We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean quiet place to stay for a night or 2”

Sunnydale Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunnydale Guest House
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Helena very welcoming, room was a good standard, overlooking the garden. A nice shower, all the usual things you'd expect from a guesthouse. Breakfast nice enough, if you want a reasonable place to stay for a night or two without worrying about driving it's a short 10 minute pleasant walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Sunnydale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay, Helena was very friendly and helpful. The short walk away from traffic via The Old Tramway pub was very good to get into the town centre. The rooms at the guest house were clean with all you could need for a short stay. Breakfast was good and set us up for the day. All in all a very pleasant stay. As this was my 60th birthday treat we enjoyed it very much. (Helena keep up the gardening).

Room Tip: Rear garden view rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

For the price, this B & B deserves the five stars. Helena Kim herself deserves 5 stars as being an exceptionally friendly and helpful hostess. The breakfast is wonderful, scrumptious and big (the typical British eggs, sausages, ham, grilled tomato, beans and toast) with fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals. The vegetarian sausages were great!

Helena Kim does a lovely job. The house is clean and comfortable, the rooms are of decent size and are clean with nice bathrooms en suite. The bed was comfortable and the towels big and fluffy. There is a nice selection of teas, cocoa and coffee in each room with an electric water kettle. We use many creamers and sugars and Helena was more than happy to supply us with whatever we wanted.

There is no A/C but we had no need of it in June. The nights cooled off and the fresh air was nice. There is a nice, small garden with trees (an interesting variegated maple) in the back and our room overlooked it so it was quiet. I would suggest requesting room not on the street, even though the B & B is in a quiet neighborhood.

Location wise, it is just a short stroll (10 minutes) to the River Avon, the beautiful downtown area of Stratford-Upon-Avon with many restaurants and pubs, the Royal Shakespeare Theater and Holy Trinity Church where William Shakespeare was christened and buried.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Highly recommend this B&B. It's a great location, about a 10 minute stroll into the town centre (RSC theatres, restaurants, pubs, river) and there is a parking space for each room at the front of the property. The owner, Helena, is lovely and cooks a great breakfast (have attached photo). The rooms are not massive, nor incredibly modern, but perfectly nice and incredibly clean. The bed was also very comfortable. The property is on a main road (as are most hotels/B&Bs in Stratford centre), so if you open a window you will get traffic noise, but with the window closed, you couldn't really hear this. Either way, it didn't stop me sleeping very well! Stratford itself is a fab place to spend a few days. We did 2 Shakespeare plays and lots of eating & drinking. Highly recommend the following restaurants - Thespians (Indian), Lambs (superb steak) Vinters (great set menu) Carluccios (lovely spot on the River). Pubs were generally average rather than good. The White Swan Hotel was probably the best. Also, if you get a chance, visit NT Hidcote, which is only a short drive away and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny8623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013, and it was a really enjoyable and relaxed experience. We were greeted instantly by Helena, who is so friendly and welcoming, and we stayed in room 2.
The room was a good size, basic, but nice and clean - good standard facilities; TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, and a decent shower. The heating worked great, and we could control it ourselves, so it was never too hot or cold. The walls are a little thin and you can hear the front door go some times, but it really wasn't a problem for us, there was nothing too loud or distracting, and all the other guests were pretty quiet also.
Helena was very helpful in offering directions, and also lent me use of an umbrella (during the weekend of heavy snow!). Breakfast was served between half 8 and 9 in the cosy dining room. There was a fairly decent selection of fruits, cereals, and juice, and we were swifty brought our cooked breakfasts and hot drinks. The cooked breakfasts were really tasty and set you up for the day!
The b&b is in a great location, less than a 10 minute walk to the centre and anything you could want; the RSC Theatre, the restaurants and plenty of pubs. There was good parking for guests, and we didn't use the car once during our stay. We really enjoyed our stay at Sunnydale, it was brilliant value for money, and we would definitely visit again...a lovely little b&b!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordalia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at the Sunnydale for 2 nights 23rd/ 24th March and found it to be an enjoyable stay despite the horrible weather (snow). Our room (number 1) was well presented spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable
Helena the owner is very friendly and polite. The full English breakfast was delicious with unlimited coffee and toast
We would have no hesitation in recommending staying at the Sunnydale

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_kay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Sunnydale and would highly recommend this place for a short break. The owner Helena was very friendly and she served up a great breakfast, we stayed in room 2 which was quite spacious and the shower was excellent, the only slight problem was the TV which had a bad picture, not that we were in lots to watch it. Checked out a few pubs in Stratford, our favourite was the Pen and Parchment, nice friendly atmaosphere and good food, which was not a rip off, will definatly return to the Sunnydale.

Room Tip: Get a room witha garden view to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Faviere Guest House
Faviere Guest House
#14 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boscote Guest Accommodation
Boscote Guest Accommodation
#74 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Carlton Guest House
The Carlton Guest House
#43 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Croft
The Croft
#34 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnydale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnydale Guest House

Address: 64 Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnydale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sunnydale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing