everyone's taste. I did not like the sound of any item, I chose the fish and chips off the normal lunch menu. I will be honest it was not the best, the fish had way to much batter and it was served on a wooden chopping board, which had a crack through it, and all the oil was seeping through leaving quite a pool under the board when it was removed.(I had to use a hand wipe of my own to wipe the table as my next cutlery was just placed down on top of the pool of grease. The fries tasted more over cooked than triple fried as the menu says. My husband loved his meal, he said the mussels were the best he had ever had. And he praised the next two courses highly. I did have the chocolate cake, but it was just to dry.the ice cream was superb though. Although I was a little dissatisfied with my food this visit, we both love coming here, the staff are great and a credit to the hotel especially the lovely french waitress and the Italian gentleman who served us Today.thank you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We regularly stay in Stratford and decided to try a different hotel and this one looked very nice on the website so we booked the best suite only to find when we got there we had been allocated a normal double. It was nice especially the bathroom but not what we had paid for. No breakfast menu in the room so we requested one which did not turn up. The staff in the bar/restaurant were something else though, the bar maid spoke little English, didn't know what lager was and was incapable of pouring a pint. The other staff were highly stressed dashing around, they even whipped my drink away before I had finished it! And there was no response when I quickly said I haven't finished that. The atmosphere was awful, i came away feeling stressed and annoyed. We were offered 20% off our next stay! but we wouldn't go back if it was free. There are far better places to stay where you can relax and enjoy what the lovely Stratford has to offer. Consider yourselves warned. Manic mayhem.

Room Tip: You probably won't get what you see on the website, even if you pay for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feathers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Feathers68

I am very disappointed we did not live up to your expectations and clearly the service you received during your stay was not at our usual high standards. Please accept my sincere apologies. I would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you had during your stay in detail.

Please contact me on 01789 297022 or email me direct with contact details: whiteswanhotelmanager@fullers.co.uk

Kind regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing