We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant charming with modern touches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant charming with modern touches”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on Business. Very welcoming staff, convenient for almost anywhere in Stratford. Room was excellent, we'll appointed and modernised recently to offer all the tech you might want. Breakfast was delicious. I could only detract on the parking... but hey it's lucky there is some albeit at additional cost and not on site. There is little you could do about that, one way systems and minimal parking are a Stratford thing.
I will definitely recommend the hotel to others... At the time of booking it was also relatively competitive, as one of the better reviewed hotels in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sternfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear Sternfish

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about The White Swan Hotel!

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our location and the breakfast we provide. I am also delighted to hear that you would happily recommend our hotel to others.

Thank you once again leaving us with such excellent feedback, and thank you again for the recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The White Swan Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
01789 297022 / whiteswanhotelmanager@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    427
    113
    46
    18
See reviews for
209
1,010
33
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a very pretty, convenient hotel. The food was great and everybody was friendly. Having read other reviews we got a good deal, which, I would reckon was about right in terms of what you get. There are some lovely touches: a free drink email, ground coffee, fresh milk etc.. My main issue was the service at dinner was haphazard, casual and slooooow. I'm glad we weren't paying more, or I would have been quite disappointed. As it was we walked away thinking we would stay there again at the right price. I hope they don't get ahead of themselves because there are so many redeeming features.

Room Tip: We were offered an upgrade but I'd say the rest of the hotel doesn't warrant paying the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear l v

Thank you for reviewing The White Swan Hotel and leaving your valued feedback.

I’m pleased to hear that you liked the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments about the great food to our head chef and his team. However, I am disappointed and sorry that the dinner service you received was below the usual high standard we expect for all our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I and all the staff at The White Swan Hotel look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
01789 297022 / whiteswanhotelmanager@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a meal while visiting Stratford with the family. Food was good and reasonably priced, service excellent and the building remains authentic and not revamped for tourism. Overall a very good time and would visit again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank colincecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear colincecil

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and leaving us with your wonderful feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your evening spent with us!

I and all the staff at The White Swan would be happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

Kindest Regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
01789 297022 / whiteswanhotelmanager@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely hotel steeped in history. Fabulous staircase and decor throughout with beautiful Elizabethan dining room and bar with genuine medieval wall paintings . Our room and en-suit bathroom was furnished to very high standard with excellent air conditioning ( quiet and very effective) - brilliant on a hot summers day. Sky TV, Free Wifi, Safe and excellent selection of beverages with fresh ground coffee. Staff very friendly, professional and helpful. Evening meal superb and service spot on - likewise the breakfast. Hotel very centrally situated, easy access to all attractions. although parking outside the rear of the hotel was £11 for 24 hours this was worth it as this hotel was a very good deal. Best hotel we have ever stayed in, in Stratford.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be equally as excellent as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear jaytom01

I’d like to start by saying thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about The White Swan Hotel!

I am very glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us and I’m delighted that you really liked the hotel, the food and our location.

I will be sure to pass on you wonderful comments to all the staff.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave us such amazing feedback!

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
01789 297022 / whiteswanhotelmanager@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my other half stayed at the white swan for a graduation party. I was pleasantly surprised by the look and feel of this hotel. The room was lovely and just big enough and decorated excellently. It was a pleasure to stay here.
The party it's self was great! Food was good, lots of cocktails afterwards and breakfast the following morning topped everything off nicely.
I would definitely come back to stay here again and I recommend for others to come and check this place out too!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrianne635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Carrianne635

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your wonderful feedback!

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us at The White Swan Hotel. I am also glad to hear that you would happily return to stay with us and thank you for recommending our hotel to others.

Thank you once again for leaving your amazing feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you to The White Swan Hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
01789 297022 / whiteswanhotelmanager@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We held out graduation meal at the White Swan, and we had a fab night. The room was fantastic, huge shower with rain type shower head, lovely toiletries and fluffy towels. Also huge bed which was very comfortable. Our wardrobe had a big crack in it's door joint and at £189 a night I would have expected that to be fixed! Also bit of a carpet stain but I'm just being picky now!
It was over all a lovely room. Easy and quick check in and check out.

The function room was perfect, the staff were excellent. Food was ok, the hotel a la carte menu looked much more appetising. But we had a fab night and the hotel dealt with our group very well, which ensured we had a night to remember.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Hughes_GM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Joanne M

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and leaving your valued feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, even with the issues you mention above. I’m delighted to hear that your evening went well and you were well looked after by all the staff.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your feedback.

I and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back to The White Swan Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jim Hughes
General Manager
01789 297022 / whiteswanhotelmanager@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We'd booked this as a special birthday treat for my wife and overall it was just that. Our welcome (thank you Lena) was warm and friendly with a nice little birthday surprise in the room. The room itself was great. It was one of the 'Grand' rooms, so the middle-tier price range. The decor was attractive, the room was spacious (ok, probably not if you're used to US rooms), the bathroom was lovely with a footed bath and walk-in shower, and, crucially, the bed was very comfortable. It was also (112 by the way) very quiet so we had a great night's sleep. The hotel's position is great, being very central. Parking's a bit of a pain but that's to be expected in an overcrowded little town like Stratford.
Breakfast was good but not great (eggs freshly cooked but bacon welded to itself as if it had been kept warm for quite some time). The rating of 4 rather than 5 is due to the price really. I know Stratford's an expensive place to stay but this was pretty much double our usual budget and I didn't feel it represented great value for money at the price.

Room Tip: Room 112 was nice, and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing