We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great at the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good but not great at the price”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We'd booked this as a special birthday treat for my wife and overall it was just that. Our welcome (thank you Lena) was warm and friendly with a nice little birthday surprise in the room. The room itself was great. It was one of the 'Grand' rooms, so the middle-tier price range. The decor was attractive, the room was spacious (ok, probably not if you're used to US rooms), the bathroom was lovely with a footed bath and walk-in shower, and, crucially, the bed was very comfortable. It was also (112 by the way) very quiet so we had a great night's sleep. The hotel's position is great, being very central. Parking's a bit of a pain but that's to be expected in an overcrowded little town like Stratford.
Breakfast was good but not great (eggs freshly cooked but bacon welded to itself as if it had been kept warm for quite some time). The rating of 4 rather than 5 is due to the price really. I know Stratford's an expensive place to stay but this was pretty much double our usual budget and I didn't feel it represented great value for money at the price.

Room Tip: Room 112 was nice, and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    417
    111
    46
    17
See reviews for
201
982
32
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Me and my partner booked to stay here for 1 night and we loved it! The room was clean, comfortable and bright, we also loved the fancy shower too! The hotel location is great too however, the one downside is the hotel parking. You have to pay around £12 to park in an offsite car park! Also, the car parking expired at 3pm the next meaning we had to cut short our visiting the next day to trek back to the car park! The hotel should really pre-warn about the car parking or even offer a better reduced rate?
The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly, especially the lovely Spanish girl from Leon who served us breakfast!
Overall- Stratford is beautiful and romantic and this hotel was a fantastic place to stay, we would highly recommend this

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank just_j16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at The White Swan again. Since last time the Hotel certainly seems to run like clockwork. The room was spacious and attention to detail was excellent. The room was air conditioned and quiet. Breakfast each morning was perfect and the full breakfast was displayed really well. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Special mention to Anna who was marvellous at Breakfast and made us feel so very welcome. Tom also made us feel very welcome and was helpful, friendly and gave us some nice advice about the town. We had an fantastic few days and the White Swan is a great base with all you could ask for.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

3 star overall but 5 star if you're a... History or nostalgia buff. This is the oldest building in Stratford and has its original oak beams.
Tip:read the history in the lobby then sip a Scotch in the bar and imagine a few hundred years ago!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when I took my wife to the theatre for her birthday, because it is only about 10 minutes walk away from the theatre which was ideal. Our room was very nice with all we could need and more, parking was a slight problem as we couldn't use the car park at the back of the hotel and had to go to another one a few 100 yards away, but I guess space is limited in a town centre location. The pub's bar was very busy in the evening with a wedding party and it took a very long time to get served with one guy serving seemingly endless shots to one group and a girl behind the bar playing with glasses and not serving anyone. And the breakfast service was quite slow but the food fairly good. This place is a pub with very nice accommodation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The guest rooms in this traditional old inn have been beautifully re-fitted to a very high standard. The food was excellent and the service - in all departments - was efficient and friendly. Located a five-minute walk from the railway station and being on the edge of the town centre, it could not be suited for a Shakespeare break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent two nights here for a family wedding. The wedding itself was wonderful anyway, but the quality of the hotel and it's staff really added to the experience.

Firstly the hotel itself. We stayed in one of the slightly upgraded rooms (I can't remember the term but one up from standard and one down from character room) which was unbelievably nice. The décor was beautiful and in excellent condition, the room came with all the complimentaries you could want - tea/coffee/hot chocolate/fresh milk/juices/hairdryer/robe/slippers/toiletries - the free minibar was definitely a welcome touch on a hot day. Also the room is air-conditioned which made a huge difference during sweltering July evenings. The large bathroom had a beautiful roll top bath plus a separate shower and both were immaculate on arrival. The dining areas of the hotel have real character, and you definitely get a feel for Shakespeare's Stratford from the look of the hotel.

Food wise the hotel catered very well for myself and my husband's vegetarian needs. There was a wide choice at breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised to be offered vegetarian sausages (these were not on the menu but just ask for a vegetarian full English). I noticed that the lunch and evening menus also had vegetarian options. Special mention should be made of the coffee. Often in hotels staff have only rudimentary barista skills, but the flat whites here are first class - and on the occasion of the wedding even came with little heart patterns on the top.

Saving the best until last - the staff. The customer service at The White Swan is beyond anything you expect in the UK. Right from arrival we were greeted warmly and although we arrived far earlier than check in time staff apologised for our party's rooms not being ready and had them cleaned and available within the hour. It being a large family wedding involving many people coming in there were necessarily various crises throughout the weekend which the staff handled with patience and kindness, despite the fact that many of them appear to work shifts of incredible length, the same people working when we went to bed at midnight were back by breakfast the next day, still smiling! Special mention should be made to Andreas, who went far beyond the call of duty by helping my husband lug a car load of wedding gear from the car park (which is a short walk away) back to the hotel. Generally the staffing levels are excellent, everyone was friendly and polite and will go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flitany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing