We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I love this hotel we stayed this weekend it is full of charm and the staff were very friendly the breakfast was lovely the room was a little small but clean and tidy we will be back to stay next time we come to stratford upon avon

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    462
    121
    46
    20
See reviews for
234
1,099
33
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.K
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having read so many glowing reviews, we were looking forward to trying out this lovely old pub. Sadly we were disappointed . The first bedroom to which we were shown was very small,with a very creaky hospital style bed. When we asked for a change , we were courteously conducted to a larger room with what proved a very comfortable bed,. Sadly the rest of the facilities did not live up to this. There was only one very dim bedside light which made reading in bed an impossibility. The room was cold and the heating was broken. When we complained an efficient electric heater was placed in the room, but no attempt was made during our three day stay to mend the main heater. The large bathroom resembled an air raid shelter and the lavatory seat was broken. This was not fixed although we did report it. The lavatory itself was jammed in inches from the wall - luckily neither of us is over weight,- and there was nowhere to put anything down. Our spongebags had to be left on the rather forbidding looking black floor. The clinical black and white decor was unwelcoming and stark. The fitments were all modern but the use of space was dire.
Breakfast was good as was the one meal we ate in the restaurant. But we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rospirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Had booked a hotel in Leamington that on arrival was disgustingly dirty so somewhat in a panic phoned Warren at The White Swan to see if he could accommodate my friend and I and my two daughters. He was fabulous, organised a super room. We had a gorgeous dinner - staff wonderful, breakfast super delicious. If the reception staff had smiled and said good morning would have scored it 5 stars all round. Thanks Warren x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

On arrival this hotel looks to appear everything that it says on their website. good location, old world charm, cosy pub. all great until you reach your room. before booking I scoured all the pictures and was impressed by the standard of decor and facilities, however upon entering the box leading straight off the main thoroughfare ( full lights glaring under the door all night ) the bubble definitely burst.
The bed was so close to the door you had to manoeuvre your way into the room, the TV hung on the wall at a very odd angle. tea/coffee facilities not 4*, the bedding had definitely seen better days.
The pillows, were so thin and limp I wouldn't have given to my dog to use. Room was freezing, even after returning late at night.
The bathroom however was a very different story, spacious, clean and all together a complete contrast to the room.
Because of the very late check-in we only had use of the room for less that 24 hrs, when I questioned this, I was informed that they could not even offer us a late check out. ALL IN ALL A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. WOULD WE GO BACK, NO

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillieg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my husband stay for only one night in a grand double room, we wish we could have stayed longer as the room was superb and the staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast were the waiters couldn't do enough for us, cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is superb will definitely stay again. Very smart with d world romance, a perfect fusion. Food fantastic a very talented chef, some of the best food eaten in a long while. Staff went the extra mile for our anniversary, thank you. A last minute pick and worth every penny. Come you won't be disappointed, if there are niggles point them out, they will get sorted.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The staff are very good (except for one bar staff male). The dinner menu was the same each evening and very very poor so we tried the al a carte at extra cost not good and not worth the extra. It is basically a pub so in the lunchtime and evening the sitting room was full of pub-visitors and no place for residents particularly in the evening. It was not possible have the same dining table as the staff allowed others to sit at your table even though they had reserved the tables with your name on. Downstairs seating area when available was not clean.
The lift was dangerous with a broken bar which came off when held for support. The toilet seat was broken. Sorry we went - won't go again. Regarding the food noone i spoke to said it was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
877 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing