We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gals we returned to this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gals we returned to this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A warm welcome greeted us when we checked in and by coincidence we had the same room as our last stay there. Smartly decorated room with a comfy bed (not so sure about the pillows!) and a large modem bathroom with a large fashionable sink and big shower head in the ceiling over the bath. The two course fixed price menu was included in our deal. Limited but interesting menu but very tasty and hot food. Unusual serving of chicken broth - we were served a plate with a small bowl in the plate which had a julienne of vegetables and a small breaded chicken stick in it and the waiter poured our broth in the bowl at the table from a teapot. Breakfast was part self service and part waiter service. Good choice of unusual hot food as well as the traditional breakfast was available. A well stocked bar and plenty of different types of seats in Hotel bar/lounge area. The only thing that marred our stay was the inability to sit outside in the the sunshine at the front of the hotel on the hotel's own seating due to very drunk group of people sitting outside. Hotel very willing to store baggage upon arrival and departure as there is no car park at the hotel. Parking is easy and about a five minute walk arranged by the hotel.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is likely to be quieter that the front especially the night before the setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    390
    107
    45
    16
See reviews for
173
905
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arrived early because we wanted to spend the whole day in Stratford. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. They had said that we could leave our luggage with them if we arrived early, but they actually had our room ready.

The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on and the duvet was great.

The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The bar was delightful and the drinks were no more expensive than our local pub.

We loved the historical features and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandWillow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed with my family here a couple of weeks ago as we were booked in to see Wolf Hall at the theatre. We had 2 rooms on the second floor for 3 nights at the same rate (standard) though one of them (mine) was marginally bigger than the other - the bathroom especially. The hotel is well located for everything (as Stratford is quite small anyway) but as I was arriving by train it was a short walk from the station and another 10 minutes to the theatre. There was limited parking onsite and a larger car park a few minutes walk from the hotel which was fine.

My room was very comfortable with a huge bed and plenty of storage. It had all the usuals and a good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits in the cupboard and fresh milk in the fridge. Although there was no view really as the 2 windows looked out onto the back wall of the cinema, this wasn’t really missed as the alternative would have a been the busy main road. I loved the touches of Shakespeare everywhere from cushions to quotes on the room doors - I realise this is everywhere in Stratford but it made the hotel feel less generic. My father went for a brandy in the bar one evening and had a full ‘Italian experience’ from the barman who lamented that Brandy should be drank with chocolate and then returned later with a free chocolate dessert for my parents to have with their nightcap! Really appreciated!

Breakfast was served in the bar/restaurant area which is really beautiful with lots of period features and low ceilings! There was a good buffet of continental foods and juices and a menu of various cooked options which were lovely. We did not eat in the hotel other than breakfast and so I cannot comment on the quality of lunch/dinner but the two places we went to I would recommend - the Greek restaurant next door offered huge portions and friendly staff, and No.9 Church Street was a great restaurant with a bargain pre-theatre menu.

The White Swan has the feeling of a pub with rooms - but in the very best way and I hope to stay here on all future visits to Stratford and try out one of the character rooms too...

Room Tip: Standard is still way above average - but go for character if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PopiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a lovely room that was nicely decorated, we had a large bathroom with a free standing bath (an unexpected bonus) and a separate shower. The small fridge with fresh milk (rather than the usual UHT) was a nice touch as were the complementary soft drinks and water.
Breakfast was served in the lovely cosy restaurant, a larger than usual choice of hot options were available. I was a bit disappointed that after waiting a while the waitress informed us that they had run out of smoked salmon for my eggs royal but they were very apologetic and I still enjoyed the well cooked poached eggs. They assured us there would be plenty of salmon for the following day and as promised there was.
This is a perfect hotel for couples wanting a relaxing quiet break, the rooms are nice, the restaurant and bar are a good place to relax and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samsonlaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were visiting Stratford for an RSC performance. The White Swan offered an excellent location (five minutes brisk walk to the theatre) and a "room and meal" deal offering a discount on the a la carte menu in their restaurant. They serve from 5pm, giving plenty of time for a leisurely meal before the performance. The staff were universally friendly and helpful. We chose a "classic" room and were pleasantly surprised to find it adequately-sized, well-appointed and interestingly decorated. Nice touches like the provision of a small bottle of proper milk in the fridge for the tea/coffee were very welcome.
The meal was not only extremely good value but was very nicely served and cooked to perfection. Someone here really knows how to cook! The menu was interesting and varied and we could easily have come back again for two or three more nights. Don't miss the superb bits of history in the form of an ancient mural on the restaurant wall and a recently discovered old book in French displayed under glass in the same place.
Although there is no on-site parking the hotel offers use of a local car park less than 2 mins walk away for just £8 overnight (3pm - 11am). Spaces are small for "big" cars!
We certainly hope to go back later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Needed a centrally located place to stay to see the RSC's "Wendy and Peter Pan" production. Chose the cheapest double room and was delighted by the quality of the room and the really responsive and friendly staff. The room may be compact but you have everything you need. Good breakfast included in the price and access to fairly priced parking just minutes away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stopped one night here as we attended a function in the hotel so didn't check its "trip advisor " ratings before booking (and still haven't when writing this). I had let the hotel know it was my wifes birthday and, to our joy, there was a slice of fresh birthday cake in the room on our arrival.....a lovely touch from the staff! The hotel apparently dates from the 1600s and in the public areas retains all the charm of an old coaching Inn whilst the decor in the rooms is first class with all modern amenities. Having just enjoyed a 5* breakfast, served by the most helpful staff we decided this place couldn't be faulted.....we would recommend this hotel to anyone ....especially any "new world" visitors to Stratford as this would just "top off" the experience of this lovely town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing