We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for a weeks holiday. Lovely room (twelfth night) and excellent, friendly service throughout our stay. Food both fir breakfast and dinner (eaten once during the week) was very nice; prepared and presented well and tasted just as good.

Definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howlerhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    416
    111
    46
    17
See reviews for
200
981
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Usually we would stay at another hotel in Stratford but couldn't get in so booked the white swan. The attention to detail is superb someone has spent a lot of time and money here to get this right. Our room was a superior double and was great. Gorgeous bathroom.a real boutique feel in a hotel steeped in history. Food was excellent. Really top notch. The staff particularly the waiting staff were very warm and welcoming. Thankyou Andreas,
Mr Barcelona and Mr Naples!
This is the place for the customer who want and expcect something stylish, contemporary with some character.
Will definitely be going again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ascot
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had been to the White Swan with my Mum in April and had a bit of a roller coaster experience with service. I emailed the manager and his response was great. We therefore stayed again for two days this time with my husband. I can only say that the experience was brilliant. All staff were friendly but I must mention Tony this is the 2nd time I have come across him and his service skills are outstanding. Friendly, attentive nothing is too much trouble and he is the sort of person that would put a smile on anyone's face. He seems to just be passionate about giving good service. We had the same experience with Andrew really helpful attentive and funny. The room was out of this world I don't very often take photos of rooms but made an exception this time. Things can sometimes go wrong and they did the 1st time I visited with my Mum. The effort that the White Swan made to put things right was outstanding. Sorry Mum that you could not experience that. Thanks to all of the White Swan Team I would definitely want to return and would urge you Strafford Upon Avon visitors to do the same.

Room Tip: The character rooms are amazing, but all of the rooms have great character and the bathrooms are bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazza1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked a character room and were delighted with it. Just amazing to experience this room. Every detail was perfect. The photos don't do it justice. It is worth the extra dollars. Staff were very helpful and the restaurant was excellent. The hotel is overflowing with character and it was a delight to have a drink and absorb the atmosphere. Breakfast was included as was free wifi. I could not fault the experience.

Room Tip: Character room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had booked a 3 night break but loved our room so much that we stayed for an extra night. The service was fantastic and friendly. We had a Grand Room that had a lovely roll tip bath, a walk in shower and 2 sinks which was heavenly. The room was comfy with a gorgeous huge bed and there was plenty of storage.

The room did not have a view but that didn't bother us. The air conditioning does make a bit of a hum but no worse than the sound of light traffic. As it was hot we were glad of it!!!

Sunday lunch was amazing but I wouldn't bother with the bar food again. For the price and what you get you may as well have a la carte in the lovely restaurant.

There is a really good hairdressers next door that offer a discount to hotel guests. you need to get a voucher from the hotel reception.

All in all a fantastic stay. Will be staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a grand room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesterNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotle looks like it has been recently renovated with the rooms vrey clean and tidy on arrival and 'different' but great decor with a large bathroom and a fantastic shower area. The food was excellent my belly pork was some of the best i have tasted with the overall meal and service being fantastic. The bar area was friendly with some nice ales on the bar and reasonably priced. All in all a great short stay for me and my wife.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris18Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the White Swan hotel LAST WEEKEND, super hotel perfect location for Stratford attractions. Service attentive and room good size. Could do with magnifying mirrors in there bathrooms for the ladies wishing to put make up on and those wearing contact lens.Fantastic pub within the hotel and restaurant great atmosphere with excellent food and choice is good. I always look forward to there fantastic breakfast especially Eggs Benedict.Have stayed here several times when in the area and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Stratford. Have been to all the other hotels and this is far superior. Special thanks to Matthew in charge and Tony and Thomas in the restaurant who are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: for quietness choose back of hotel but character rooms are at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing