We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay for theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodstock Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Welcoming and helpful hosts, quiet, comfortable accommodation - we slept really well - and an excellent position close to the town centre. Breakfast included a lovely fresh fruit salad and a generous cooked to order full english. Can't fault the service and if we possibly can, we will be booking in here for our next theatre trip. Many thanks to Jackie and Dennis for helping to make our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks you so much for a wonderful review on our house & breakfasts.

So pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Look forward to seeing you again when booking for the theatre.

Best Wishes
Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Woodstock Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Woodstock guest house for two nights in July 2014.
On arrival the owners were extremely welcoming, and explained the local area and points on interest.
The room and bathroom were clean and tidy, with a lovely coastal theme.
Ideally located less then a 5 minute walk from town, including the royal shakespeare company theatre.
Breakfast was fast with plenty of choices.
Would highly recommend this b&b

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

thanks for the positive review.

Glad you had a good weekend.

best wishes
Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My Mum and I had a delightful trip to Stratford upon Avon, and this was in part due to the excellent accommodation provided by Jackie and Denis. The Guesthouse is ideally located for the town centre, and the various places that are associated with Shakespeare.

The outside garden is beautifully maintained, the breakfast lovely, and we could not have asked for friendlier, more attentive, and knowledgeable owners, who ensured that we made the most of our short stay. The rooms were spacious and clean, and very comfortable.

Our thanks to Jackie and Denis for making us feel extremely welcome. We would certainly stay again for any future trips, and we will be definitely recommending the Woodstock Guesthouse to anyone we know who will be visiting Stratford upon Avon.

Sarah and Vanessa Silverman

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you both for such a wonderful review, we are so pleased you had a great few days in Stratford and enjoyed all the things we mentioned .

Look forward to seeing you again in the future

Thanks

Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

May 29th to June 2nd, 2014:

Must be hard work keeping this high standard. But, it seems Dennis and Jackie are enjoying themselves. And we are also enjoying it very much, both the friendly hosts and our stay at Woodstock Guest House!
Exceptional high level of service! Fantastic beds and delicious food! What more can you ask for?
Our next stay in November is already booked!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi

Thanks again for another great review.......

What can I say, apart from can't wait to see you all again in November, have a good summer.

see you soon

Thank you

Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My son loved his bed in our room. We had stayed at various Holiday Inn Express's and he loved having a real bed. Our room was over the dining room facing the front towards an intersection, but no noise. Beautiful flowers out front, on the side, in the back, well everywhere. We were very comfortable. Our hosts were warm and friendly. They parked our car for us, as the parking area is adequate but small. They gave us some great advice on going to Oxford, use the Park and Ride. So glad they said that, as once we were in Oxford it was plain to see that driving there would have been horrible. We really enjoyed our breakfast, especially my teenage son who consumes a lot. Denis makes the best fried eggs, no crunchy edges and I complimented him on them. Jackie was very kind and let us keep our car there until 11:30 on our checkout day while we visited Shakespeare's birthplace. Wonderful visit, we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank greenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

hi everyone

Thanks for the great report.

We are very pleased you all had a great time, and you slept well. it nice to know we are as good as the big hotels...are aim is to be..

Hope to see you all again with a warm welcome back.

Denis & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hosts were very lovely and welcoming, offering advice on what to do in Stratford and were, on the whole, just lovely people. The room itself was lovely, lots of room and the beds were comfortable. A lovely night sleep, in a lovely guest house, run by lovely hosts, in a lovely area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

hello to you both.

Thank you for such a warm and great review.

Hope to see you both again.

Thank you

Jackie & Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

It's always a bit nerve wracking booking things online from the other side of the world, but I had nothing to worry about thankfully! My husband, 7 year old daughter and I spent two nights at Woodstock Guesthouse in July on our way to Edinburgh. We had Room 2 on the top floor at the front of the house which, although fronted onto a small intersection, we had no street noise due to the fabulous doubled double glazing on the windows. Pretty gardens out the front, very nice breakfast - fresh fruit salad was delicious. There was parking behind the guesthouse but we walked from the train station and didn't need it. Also worth a mention were some requests made prior to arrival for our dustmite allergic daughter which were happily carried out to a T. Thanks for your kind efforts Jackie and Denis :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

hi

Thank you kindly for posting a review on your stay.

So pleased you all enjoyed your time here, and the breakfasts.

Hope you had a great time on the train.

Thank you

Denis & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Guest House

Address: 30 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £22 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodstock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock House is a beautiful and carefully maintained Edwardian Town House built in 1910 for the Retirement of George Arbuthnot, the Vicar of Holy Trinity Church. Denis and Jackie offer very comfortable accommodation with excellent full English breakfast and secure FREE on-site parking. FREE Wi-Fi ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing