We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when I took my wife to the theatre for her birthday, because it is only about 10 minutes walk away from the theatre which was ideal. Our room was very nice with all we could need and more, parking was a slight problem as we couldn't use the car park at the back of the hotel and had to go to another one a few 100 yards away, but I guess space is limited in a town centre location. The pub's bar was very busy in the evening with a wedding party and it took a very long time to get served with one guy serving seemingly endless shots to one group and a girl behind the bar playing with glasses and not serving anyone. And the breakfast service was quite slow but the food fairly good. This place is a pub with very nice accommodation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    403
    110
    45
    17
See reviews for
188
948
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The guest rooms in this traditional old inn have been beautifully re-fitted to a very high standard. The food was excellent and the service - in all departments - was efficient and friendly. Located a five-minute walk from the railway station and being on the edge of the town centre, it could not be suited for a Shakespeare break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent two nights here for a family wedding. The wedding itself was wonderful anyway, but the quality of the hotel and it's staff really added to the experience.

Firstly the hotel itself. We stayed in one of the slightly upgraded rooms (I can't remember the term but one up from standard and one down from character room) which was unbelievably nice. The décor was beautiful and in excellent condition, the room came with all the complimentaries you could want - tea/coffee/hot chocolate/fresh milk/juices/hairdryer/robe/slippers/toiletries - the free minibar was definitely a welcome touch on a hot day. Also the room is air-conditioned which made a huge difference during sweltering July evenings. The large bathroom had a beautiful roll top bath plus a separate shower and both were immaculate on arrival. The dining areas of the hotel have real character, and you definitely get a feel for Shakespeare's Stratford from the look of the hotel.

Food wise the hotel catered very well for myself and my husband's vegetarian needs. There was a wide choice at breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised to be offered vegetarian sausages (these were not on the menu but just ask for a vegetarian full English). I noticed that the lunch and evening menus also had vegetarian options. Special mention should be made of the coffee. Often in hotels staff have only rudimentary barista skills, but the flat whites here are first class - and on the occasion of the wedding even came with little heart patterns on the top.

Saving the best until last - the staff. The customer service at The White Swan is beyond anything you expect in the UK. Right from arrival we were greeted warmly and although we arrived far earlier than check in time staff apologised for our party's rooms not being ready and had them cleaned and available within the hour. It being a large family wedding involving many people coming in there were necessarily various crises throughout the weekend which the staff handled with patience and kindness, despite the fact that many of them appear to work shifts of incredible length, the same people working when we went to bed at midnight were back by breakfast the next day, still smiling! Special mention should be made to Andreas, who went far beyond the call of duty by helping my husband lug a car load of wedding gear from the car park (which is a short walk away) back to the hotel. Generally the staffing levels are excellent, everyone was friendly and polite and will go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flitany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent five days here and enjoyed every minute. The room was large and comfortable with a lovely bathroom which had recently been updated. The service was friendly and having a charming pub as part of the hotel just added to the pleasure. Everything in town is within minutes and easy to walk to. It was a delight and I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Apparently not all the rooms have bureaus for storage of clothes. If you need a place, you should as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstewol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay in Stratford On Avon. I had a lovely ,peaceful stay when in this marvelous town. Really friendly people and beautifully conserved old furniture.
Highly recommended. Breakfast was great! !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariedgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay - we travelled to Stratford by train and it is only 5 minutes' walk from the station, plus there are bus stops and a taxi rank outside. It is in a great location for all the sightseeing; near the shops, plenty of restaurants (can recommend
El Greco next door) and the River. Our double room was spacious, with a great sized bathroom, safe and mini fridge (complete with fresh milk, a nice touch). The breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice and served in the characterful bar area - we did not try the evening menu, but it looked great too. We also had several leisurely drinks here as we enjoy Fuller's ales, and the pub has a friendly feel, with locals as well as tourists. The staff were very friendly and helpful and efficient. Overall I would recommend the White Swan for a great stay in lovely Stratford; especially for couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexNymphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location surrounded by shops,pubs and various eateries. There are lots of William Shakespeare attractions nearby and the River Avon is only a 5 minute walk away. The staff at the Hotel were all very helpful, very courteous and made our 3 night stay very pleasant. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and well presented and the chef was happy to do a vegetarian meal for me which was not on the menu. The breakfast was fabulous, with good choices available . They even sent a cooked breakfast to our room for my husband when he was unable to get down to the restaurant. My husband enjoyed a beer at night while I sampled the cocktails. Our first room was tiny and not suitable for more than one night but we were able to upgrade to a Character room, for a supplement, which had a large bed, a double shower and freestanding bathtub in the bathroom,a couch to sit on to watch TV and upgraded tea/ coffee facilities. All areas of the hotel, rooms and restaurant were very clean and tidy. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: You need to book a superior / character room to ensure more space and comfort. We stayed in room 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing